Architecture

Core Resources

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals 1930s+

Indexes journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.

Design and Applied Arts Index 1973+

Indexing for over 500 design and decorative arts journals and newspapers, covering all aspects of design from the mid-19th century to the present. See designinform for retrospective version, Design Abstracts Retrospective, covering titles back to c.1900.

ARTbibliographies Modern 1974+

Full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being added each year.

RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue Online

Indexes over 300 architectural periodicals acquired by the library of the Royal Institute of British Architects. Also includes a catalogue of the RIBA Library's books and audiovisual material.

Urban Studies Abstracts 1973+

Covers urban affairs, community development, urban history, etc.

Supplementary Resources

AATA Online Abstracts of International Conservation Literature

Abstracts from books, reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more, on the conservation and preservation of works of art, material culture and archaeological and architectural sites. Includes all volumes of AATA and its predecessor, IIC Abstracts.

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts Full Text

General science and technology articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere; non-English language articles are included if English abstracts are provided.

ARTstor

Digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Bibliography of the History of Art

Indexes and abstracts articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs, covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Includes coverage for 1990-2007, as well as its predecessor index, RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of the Art), 1975-89. See also History of Art Bibliography.

Building Types Online

Building Types Online draws from several Birkhäuser publications, including Detail magazine, to present drawings and images of modernist and contemporary architectural works. The approximately 850 case studies are documented with texts by authors who are experts in their fields with approximately 5,000 architectural drawings of high quality as well as 2,000 photographs of the buildings.

BuildingGreen Suite

Interdisciplinary resource featuring a rich array of media and information resources, including full-text access to Environmental Building News, the BuildingGreen Suite of online tools, GreenSpec directory of products, and the LEEDuser web tool. Also included is the High Performance Buildings Database (HPB) which provides case studies of projects ranging from homes and commercial interiors to large buildings and even whole campuses and neighborhoods. These may be certified green projects, or simply projects that have one or more notable environmental features.

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text)

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.

EBSCO Academic Search

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals

Francis (International coverage of the Humanities and Social Sciences.)

Citations and abstracts to articles in multiple languages in the humanities and social sciences. Online version of Bulletin Signaletique, published by the Centre Nationale de la Recherche Scientifique (C.N.R.S.).

Grove Art Online (part of Oxford Art Online)

Gateway to several important art historical reference tools, most notably, the Grove Dictionary of Art (Grove Art Online) and Benezit Dictionary of Artists (2006 English ed.). Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (2001), The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1998), a database of images and more.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers. 

MADCAD.COM

MADCAD's eLibrary provides online access to building codes and standards. Princeton's package includes ACI, ASHRAE, FEMA, the ICC Codes (2000, 2012, 2015), ICC/ANSI, and several legacy code collections.

Masters of Architecture

An ongoing series of 7000+ digital images from Pidgeon Audiovisual and World Microfilms. The charter collection consists of images digitized from the original collection of 58 slide sets belonging to architects and published between the mid 80s and 2003. Slide collections are added on a regular basis.

Material ConneXion

Includes over 1,500 materials and processes. The database allows you to discover the latest and most exciting materials originating from a large spectrum of industries, typically unnoticed or difficult to reach by the design community. All the materials are juried into the database by a panel of material specialists and knowledgeable professionals. Covers current industrial manufacturing products, processes, and processed raw materials. Historical products or companies are not covered. As subscribers to Material Connexion, all Princeton affiliates have unlimited access to the Material Library in New York City.

OnArchitecture Video Database

Online audiovisual service providing a synthetic, deep and detailed panorama of the world's main authors, works, experiences and problematics related to the field of architecture.  The collection features original videos, such as interviews, buildings and installations, all of this enriched with a selection of complementary material -documents and audiovisuals- about the main authors and figures of contemporary architecture.

Pidgeon Digital

The online version of The Pidgeon Audiovisual collection of talks by contemporary architects and related designers. The collection was founded in 1979 by Monica Pidgeon (long-time editor of the influential magazine Architectural Design) and lectures are continually added.

Structurae

International database and gallery for bridge, structural, and civil engineering. Includes information on over 65,000 structures, 9,000 engineers and architects and over 200,000 images.

Subject Librarian(s)

Gabriella Karl-Johnson

Librarian, School of Architecture Library
609-258-3128
Architecture Library