You are here

Comparative Literature

Core Resources

MLA International Bibliography 1926+

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

Literature Resource Center

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

Literary Reference Center Antiquity+

Broad spectrum of reference information. Full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. Contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.

Humanities Full Text 1984+

Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.

Francis (International coverage of the Humanities and Social Sciences.) 1972+

Citations and abstracts to articles in multiple languages in the humanities and social sciences. Online version of Bulletin Signaletique, published by the Centre Nationale de la Recherche Scientifique (C.N.R.S.).

IBZ - International Bibliography of Periodical Literature 1983+

Major index to scholarly articles appearing in over 10,000 European journals, covering all fields. Searches can be done using either English or German subject terms. Articles themselves are in a wide array of European languages. Many entries have abstracts.

L'Annee Philologique

Main index to the scholarship of classical studies published in all languages in both books and journals.

International Medieval Bibliography 1967+

Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) 1971+

Records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages. Includes chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc.

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) 1936+

Annotated bibliography and index to books, articles and a variety of other materials. Updated monthly.

Black Studies Center

Scholarly essays and access to articles in Black Studies journals. Combines the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and the full-text of The Chicago Defender, an important Black newspaper, from 1935-1975

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach-und Literaturwissenschaft 1985+

Indexes monographs, conference proceedings, journals, book reviews covering works by and about German authors as well as treatises on the German language

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)

Covers North American scholarship on East-Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. Provides access to journal articles, chapter titles, miscellaneous papers, etc. published in the U.S.

Subject Librarian(s)

Logan, John

 (609) 258-3296
Firestone B-13-P

George, Mary

 (609) 258-3254
Firestone A-12-J-1

Research Help