Ancient History

Core Resources

L'Annee Philologique

Main index to the scholarship of classical studies published in all languages in both books and journals.

Supplementary Resources

Dyabola

Searches the subject catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome, the Bibliography of Iberian Archaeology from the German Archaeological Institute in Madrid, and the Archaeology of Roman Provinces from RGK Frankfurt.

Encyclopedia of the Ancient World

Covers the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE., extending to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS

Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

National Archive of Dissertations

Access to bibliographic information and often full-text content of dissertations from Greek universities and Greek students studying abroad.

Online Egyptological Bibliography

Bibliographic database of academic literature on ancient Egypt.

Patrologia Graeca

Greek texts relevant to the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.

Patrologia Latina

Texts of Latin Church Fathers from Tertullian (200 CE) to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. All prefatory material is included as well as the critical apparatus and indexes.Five large textbases produced by Chadwyck-Healey are available to Princeton users from both the Chadwyck-Healey LION service and the SSP service at the University of Michigan. You may find that you get better results if you use LION to search some textbases and the SSP to search others. If one service is not working, try the other. Feel free to try the same search in both services and to send your comments by e-mail to LION and the SSP.Bear in mind that LION offers many more resources than SSP and that only LION currently supports cross-textbase searching. If you want to search all LION textbases to which Princeton subscribes, or a subset of them, you should use the LION Search texts page. A list of LION textbases to which Princeton subscribes is also available.English Verse Drama DatabaseLION ServiceSSP Service

Perseus Digital Library

Texts of the major Greek and Latin authors linked to dictionaries, English translations and commentaries.

Subject Librarian(s)

David Jenkins

Librarian, Classics, Hellenic Studies, and Linguistics
609-258-5811
Floor 1 6G.2
Firestone Library