Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

Core Resources

BIOSIS Previews: Biological Abstracts 1926+

With more than 13,000,000 records from publications in over 90 countries, Biosis Previews is the most comprehensive index of journals, meetings, conferences, and symposia in the life sciences. Although this is not a full-text article database, our PULinks system conveniently links you to the full-text

Zoological Record (Biosis) 1864+

Most comprehensive index to zoological literature. Records cover every aspect of zoology, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, genetics, etc. Over 4,500 international serials plus approximately 1,500 non-serial publications are currently monitored, including professional journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, reviews, and conference proceedings.

Ecology Abstracts 1982+

One of the 12 subfiles of Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, and separately searchable. Focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms.

Web of Science (ISI) Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), Arts and Humanities (1975+), Conference Proceedings (1990+)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

Scopus 1996+

International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970.

Supplementary Resources

Agricola

Bibliographic citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and its cooperators.

Aluka

Online primary source materials and documentation from or concerning Africa. Currently includes materials in these areas: African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes, African Plants, and Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa.

Biodiversity Heritage Library

Digital library providing open access to over 45,000 titles of digitized biodiversity, natural history, and taxonomic literature worldwide.

BIOSCIENCEnetBASE

Collection of electronic handbooks and monographs on biology, bioinformatics, and biotechnology.

Birds of North America Online

Comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. BNA is an online project of the Cornell Lab of Ornithology and contains image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and recordings of bird songs and calls.

CSH Protocols Online

Database of new and classic research techniques. Fully searchable by keyword and subject. Coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are regularly expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques.

ENVIROnetBASE

Collection of electronic handbooks and monographs covering pollution reduction, emissions, and environmental contamination.

Faculty of 1000 Biology

Literature awareness database that provides reviews and ratings of research published in the biological sciences. A network of over 1000 accomplished life science faculty assess the scholarly merit of recent peer-reviewed literature. Links are provided to related papers within the database, abstracts via PubMed, and full text via FindIt@PUL.

Global Health

International public health database providing abstracts to literature about healthcare, biomedical life sciences, sexual and reproductive health, communicable and non-communicable diseases, environmental health, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene . Covers English and foreign language journals, books, reports, patents, dissertations and conference proceedings.

GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources)

Focuses on sustainability & the environment. Categories include healthcare, food, climate change, population & economic development. Content covers English-language newspapers, magazines & refereed journals; videos, podcasts, Web forums and images; case studies, statistics and maps. Portals provide access by topic, organization and country.

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine

Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of science and technology and allied fields. Coverage includes all languages in which these materials are published.

Journal Citation Reports

Science & Social Science Editions.

MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)

National Library of Medicine's database of biomedical journal literature providing access to information on the following: population and reproductive biology, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, the preclinical sciences, and allied health. Coverage is worldwide with an emphasis on English-language peer reviewed journals.

Patent Sources

Patents, many in full text, from many issuing agencies are available free on the web.

PsycINFO

Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

PubAg

Contains full-text articles relevant to the agricultural sciences, along with citations to peer-reviewed journal articles with links to publisher sites and elsewhere for full-text access.

PubMed

Database of biomedical journal literature providing access to information on population and reproductive biology, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, the preclinical sciences, and allied health. Worldwide coverage with an emphasis on English-language peer reviewed journals. Includes in-process records not yet added to Medline (EbscoHost), some out-of-scope citations, and some that precede the date a journal was selected for Medline indexing.

Service of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles.

SciFinder Web (Chemical Abstracts)

Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of chemistry. Combines several Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases.

Springer Protocols (formerly BioMedProtocols)

Provides access to reproducible, step-by-step protocols for use in the laboratory. It features over 16,000 peer-reviewed protocols from Humana's book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.