You are here

African American Studies

Core Resources

Black Studies Center

Scholarly essays and access to articles in Black Studies journals. Combines the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and the full-text of The Chicago Defender, an important Black newspaper, from 1935-1975

Oxford African American Studies Center

Access to the finest reference resources in African American studies. At its core, AASC includes the new Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895; the forthcoming companion set, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; the second edition of Black Women in America; and the much-anticipated African American National Biography. Also includes the highly acclaimed Africana, a 5 volume history of the African and African American experience. In addition to these major reference works, AASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference series, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature.

Black Thought and Culture

Full-text collection of published non-fiction works is included, as well as interviews, journal articles, letters, and other materials of leading African-Americans. Biographical essays by leading scholars and an annotated bibliography of the sources in the database are also featured.

Black Studies in Video

Brings together documentaries, interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience.  The collection contains over 500 hours of film covering history, politics, art and culture, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.

America: History and Life 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995

Online collection of academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other diverse periodicals.

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century 1827-1882

Complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.

Afro-Americana Imprints 1535-1922

Full text of more than 12,000 printed works, including lesser known imprints published from the early 16th to the early 20th century.

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice

Brings together original manuscript and rare printed material from dozens of libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. It includes significant coverage of slavery today, US court records from the local, regional and State Supreme Court level, documents on the Islamic slave trade, as well as sources on urban slavery, interracial education, the Day Law in Kentucky, desegregation and social justice.  Also includes material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.

Supplementary Resources

ABC CLIO eBook collection

Full-text books in humanities, social sciences, gender studies, African American Studies, Latino Studies, and Native American Studies. Also contains the electronic version of The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography, a fully searchable collection of over 4,000 interviews with former slaves.

Africa Bibliography

Guide to works in African studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute.

African American Biographical Database

Biographical profiles & extended narratives of African-Americans from all walks of life. Many profiles include photographs & illustrations, and there is a rich collection of full-text African-American reference works.

African American Experience

Full-text digital resource exploring African American life and culture. Targeted and thematic search options are featured to find articles, documents, images, and more.

African American Heritage

Primary sources devoted specifically to African American family history, including U.S Federal Census (African Americans only), Freedman's Bank Records, World War I Draft Cards, African American family history books, U.S. Colored Troops Records, vital records, church records, legal records, and more.

African American Music Reference

Brings together text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database will expand to include coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

African American Poetry Database

Contains nearly 3,000 poems by African-American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998

Full-text collection of African American newspapers printed across the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Annual Review of Political Science

Comprehensive review of the literature in political science. Can help students identify major tends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of politics.

Annual Review of Sociology

Comprehensive review of the literature in sociology. Identifies major tends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of sociology.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

Citations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals.

Bibliography of Slavery and World Slaving

Searchable database containing verified references (except as noted) to approximately 25,000 scholarly works in all academic disciplines and in all western European languages on slavery and slaving, worldwide and throughout human history, including modern times. It includes all known print materials published since 1900 in scholarly formats, as well as digital scholarly journals, recent unpublished presentations at academic conferences, professional historical sites, and major museum exhibitions and catalogs.

Black Abolitionist Papers

Primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.

Black Drama Second Edition

Full text of plays written by dramatists from Africa, the Caribbean, and North America, and detailed information about productions, theaters, production companies, and other ephemera related to the plays.

Black Short Fiction and Folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora

Full text of 760 stories and folktales by African, African American, and Caribbean authors.

Black Studies on Disc 2003

Information by and about people of African descent worldwide, and its geographic scope emphasizes the Americas, the Caribbean, and Sub-Saharan Africa. This resource, made up of records from the Catalog of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture and G.K. Hall & Co.'s annual Index to Black Periodicals, provides access to material in all formats, including books, serials, microforms, audio and audio-visual resources, photographs, manuscript collections, art, artifacts, and ephemera.

Black Women Writers

Works of fiction, nonfiction and poetry by women from North America, Africa and the Caribbean.

Cambridge Collections Online

Searchable full text access to the complete Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, and classics.

Caribbean Literature

Full text of fiction, poetry, essays, plays, and other materials by authors from the Caribbean archipelago.

Contemporary Black Biography

Biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage of various nationalities.

EconLit

Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

Education Full Text

Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Cover-to cover indexing, abstracts, and full text from hundreds of journals covering such topics as: comparative education, competency-based education, higher education, literacy standards, prayer in public schools, student counseling, teaching methods and evaluation, and dozens more.

Essay and General Literature Index

Access to essays and articles published in collections, with emphasis on works in the humanities and social sciences.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Contains many reference works on a large variety of topics.

Gallup Analytics

Analyze, visualize, and export data from Gallup's U.S. Daily tracking and World Poll surveys. U.S. tracks economic, wellbeing, and political data collected daily since 2008. It can be analyzed daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annually as well as by state and Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA). World Poll data covers more than 80 metrics from 160+ countries collected since 2005. Does not include access to microdata.

Gender Studies Database

Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

Historical Abstracts

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition

Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

Humanities Full Text

Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS

Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

International Index to Black Periodicals

Current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts for over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the United States, Africa, and the Caribbean.

JSTOR

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

Liberator

Full-text of the weekly abolitionist newspaper published in Boston, Massachusetts by William Lloyd Garrison.

Literary Reference Center

Broad spectrum of reference information. Full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. Contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.

Literature Criticism Online

Covers authors and their works across regions, eras, and genres. Includes biographical and critical overviews, and many interviews of authors. Contains the full text of volumes in Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Shakespeare Criticism, Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, and Drama Criticism.

Literature Resource Center

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

Literature Resource Center

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

Making of Modern Law Digital Archive (Legal Treatises 1800-1926)

Making of the Modern World Digital Archive

Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books on that document economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

MLA International Bibliography

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspaper Digital Archive

Digital archive of U.S. newspapers from the 19th century.

Oxford Reference Online

Full-text of more than 100 dictionaries and reference books published by Oxford University Press

ProQuest Research Library

Abstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers for information on a broad range of subjects.

PsycARTICLES

Online database containing searchable full-text articles from 48 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.

PsycINFO

Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

Race Relations Abstracts

Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Reveal Digital Independent Voices

Collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press from the 1960s, including feminists, anti-war groups, African-Americans, Native-Americans and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community.

Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974

Contains letters, diaries, oral histories, posters, pamphlets, and rare audio and video materials documenting the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America.

Social Work Abstracts

Provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

Sport Discus

International sport and fitness literature covering periodical articles, books, conference proceedings, and research papers.

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database

Comprises nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. A variable (Source) cites the records for each voyage in the database. Other variables enable users to search for information about a particular voyage or group of voyages. The website provides full interactive capability to analyze the data and report results in the form of statistical tables, graphs, maps, or on a timeline.

Urban Studies Abstracts

Covers urban affairs, community development, urban history, etc.

Very Short Introductions

Full-text, searchable versions of several hundred paperbacks published by Oxford University Press. Each volume treats a large subject, is written by a well-known scholar (several are Princeton faculty), and includes further readings. These works provide more context on a topic than does an encyclopedia article.

Subject Librarian(s)

Belcher, Emily

 (609) 258-2964
Firestone B-12-P

Research Help