African Studies

Core Resources

African Research Online

Consists of 2 parts:  (1)  The African Studies Companion Online contains entries covering guides and resources for African languages, Africa cartography and maps, African film, African studies journals, magazines and newsletters, media guides and news sources for Africa, the African press, African studies library collections worldwide, national archives in Africa, centers of African studies and African studies programs worldwide, awards and prizes in African studies. (2) The Africa Yearbook covers major domestic political developments, the foreign policy and socio-economic trends in sub-Sahara Africa – all related to developments in one calendar year.

Africa-Wide Information 16th century +

Access to journal articles, news articles, reports, and more on Africa and South Africa. (formerly African HealthLine, African Studies, South African Studies)

allAfrica.com 1997+

Access to the full text of over 130 African newspapers and magazines, including articles in French. Covers the entire African continent.

Middle East and Africa: A Reference Corporation World Area Studies Database

Provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel & the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide. Provides access to journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, press releases, books, manuals, magazines, and ephemera.

SA ePublications - South African Journals published online

Provides access to selected full text South African journals in the social sciences, humanities and law.

Africa Development Indicators 1960+

Social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, & environmental indicators on Africa.

Afrobarometer

Comparative series of national public attitude surveys on democracy, markets and civil society in Africa.

Aluka

Online primary source materials and documentation from or concerning Africa. Currently includes materials in these areas: African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes, African Plants, and Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa.

World Newspaper Archive - African Newspapers

Provides full-text access to historical newspapers from Africa.

Supplementary Resources

Africa Knowledge Project

Provides access to these journals: JENDa : a journal of culture and African women studies; West Africa review; ProudFlesh : new Afrikan journal of culture, politics and consciousness; Ijele : art ejournal of the African world ; African journal of criminology and justice studies and Journal of African philosophy; and the following databases: Kiswahili story database; African music database and the Biafran War database : Africa's first modern genocide (1967-1970)

AfricaBib.org: Africana Periodical Literature

 Free index to articles on a wide range of topics relating to all countries in Africa.   Some of the databases included are: Africana Periodical Literature, African Women's literature, Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa, AJOL,  and the Library of Congress’s Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature.  Searchable by region, country, subject categories, and by keyword.

African Writers Series

Includes over 250 full text works of African fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose.

Anthropology Plus

Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK.

Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980

Apartheid South Africa makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980. The collection includes letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activist biographies and first-hand accounts that give unprecedented access to South Africa’s apartheid regime.

DISA: Digital Imaging Project of South Africa. South Africa's Struggle for Democracy: Anti-Apartheid Periodicals.

Covers the three key decades in the growth of opposition to apartheid rule, a period when the African National Congress (ANC), black consciousness, and other resistance movements were very active. Approximately forty periodical titles have been selected from a very comprehensive list.

EconLit

Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Archive

For 1996+, see EIU Country Profiles and Reports.

EIU Country Profiles and Reports

Background reports covering economic, political, and social conditions of countries.  For 1952-1995, use the EIU Country Reports Archive.

Environment Complete

Covers policy issues in a broad range of environmental topics. US and international journals indexed. Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine and freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Formerly known as Environmental Knowledgebase OnLine. 

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

International Documentation Network on the Great African Lakes Region

Grey literature on social, political, and economic current history of the African Great Lakes Region (Burundi, Rwanda and the surrounding countries -- Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and Democratic Republique of Congo or Congo-Kinshasa).

International Index to Black Periodicals

Current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts for over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the United States, Africa, and the Caribbean.

Rand Daily Mail

Major paper from South Africa.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Coverage of sociology journals, books, and conference proceedings, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

World Bank e-Library

Online access to World Bank publications. Useful for research in international social and economic development. Also see the World Bank's Open Knowledge Repository which contains open access materials.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Provides citations and abstracts of the international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. It also covers such areas as international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public policy. Provides references to reliable websites.

Subject Librarian(s)

Alain St. Pierre

Librarian for History, History of Science and African Studies
609-258-2964
Floor 1 6F.4
Firestone Library