You are here

Chemistry

Core Resources

SciFinder Web (Chemical Abstracts) 1907+

Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of chemistry. Combines several Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases.

Web of Science (ISI) Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), Arts and Humanities (1975+), Conference Proceedings (1990+)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

Beilstein CrossFire plus Reactions (database incorporated into Reaxys)

Detailed index covering organic and inorganic chemistry. Includes patents. Provides access to chemical reactions and physical, chemical and bioactivity data

Gmelin CrossFire (incorporated into Reaxys) 1772+

Detailed index of inorganic and organometallic chemistry. Fully searchable by structures, substructures, and reactions.

Science of Synthesis 2001+

Considers and critically reviews methods from journals, books, and patent literature and presents important synthetic methods for all classes of organic compounds. Web version covers former Houben-Weyl treatise (1952-2003) and its continuation title, Science of Synthesis (2001+). Critically reviews chemical reaction literature with emphasis on functional group conversions.

KnowItAll U spectra database

Offers access to the KnowItAll U reference collection of over 1.3 million spectra including structures and chemical property information; includes IR, UV/Vis, NMR, Raman and mass spectra.  ATTENTION KnowItALL Desktop Software Users:  Please update your license at https://kiarasql.informatics.bio-rad.com/KIARA/Forms/KnowItAllU/extend.j...

Supplementary Resources

AccessScience (McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.)

Includes The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 10th edition, McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology, McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, and the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography.

ACS Directory of Graduate Research

Comprehensive source of information on chemical research and researchers at universities in the United States and Canada.

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts Full Text

General science and technology articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere; non-English language articles are included if English abstracts are provided.

BIOSIS Previews: Biological Abstracts

With more than 13,000,000 records from publications in over 90 countries, Biosis Previews is the most comprehensive index of journals, meetings, conferences, and symposia in the life sciences. Although this is not a full-text article database, our PULinks system conveniently links you to the full-text

Cambridge Structural Database

Repository for small molecule crystal structures compiled by Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre. Consists of the space group symmetry of the crystalline phase, its cell parameters, the relative atomic coordinates of all the atoms in the cell in 3D

CHEMLIBnetBASE

Collection of electronic handbooks and monographs on applied chemistry; covering nanoscience and natural product chemistry to separation methods and surfactant science.

CHEMnetBASE

Consists of several chemical data handbooks from Chapman & Hall/CRC.

Coalpower Database

Contains data on coal-fired power stations throughout the world, including coal quality (heating value, sulphur and ash content), boiler type, and manufacturer. Also includes data on installations for flue gas desulphurisation (FGD) for SO2 control, primary measures and flue gas treatment for NOx emissions reduction. Export or download of data from the coalpower database is not permitted. Data can only be viewed in its pre-assigned form.

Compendex (EI Compendex Plus)

Extensive bibliographic database of engineering research. Indexes journal papers and conference proceedings. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

DGRWeb

Comprehensive source of information on chemical research and researchers at universities in the United States and Canada.

Directory of Chemical Producers: United States

Chemicals manufactured in the US indexed by company, plant location, chemical name, product group. Also published biennially in print.

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text)

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

e-EROS

Systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic synthesis

Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

Multi-volume encyclopedia covering applied chemistry and chemical engineering. Previous editions are also valuable as reference.

Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (CRC)

Wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds.

ICSD Web

Comprehensive database of inorganic crystal structures. Contains records for elements, and binary, ternary, quaternary and quintenary compounds. Over 70% have been assigned a structure type, and the remainder are prototypes. Detailed searching forms for chemistry, symmetry, structure type, etc. are available, as well as analysis of large, complex data sets.

INSPEC

Major bibliographic database concentrating on physics, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, computer and control systems, and manufacturing, production engineering, and information technology.

JCR Web

Science & Social Science Editions.

Knovel Engineering and Scientific Online References

Collection of the latest leading technical and engineering reference books.

Landolt-Bornstein, New Series, Group II: Molecules and Radicals

Group II includes structure and molecular constants, acoustical and optical properties, magnetic properties and reaction kinetics

Landolt-Bornstein, New Series, Group III: Condensed Matter

Group III includes crystallography, structure and morphology of organics and inorganics, phase and surface data, electronic, magnetic, optical and electrical properties, atomic defects, and spectroscopic methods

Landolt-Bornstein, New Series, Group IV: Physical Chemistry

Group IV includes densities of liquid systems, diffusion in gases, liquids and electrolytes, surface tension, viscosity and dielectic constants of pure and binary liquid systems, elecrochemistry, and multiple thermodynamic properties or pure organic/inorganic compounds, mixtures, gases, alloys and microporous structures, e.g. zeolites

Medline (PubMed)

Service of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles.

Merck Index

Handbook contains 11,000 short entries describing significant chemicals, drugs, and biological substances.

NIST Chemistry WebBook

Provides chemical and physical property data for chemical species through the internet.

NTIS

Source for accessing unclassified reports from U.S. and international government agencies. Provides access to over two million critical citations from government departments such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Defense.

Patent Sources

Patents, many in full text, from many issuing agencies are available free on the web.

Reference Module in Chemistry, Molecular Sciences and Chemical Engineering

The articles contained in this database cover a wide range of fields, including physical chemistry, theoretical and computational chemistry, supramolecular chemistry and heterocycles, chemical biology, food chemistry, medicinal and pharmaceutical chemistry, biotechnology, polymers, separation science and engineering, electrochemical technology, spectrometry, spectroscopy and microscopy.

SciTech Connect

Energy related full text technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data information from the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Office of Scienctific and Technical Information  and predecessor agencies the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Includes publicly available energy and energy related literature in the disciplines of biology, chemistry, engineering, environmental sciences, fission and nuclear technologies, fossil fuels, geosciences, materials, mathematics, computing, physics and more.

Scopus

International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+

SPIE Digital Library

Extensive resource of information on optics and photonics, providing full-text access to technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings.

SRI Directory of chemical producers: United States

Chemicals manufactured in the US indexed by company, plant location, chemical name, product group. Also published biennially in print.

Toxicology Abstracts

One of the 12 subfiles of Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management and separately searchable. Indexes toxicological studies of industrial and agricultural chemicals; food, additives and contaminants; household products; pharmaceuticals; polycyclic hydrocarbons; nitrosamines. Toxicity testing methodology and analytical procedures for toxic substances.

TOXLINE

Bibliographic records from a number of sources dealing with toxicology. Most of the records are from MEDLINE, but a number are from BIOSIS Previews and International Pharmaceutical Abstracts.

Web of Science (ISI)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

Subject Librarian(s)

Langley, Anne

 (609) 258-1187
Lewis Library

Research Help