Art & Archaeology

Core Resources

Oxford Art Online

Gateway to several important art historical reference tools, most notably, the Grove Dictionary of Art (Grove Art Online) and Benezit Dictionary of Artists (2006 English ed.). Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (2001), The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1998), a database of images and more.

Art Index Indexing 1929+, Select Full Text 1997+

Indexes and abstracts articles and reproductions of works of art from periodicals published throughout the world on all areas in the arts.

ARTbibliographies Modern 1974+

Full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being added each year.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals 1930s+

Indexes journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.

International Bibliography of Art 1973+

Currently includes some indexing created by the Getty Research Institute (from the Bibliography of the History of Art, the former definitive scholarly resource--books and journals--for western art history). Indexing will continue in the coming months and may expand to include art from Asia, Latin America and Africa.

Bibliography of the History of Art 1975-2007

Indexes and abstracts articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs, covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Includes coverage for 1990-2007, as well as its predecessor index, RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of the Art), 1975-89, but no longer includes some indexing from RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie), 1973-89. See Marquand Z5937.R4 for paper index (RAA,1910-89).

Design and Applied Arts Index 1973+

Indexing for over 500 design and decorative arts journals and newspapers, covering all aspects of design from the mid-19th century to the present. See designinform for retrospective version, Design Abstracts Retrospective, covering titles back to c.1900.

Arts:Search

An important design-related resource containing 3 separate databases: Design Abstracts Retrospective (see Design and Applied Arts Index), Design ProFiles (information on artists, designers, firms, etc.), and ReVIEW (digitized versions of international art and design journals from 1870s-1920s). Free research guides also available.

ARTstor

Digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Supplementary Resources

ABIA: South and Southeast Asian Art and Archaeology Index

Online version of what began as the Annual Bibliography of Indian Archaeology in 1928 in Leiden, the Netherlands. Includes coverage of scholarly publications in Asian and European languages on prehistory, archaeology, art history, numismatics, material culture and more from South and Southeast Asia, and from Afghanistan, South China, Tibet and nearby regions. Annotated entries.

Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon

An important biographical resource, the online version includes all articles published to date, along with access to the predecessors of the AKL, Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler von der Antike bis Zur Gegenwart (Thieme-Becker) and for the 20th century, Vollmer. Also includes the AKL's Bio-Bibliographical Index (A-Z), and the Kunstlerlexikon der Antike.

AP Images

The Associated Press' photography archive, along with historical images dating back to the 1800s. Also includes audio, graphics and text.

Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA) Online

Abstracts from books, reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more, on the conservation and preservation of works of art, material culture and archaeological and architectural sites. Includes all volumes of AATA and its predecessor, IIC Abstracts.

Art Sales Catalogues online

Images of complete historical art sales catalogues. Lugt's Repertoire online is the \entrance gate\ to the images of the catalogues, and lists more than 100,000 art sales catalogues from libraries in Europe and the USA.

Artnet

There are two separate databases of illustrated art auction sales results on the artnet.com site: Fine Art and Design, and Decorative Art. Search options include medium or object type, artist (for the former), and auction house or gallery. Art market performance reports (1988+) are also available to PU affiliates by e-mailing marquand@princeton.edu and noting the desired artist and medium (prints, sculpture, paintings, and/or works on paper).

Berg Fashion Library

Interdisciplinary resource containing most notably the full content--with continuous updates--of the ten-volume Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion (Oxford Univ. Press, 2010). Also includes many Berg e-books on fashion and other full-text reference titles, images from the Victoria and Albert Museum and the Metropolitan Museum's Costume Institute (the latter forthcoming), and links to a host of fashion-related content such as timelines, a directory of relevant dress collections, and journal articles.

Bibliografia Mesoamericana

Comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines. This resource is jointly supervised by John Weeks of the Museum Library of the University of Pennsylvania and Sandra Noble of the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc. (FAMSI).

Blouin Art Sales Index

Offers access to several million art auction records (sold works only) from 1922 to the present, and from sales held in North America, Europe, India and China. Also includes market data for key artists.

Bridgeman Education Database

From the producers of the Bridgeman Art Library for the commercial market, this image database contains more than 300,000 objects and covers all media, including photography, fine art, engravings, sculpture, architecture, archaeology, ethnography, history, science & medicine, decorative arts and artifacts.

CAA Reviews

Substantial and scholarly book reviews of new art monographs and exhibitions. Published by the College Art Association, the professional organization for art historians, artists, students and museum professionals. Reviews are searchable and can be browsed by subject.

China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980

English-language textual and visual sources relating to China and the West, with key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service, letters, diaries, color paintings, maps, drawings, photographs, and fully searchable missionary periodicals such as the Chinese Recorder, from mainly British libraries.

Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive (CPANDA)

Policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States.

Dyabola

Searches the subject catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome, the Bibliography of Iberian Archaeology from the German Archaeological Institute in Madrid, and the Archaeology of Roman Provinces from RGK Frankfurt.

Francis (International coverage of the Humanities and Social Sciences.)

Citations and abstracts to articles in multiple languages in the humanities and social sciences. Online version of Bulletin Signaletique, published by the Centre Nationale de la Recherche Scientifique (C.N.R.S.).

Getty Provenance Index Database

Contains 3 separate databases for provenance research: archival documents from 1550-1840, auction catalogs from 1650-1840, and public art collections from 1500-1990.

Gordon's Photography Price Annual

Over 180,000 international auction and dealer sales for photographs of all styles and periods. Entries encompass 19th, 20th, and 21st century photographs as well as books and periodicals with original photographs.

Gordon's Print Price Annual

Over 780,000 international auction results, covering prints, posters and books.

Index of Christian Art

Archive of medieval art, recording works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400.

Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals

Index to art periodicals published in the United States during the 19th century. Indexes the entire contents of each journal, including advertisements and illustrations.

Les Ecrits sur l'art

Writings on Art, From the 18th to the 20th Century

Texts of art criticism by notable French and other artists and writers, specifically focused on salons and important literary works written from 1741 to 1927. This important primary resource includes works of aesthetics, philosophy and art history by such individuals as Apollinaire, Balzac, Baudelaire, Chateaubriand, Delacroix, Diderot, Dumas, Falconet, Gauguin, Mallarme, de Maupassant, Michelet, Proust, Rodin, Sand, Stendhal, Viollet-le-Duc, Winckelmann, and Zola.

National Palace Museum Text

Full-texts of all issues of 3 Chinese Taipei NPM periodicals.

Online Egyptological Bibliography

Bibliographic database of academic literature on ancient Egypt.

Periodicals Archive Online

Index to millions of articles published in 4,547 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the collections, British Periodicals and Periodicals Archive Online I-V, which provide searchable full-text and page images of hundreds of periodicals, primarily from the 19th century.

Rarebooks.info

Bibliography of works on rare books available for consultation. Comprises over 600,000 pages of key out-of-print bibliographies that can be browsed online.

SCIPIO: Art and Rare Books Sales Catalogs

Describes art auction and rare book catalogs for sales from the late sixteenth century to scheduled auctions, not yet held. Records include the dates and places of sales, the auction houses, sellers, institutional holdings, and titles of works.

Vogue Archive

Includes in full color every issue of American Vogue--including covers, images, advertisements and fold-outs--up to the present (with a time delay of a few months, for latest see Main Catalog electronic entry (partial) or Main Catalog print entry. Offers unique search limits to reveal types of content, text or image-based, including lists of fashion items and company/brands associated with specific images.

Subject Librarian(s)

Brooke, Sandra

 (609) 258-5860
Marquand Library

Friedman, Rebecca

 (609) 258-3163
Marquand Library

Research Help