You are here

Chinese Studies

Core Resources

China Academic Journals 1915+

More than 8,000 current PRC journals in humanities, social and exact sciences fully searchable (text delivered may be image-only). Most journals are available from 1994, and many from their first issue, as early as 1915.

Duxiu/Chinamaxx

Content-based database searching full-text Chinese books, articles, theses, web pages, newspapers. Results are readable on-line, or sendable by email to oneself. See fuller Duxiu explanations on EAL pages. Chinamaxx is a subset of purchased e-books.

CADAL

Trial access to 2.5 million+ Chinese ebooks in and out of copyright. Individual registration required. For detailed instructions, see entry on the East Asian Library pages.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) 1971+

Records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages. Includes chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc.

National Social Sciences Database (China)

Free database of government-funded Chinese social sciences journals. Coverage varies, but includes in all cases 2012+. Individual registration required.

Zhongguo yanjiu wangluo ziyuan daohang

An easy-to-navigate, well-organized site which brings together a large number of databases in Chinese studies available on the Internet (in many different countries). Most databases are free; some need individual registration; a few need individual registration and small payments.

Chinese Reference Online (Apabi)

One of two Chinese reference databases. Use in conjunction with Chinese Reference Online (CNKI). For details and contents, see the EAL pages.

Chinese Reference Online (CNKI)

One of two Chinese reference databases. Use in conjunction with Chinese Reference Online (Apabi). For details and contents, see the EAL pages.

Brill's Encyclopedia of China

Basic introductory encyclopedia to (largely modern) China.

WiseSearch 1998+

News items from over 1,500 newspapers and other media sources from the Greater China region, both national, provincial and regional. Some English-language sources from Asia are included, as is company news. See the EAL pages for more info.

Periopath/ Taiwan qikan lunwen suoyin 1970+

Indexes 2 million articles, including Western ones, published in Taiwan.

Taiwan Electronic Periodicals Service varies, oldest 1991+

Offers full-text of more than 450 Taiwanese periodicals in different subjects.

Quan guo bao kan suo yin 1833+

Index to article authors and titles compiled by the Shanghai Library. Most articles are downloadable as full-image pdfs.

Zhongwen baike dacidian (Chinese Encyclopedic Dictionary)

Taiwanese Chinese illustrated encyclopedic dictionary

Chinese Doctor and Master Dissertations

Selected dissertations and theses from the PRC; literature, history and philosophy only.

Grand Ricci Online

The most comprehensive bilingual dictionary of Chinese, into French, available.

Supplementary Resources

Academia Sinica Scripta Sinica (Hanji quanwen ziliaoku)

Very large database of Chinese works compiled by the Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica in Taiwan. Browse subjects and titles using the traditional Chinese siku classification.

Archives Unbound

Digital collections of historical material on many topics. Includes manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents. Material comes from the U.S. National Archives, the U.K. National Archives, and many other libraries and archives.

Asia-Studies Full-text Online

Database for the study of modern Asia-Pacific. As the exclusive licensee for the region's most prestigious research institutions, Asia-Studies.com brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 55 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.

Cambridge Histories Online

Full text reference works from Cambridge University Press in history and other fields.

China Business Reference (ChinaBRef)

Free searchable reports on Chinese companies, in Chinese and English.

China Data Online

Comprehensive statistical and economic information of China in English.   For 2012+, use the China Statistical Bureau Website  (must use in Internet Explorer).

China Legal Access (CLASS)

Searchable free database of Chinese laws and legal commentaries, in Chinese and English.

China Securities Market Level-1 Trade & Quote Research Database

Tick data for securities traded on the Shanghai and Shenzhen Stock Exchanges.

China Vitae

Detailed biographies of nearly 2500 Chinese leaders, searchable by name, institution, or location. Other tools allow identification of similarities in the backgrounds of officials and tracking of daily appearances of 200 of the most important officials.

China, America and the Pacific

Material from many libraries and archives that explores the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.

China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980

English-language textual and visual sources relating to China and the West, with key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service, letters, diaries, color paintings, maps, drawings, photographs, and fully searchable missionary periodicals such as the Chinese Recorder, from mainly British libraries.

China: Culture and Society (1750-1929)

Database of often colorful pamphlets held at Cornell University, written mostly in English.

Chinese Ancient Texts (CHANT) databases.

Full-text access to all traditional texts from the pre-Han (before AD 220) period up to the Six Dynasties (AD 581). More than 30 million characters. Authoritative editions.

Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations

Records from the U.S. State Department's Office of Chinese Affairs.

Chinese Civilization in Time and Space.

Web-based GIS system with historical maps, integrated with full-text databases from the Academia Sinica. Can be used without registration, but personal registration (free to Princeton users) is recommended for saving and printing. Download of two special plug-ins is necessary before first use.

Chinese Electronic Theses and Dissertations Service

Selected dissertations and theses from various universities in Taiwan, as well as Hong Kong university. Starting date varies.

Chugoku kankei ronsetsu shiryo sakuin.

Searchable index to the printed collection, which includes reduced copies of articles on China in less common Japanese academic journals.

CSMAR China Bond Market Research Database

Includes Chinese treasury, enterprise, corporate, convertible, and REPO bonds.

CSMAR China Stock Market Financial Statements Database

Annual/ interim/ quarterly reports of A and B share companies in general and financial industries listed on the Shanghai and Shenzhen Stock Exchanges.

CSMAR Closed-End Funds

Chinese close-end funds.

CSMAR Corporate Governance

Profiles, annual emolument and number of shareholdings of managerial staffs of China listed companies, changes of equity structure, changes of board chairman and general manager of listed companies and shareholders' meetings of listed companies, as well as executive equity incentives of listed companies.

CSMAR Open-End Funds

Basic information of funds, net assets value of funds, entitlement data of funds, finance data of funds, trading information of funds and rate of returns of funds for Chinese open-ended mutual funds.

CSMAR Shareholders

Includes profiles, annual emolument and shareholdings of managerial staffs of Chinese listed companies, changes of equity structure, changes of board chairman and general manager of listed companies and shareholders' meetings of listed companies, as well as executive equity incentives of listed companies.

CSMAR Stock Trading

Data on stocks returns, market return, and aggregated market returns for the Shanghai and Shenzhen Stock Exchanges. Provides comparable closing prices adjusted for effects on share prices due to rights offering, cash dividend, stock dividend, etc.

Dacheng lao jiu qi kan

Historical Chinese-language periodicals published in China in the humanities, social sciences, and the exact sciences, as well as popular journals.

Digital Dictionary of Buddhism

Has in addition to Chinese, Japanese and Korean information, also Indian, Tibetan and other references.

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text)

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

Electronic Siku Quanshu

Siku Quanshu

Complete contents, in full text and image, of the 3460+ titles of the Wenyuange edition of the Siku Quanshu (1782), with 800 million characters (183 CD ROMs). Includes also such large compilations as the Quan Tang shi, Zizhi tongjian, Xu zizhi tongjian changbian, Wenxuan, Peiwen yunfu, Taiping yulan or the 25 Histories. For best use, consult the guide available on the EAL Web pages.

Factiva

Full-text of many major national and regional newspapers, including the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, and the Nikkei Weekly. Some titles are abstracted only. Includes selected full-text and abstracts of many industry and general interest publications. For non-English, choose appropriate language.

Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980

Digitized images of British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan. 

Grand Council Archives (Gongzhongdang zouzhe/ Junjichu dang)

Qing Palace Memorials and Grand Council Archives held in the National Palace Museum, Taibei. Special viewing software is needed. Viewing is possible on the whole campus; printing is restricted to the East Asian Library.

Grand Secretariat Archives (Neige daku)

Full text images of hundreds of thousands of government documents from the Ming and Qing dynasties held at the Academia Sinica, searchable by official, title, matter and document number. Special viewing software is needed. Viewing is possible on the whole campus; printing is restricted to the East Asian Library.

Gu jin tu shu ji cheng

Full-text and image access to the 10,000-chapter 18th century\Chinese Encyclopaedia.\

Guang ming ri bao

Guangming Ribao

Browsable and searchable version of the influential Chinese central government newspaper targeting intellectuals

Guo xue bao dian

Full-text searching tool for almost 4,000 classical Chinese texts, including some novels, poetry, and plays. Best used as an exploratory tool for finding relevant material, then follow up with printed sources.

History of Contemporary Chinese Political Movements

Primary sources on the Chinese Cultural Revolution, the Anti-Rightist Campaign, the Great Leap Forward and the Great Famine, and other related campaigns. Titles searchable in Chinese and English.

Huan qiu shi bao

Chinese newspaper with international focus, published under auspices of the People's Daily. Also known as Global Times. Use IE.

Jie fang jun bao

Full-text, no images.

Law Info China/ China Law Info

Also known as Beida fabao, or pkulaw.cn.  Chinese laws, regulations and cases in Chinese (Chinalawinfo) and English/Chinese (Lawinfochina). One concurrent user only.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers. For comparisons between Lexis-Nexis Academic and Factiva see http://firestone.princeton.edu/econlib/universe.html.

Long yuan qi kan wang (Dragonsource)

Searchable database of current popular non-academic Chinese periodicals in literature, general culture, news and politics, popular science, economics and law, education, health and lifestyle, history and finance management. For list see EAL pages.

National Palace Museum Collections Online

Photo images of objects held at the National Palace Museum, Taipei.

National Palace Museums Periodicals Online

Full-texts of all issues of 3 Chinese Taipei NPM periodicals.

North China Herald

Primary English language newspaper in China, published in Shanghai.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Buddhism

Detailed guide to Buddhism.

Qing Historical Figures

Database of biographical materials (including zhuanbao) from the Archives of the Ch’ing (Qing) Historiography Institute held at the National Palace Museum in Taibei.

Renmin Ribao

The PRC national newspaper. For current issues, go directly to publisher's site. IMPORTANT: for pdf files, use Internet Explorer, and open files outside the browser directly in Acrobat Reader or Professional.

Shen Bao

Searchable full text and PDF page images of this historical Chinese newspaper.

Sibu congkan

Fully searchable collection of 504 original and historical works (3134 volumes) published by the Commercial Press from 1919 to 1936. Original collection used photolithography, which resulted in better editions than the then-available typeset editions. Authoritative editions.

Udndata

Collection of searchable Taiwanese full-text newspapers from the United Daily News group, including the Lianhebao from 1951.

Wan fang Fa lü fa gui

Chinese policies and laws.

Wan fang Xin Fang zhi

Full text versions of post-1949 Chinese local gazetteers.

Wan fang Xue shu hui yi

Articles given at academic conferences in China. A minority is abstract-only.

Wan fang Xue shu qi kan

Comprehensive full-text articles from Chinese periodicals and journals, mostly post-2001.

Wan fang Xue wei lun wen

Full text doctoral dissertations and master theses from China, mostly post-2000.

World Newsreels Online

Streaming video of international newsreels produced between 1929 and 1966. All are accompanied by transcripts, with those in foreign languages translated into English.

Zhongguo fang zhi ku

Database of pre-modern Chinese local gazetteers.

Zhongguo li dai dian ji zong mu

Catalog of over 2 million Chinese classical works allowing for the analysis of relationships publication patterns. For guides see the EAL pages.

Zhongguo li dai dian ji zong mu

Catalog of over 2 million Chinese classical works allowing for the analysis of relationships publication patterns. For guides see the EAL pages.

Zhongguo li dai shi ke shi liao hui bian

Searchable database of Chinese epigraphical material.

Zhongguo su wen ku

Database of pre-modern Chinese popular literature.

Subject Librarian(s)

Heijdra, Martin

 (609) 258-5336
East Asian Library

Research Help