Anthropology

Core Resources

Anthropology Plus 1800+

Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK.

Annual Review of Anthropology 1972+

Comprehensive review of the literature in anthropology. Identifies major tends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of anthropology.

AnthroSource

Full text access to peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins through a collaboration between the American Anthropological Association and the University of California Press.

Abstracts in Anthropology (paper record only)

Comprehensive coverage of significant, current scholarship in cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, & linguistics.

Anthropology Online

Featuring cross-searchable access to the acclaimed Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online collections, Alexander Street Anthropology provides anthropologists, sociologists and cultural historians with an expansive and multifaceted survey of the discipline.

eHRAF Collection of Ethnography

Full-text ethnography materials of the world's cultures. At present, eHRAF indexes only 60 cultures, so for comprehensive treatment of world cultures use the HRAF microfiche collection in Microform Services (Microfiche 285). The collection of ethnography was produced on microfiche from 1950 to 1993. Two guides to the microfiche, Outline of World Cultures and Outline of Cultural Materials are available in Microforms Services (FilmB) GN345.3 .M87 1983.

eHRAF Collection of Archaeology 1930s+

Full-text database of cross-cultural materials on world-wide archaeological traditions.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS 1951+

Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

Bibliography of Native North Americans 16th Century+

Citations to books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and government documents.

Supplementary Resources

Academic Search Premier

EBSCO Academic Search

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals

America: History and Life

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Bibliografia Mesoamericana

Comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines. This resource is jointly supervised by John Weeks of the Museum Library of the University of Pennsylvania and Sandra Noble of the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc. (FAMSI).

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)

Records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages. Includes chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc.

Book Review Digest Plus

English language reviews of fiction, nonfiction, social science and general science books. The reviews are selected from journals in the humanities, sciences, social sciences and library review media.

Essay and General Literature Index

Access to essays and articles published in collections, with emphasis on works in the humanities and social sciences.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Ethnographic Video Online

Covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more for the study of human culture and behavior.

GenderWatch

Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

Guide to Reference

Annotations of over 16,000 reference works in all fields, from biographical compendia and language dictionaries to specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, and bibliographies. Can be browsed by discipline & type of tool, or else searched by keywords and other criteria. Online-only successor to the American Library Association's Guide to Reference Books, which appeared in 11 previous editions starting in 1902. New and revised entries are being added regularly, and links are provided to electronic resources.

Historical Abstracts

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers. For comparisons between Lexis-Nexis Academic and Factiva see http://firestone.princeton.edu/econlib/universe.html.

Linguistics Abstracts Online

More than 15,000 abstracts from nearly 300 linguistics journals published since 1985.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Indexes journals covering all aspects of the study of languages, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.

Meiji Japan: The Edward Sylvester Morse Collection from the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum

English-language multidisciplinary archives containing diaries, sketches, travel journals, scrapbooks, publications and correspondence of the polymath and collector Morse, known for his work in natural history (zoology, evolution, astronomy, methodology), ethnography (material culture, music, games, printing, Ainu, religion) and art history (including archaeology, architecture) bridging Japan and America from the 1880s to the 1920s.

Motif-Index of Folk Literature

Searchable electronic edition of The Motif-index of Folk Literature, by Sitith Thompson.

North American Indian Thought and Culture

Integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. Presents the entire spectrum of native peoples' experiences from their own point of view.

Periodicals Archive Online

Index to millions of articles published in 4,547 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the collections, British Periodicals and Periodicals Archive Online I-V, which provide searchable full-text and page images of hundreds of periodicals, primarily from the 19th century.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

Social Sciences Full Text

General index to the literature of the social sciences including economics, politics, law, education, labor, and sociology.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Coverage of sociology journals, books, and conference proceedings, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Very Short Introductions

Full-text, searchable versions of several hundred paperbacks published by Oxford University Press. Each volume treats a large subject, is written by a well-known scholar (several are Princeton faculty), and includes further readings. These works provide more context on a topic than does an encyclopedia article.

Web of Science (ISI)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.

Subject Librarian(s)

Belcher, Emily

 (609) 258-2964
Firestone B-12-P

Research Help