You are here

Asian American Studies

Core Resources

America: History and Life 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

JSTOR

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

Ethnic NewsWatch 1960+

Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Alt-Press Watch Earliest date is 1970. Most start in the 1990s.

Full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from alternative and independent presses.

Race Relations Abstracts 1975+

Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Supplementary Resources

American History & Culture Online

Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas from 1492 to the mid-1800s. Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.

Archive Finder

Contains the entire holdings in the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC). Current directory of 5,500 repositories and 141,178 collections of primary source materials across the United States.

Asian American Drama

Full text of plays written by over forty playwrights, and detailed information about productions, theaters, production companies, and other emphemera related to the plays.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

Citations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)

Records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages. Includes chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc.

Book Review Digest Plus

English language reviews of fiction, nonfiction, social science and general science books. The reviews are selected from journals in the humanities, sciences, social sciences and library review media.

EBSCO Academic Search

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals

Education Full Text

Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Cover-to cover indexing, abstracts, and full text from hundreds of journals covering such topics as: comparative education, competency-based education, higher education, literacy standards, prayer in public schools, student counseling, teaching methods and evaluation, and dozens more.

Essay and General Literature Index

Access to essays and articles published in collections, with emphasis on works in the humanities and social sciences.

Gallup Analytics

Analyze, visualize, and export data from Gallup's U.S. Daily tracking and World Poll surveys. U.S. tracks economic, wellbeing, and political data collected daily since 2008. It can be analyzed daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annually as well as by state and Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA). World Poll data covers more than 80 metrics from 160+ countries collected since 2005. Does not include access to microdata.

Gender Studies Database

Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

GenderWatch

Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

Historical Abstracts

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition

Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

Humanities Full Text

Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS

Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

Literature Resource Center

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

Making of Modern Law Digital Archive (Legal Treatises 1800-1926)

Making of the Modern World Digital Archive

Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books on that document economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

Marcive Web DOCS

Online catalog of U.S. government publications dating back to mid-1976. Direct links to documents on the web are provided. Many of the documents are available in the U.S. Documents Collection in Firestone

Meiji Japan: The Edward Sylvester Morse Collection from the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum

English-language multidisciplinary archives containing diaries, sketches, travel journals, scrapbooks, publications and correspondence of the polymath and collector Morse, known for his work in natural history (zoology, evolution, astronomy, methodology), ethnography (material culture, music, games, printing, Ainu, religion) and art history (including archaeology, architecture) bridging Japan and America from the 1880s to the 1920s.

MLA International Bibliography

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications

Comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government.

Nineteenth Century Masterfile

Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.

Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspaper Digital Archive

Digital archive of U.S. newspapers from the 19th century.

Oxford Scholarship Online: Political Science

Searchable full text of many Oxford University Press politics titles.

PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service

Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

Periodicals Archive Online

Index to millions of articles published in 4,547 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the collections, British Periodicals and Periodicals Archive Online I-V, which provide searchable full-text and page images of hundreds of periodicals, primarily from the 19th century.

Population Index

Annotated bibliography of global demographic and population literature. Covers books, journal articles, working papers, doctoral dissertations and machine-readable data files. 1935-1999 available in JSTOR.

Proquest Congressional U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection

Collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress. Includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

ProQuest Research Library

Abstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers for information on a broad range of subjects.

PsycARTICLES

Online database containing searchable full-text articles from 48 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.

PsycINFO

Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

Readers' Guide

Indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals.

Reveal Digital Independent Voices

Collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press from the 1960s, including feminists, anti-war groups, African-Americans, Native-Americans and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community.

Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974

Contains letters, diaries, oral histories, posters, pamphlets, and rare audio and video materials documenting the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America.

Social Sciences Full Text

General index to the literature of the social sciences including economics, politics, law, education, labor, and sociology.

Social Work Abstracts

Provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Coverage of sociology journals, books, and conference proceedings, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Very Short Introductions

Full-text, searchable versions of several hundred paperbacks published by Oxford University Press. Each volume treats a large subject, is written by a well-known scholar (several are Princeton faculty), and includes further readings. These works provide more context on a topic than does an encyclopedia article.

Web of Science (ISI)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

Subject Librarian(s)

Belcher, Emily

 (609) 258-2964
Firestone B-12-P

Research Help