You are here

Biographical Sources

Core Resources

Biography and Genealogy Master Index antiquity+

Combined index that identifies 13+million entries in hundreds of biographical sources. International coverage. Updated twice yearly.

Biography Index 1946+

Listing of biographical content from periodicals. Includes interviews and profiles of history-makers.

Biography Reference Bank Ancient times to present

Combines the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries).

Marquis Who's Who

Brief biographical entries on prominent persons of any nationality, with emphasis on living Americans. Significant historical content as well.

World Biographical Index antiquity-present

Gives name, occupation, birth, and death dates for millions individuals who are treated in thousands of reference works. Cites the printed sources and the microfiche collections that reproduce the full entries. Also known as "World Biographical Information System".

World Who's Who current

Basic biographical data on more than 23,000 prominent living or recently deceased individuals from around the world.

Supplementary Resources

African American Biographical Database

Biographical profiles & extended narratives of African-Americans from all walks of life. Many profiles include photographs & illustrations, and there is a rich collection of full-text African-American reference works.

Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon

An important biographical resource, the online version includes all articles published to date, along with access to the predecessors of the AKL, Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler von der Antike bis Zur Gegenwart (Thieme-Becker) and for the 20th century, Vollmer. Also includes the AKL's Bio-Bibliographical Index (A-Z), and the Kunstlerlexikon der Antike.

American Bench

Searchable database containing biographical information of over 19,000 federal and state Judges. Also contains information on over 2600 federal and state courts, 52 detailed court profiles, and over 100 detailed judicial jurisdictional maps. Updated daily.

American Men & Women of Science: A Biographical Directory of Today's Leaders in Physical, Biological, and Related Sciences

Biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birthdate; birthplace; field of specialty; education; honorary degrees; current position; professional and career information; awards; memberships; research information; and addresses for each entrant where available.

American National Biography Online

Authoritative bios of more than 18,000 prominent people who lived in what is now the United States from the Colonial Period to the present. Everyone included is deceased. Includes bibliographic data on publications by and about these individuals. Search by name orvarious characteristics including gender, ethnicity, occupation, dates.

China Vitae

Detailed biographies of nearly 2500 Chinese leaders, searchable by name, institution, or location. Other tools allow identification of similarities in the backgrounds of officials and tracking of daily appearances of 200 of the most important officials.

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography

Thousands of biographies of deceased mathematicians and natural scientists from all regions and historical periods.

Contemporary Authors (Literature Resource Center)

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

Contemporary Black Biography

Biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage of various nationalities.

Contemporary Hispanic Biography

Biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of Latino heritage who form the international Hispanic community.

Contemporary Musicians

Biographical information on noteworthy figures active in music mostly since the late 1980s, covering artists working in all musical genres, including classical, rock, jazz, pop, rap, rhythm and blues, folk, New Age, country, gospel, and reggae.

Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television

Biographical and career information on professionals currently working in the entertainment industry, including performers, choreographers, directors, technicians, writers, composers, producers, executives, designers, and critics.

Dictionary of Irish Biography

Most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary yet published for Ireland. Contains signed biographical articles which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (Literature Resource Center)

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

Academic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica, which is no longer published in print format. For a list of all editions of the Britannica held by Princeton, see the History Resource Guide.  Includes the Merriam Webster Dictionary.

Grove Art Online (part of Oxford Art Online)

Gateway to several important art historical reference tools, most notably, the Grove Dictionary of Art (Grove Art Online) and Benezit Dictionary of Artists (2006 English ed.). Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (2001), The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1998), a database of images and more.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Illustrated collection of over 57,000 authoritative biographies of people who shaped the history of Great Britain, from the 4th century BC to those who have died in the previous few years.

Oxford Music Online

Biographical articles for composers, performers, librettists, conductors and others. Includes entries from Grove dictionaries of jazz and opera as well.

Standard and Poors NetAdvantage

Industry surveys, reports for stocks, bonds, and mutual funds, business biographies, financial forecasts.

Subject Librarian(s)

George, Mary

 (609) 258-3254
Firestone A-12-J-1

Research Help