Classics

Core Resources

Oxford Classical Dictionary

One-volume encyclopedia to all aspects of classical antiquity. 3rd ed. 1996. Edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth.

Perseus Digital Library

Texts of the major Greek and Latin authors linked to dictionaries, English translations and commentaries.

L'Annee Philologique

Main index to the scholarship of classical studies published in all languages in both books and journals.

Library of Latin Texts - Series A

Texts of Latin literature spanning the Classical, Patristic, Medieval, and Neo-Latin periods.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)

Texts of Greek literature from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Constantinople (1453 CE).

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics

Annotated bibliographies of the most recent and authoritative classical scholarship.

Supplementary Resources

Abzu

Database of networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.

Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina

Full text--minus forewords, textual apparatus, and indices--of editions of texts from the Latin series of the Bibliotheca scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum.

Brill's New Jacoby

Online edition of F. Jacoby's monumental Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker Parts I-III, providing Greek text, facing English translation, and new commentary and bibliography.

Brill's New Pauly

English version of an important German encyclopedia of the ancient world. Divided into 2 sections: Antiquity, which covers the ancient world of Greece and Rome, and the Classical Tradition, which covers the history of classical scholarship. Also available in German.

Bryn Mawr Classical Review

Full-text book reviews covering all aspects of classical scholarship.

Cambridge Ancient History

Authoritative history of the ancient world presented in downloadable PDF chapters.

Cambridge History of Classical Literature: Greek Literature, Appendix of Authors and Works

Detailed bibliographies of editions, translations, commentaries and important secondary literature of the major Greek authors.

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism

Reprinted selections of important literary criticism of the major classical authors.

Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature

Offers reference to the classical world and its literary heritage. Based on the Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. Edited by Margaret Howatson and Ian Chilvers.

Corpus medicorum Graecorum/Latinorum

Full-text access to all but the most current editions of this important series of classical medical texts, including prefatory material, apparatus, translations and commentary.

Database of Latin Dictionaries

Full-text access to 10 medieval, early modern and modern Latin dictionaries with search results linked back to the Library of Latin Texts.

Digital Classicist: Current projects

Lists \concise information on projects applying computing technologies to Classical/Ancient Historical research.\

Diogenes

Free software that provides access to a locally loaded copy of Liddell & Scott's Greek dictionary and Lewis and Short's Latin dictionary. Also can be used as an interface for the PHI CD-ROMs.

Diotima

Online resources for the study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World.

Dyabola

Searches the subject catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome, the Bibliography of Iberian Archaeology from the German Archaeological Institute in Madrid, and the Archaeology of Roman Provinces from RGK Frankfurt.

Gnomon Online

Indexes journals in classical philology, ancient history, and archaeology. Based on the journal Gnomon: Kritische Zeitschrift fur die gesamte klassische Altertumswissenschaft. A good supplement to L'Annee Philologique since it provides more recent citations.

Greek Inscriptions

Ongoing database of Greek inscriptions taken from a wide range of publications.

In Principio

Indexes the beginning words or line of Latin texts dating from their origins to the Renaissance. Particularly useful in identifying texts in manuscripts.

Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online

Lexicon of the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European, including Latin, Greek, Slavic, Proto-Celtic, Old Frisian, Armenian, Hittite, Luvian, the Iranian verb and Proto-Nostratic. (Proto-Germanic and Persian are forthcoming)

Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization

Provides a survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. Edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth.

Patrologia Graeca

Greek texts relevant to the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.

Patrologia Latina

Texts of Latin Church Fathers from Tertullian (200 CE) to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. All prefatory material is included as well as the critical apparatus and indexes.

Pinakes

Descriptive database of Greek manuscripts hosted by the Institut de Recherche et d'Histoire des Textes.

Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (English-Latin)

Elementary English-Latin dictionary.

Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Latin-English)

Elementary Latin-English dictionary.

Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum

Database of published Greek inscriptions, providing the complete Greek text and critical apparatus of new inscriptions as well as summaries of new readings, interpretations, and studies of those previously known.

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL)

Comprehensive Latin dictionary whose detailed entries cover texts from antiquity to approximately 600 CE and include the etymology and later linguistic development of each word.

TOCS-IN

Tables of contents of the major journals of classical scholarship. Convenient source for browsing the most current journal literature.

Who's Who in the Classical World

Includes the full-text of more than 100 dictionaries and reference books published by Oxford University Press.

Subject Librarian(s)

Jenkins, David

 (609) 258-5811
Firestone B-17-P-1

Research Help