Astrophysics

Core Resources

arXiv.org e-Print archive 1992+

Electronic preprint (e-print) service in the fields of physics, astrophysics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.

Astrophysics Data System (NASA) 1975+

Funded by NASA, ADS maintains 3 bibliographic databases - Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics and Geophysics, and ArXiv Preprints - containing more than 8.5 million records, and digital scans of archival materials.

Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics 1963+

Comprehensive review of the literature in astronomy and astrophysics. Can help students identify major trends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas.

Proceedings of the International Astronomical Union 2004+

Proceedings of IAU Symposia, Transactions A and B, and Highlights of Astronomy contain high-quality and timely previews and reviews of fundamental and state-of-the-art astrophysical developments around the world.

Web of Science (ISI) Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+).

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.

INSPEC 1896+

Major bibliographic database concentrating on physics, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, computer and control systems, and manufacturing, production engineering, and information technology.

Supplementary Resources

AIP Conference Proceedings

Collection of conference proceedings presented at physics related meetings around the world. The database search includes full text for conferences from 1970 to present.

Centre de Donnes Astronomiques de Strasbourg

Online services include SIMBAD, a database of bibliographic and other information for more than 4,870,493 astronomical objects, searchable by object name; VizieR, over 8,369 astronomical catalogs and data tables; and Aladin, an interactive software sky atlas which allows one to visualize digitized images of any part of the sky.

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text)

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

Einstein Archives Online

Online access to Albert Einstein's manuscripts held by the Einstein Archives at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and to an extensive Archival Database, digitized manuscripts, and finding aids.

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics

Searchable database of 2,500 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and continually updated articles, or browsable A-Z by subject category

Landolt-Bornstein, New Series, Group VI: Astronomy and Astrophysics

Group VI includes astronomical instruments, position and time determination, astronomical constants, abundances of the elements in the universe, the solar system, the stars, special types of stars, star clusters and associations, the stellar system, and galaxies.

PHYSICSnetBASE

Unified e-library from CRC Press offers e-books on topics ranging from astrophysics to quantum physics, materials science, to optoelectronics.

Safari Tech Books Online

Collection of information technology and programming books, mostly published by O'Reilly which allows searching for code examples and specific technical information

Subject Librarian(s)

Holmquist, Jane

 (609) 258-3150
Lewis Library Room 210

Research Help