You are here

Energy

Core Resources

SciTech Connect 1948+

Energy related full text technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data information from the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Office of Scienctific and Technical Information  and predecessor agencies the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Includes publicly available energy and energy related literature in the disciplines of biology, chemistry, engineering, environmental sciences, fission and nuclear technologies, fossil fuels, geosciences, materials, mathematics, computing, physics and more.

ETDEWEB World Energy Database 1974+

The International Energy Agency's (IEA) Energy Technology Data Exchange (ETDE) contains bibliographic citations and full text of international reports in energy related subjects such as research and development, policy, planning, conservation, production as well as basic science, environmental impact, climate change, materials, and
renewable technologies.

World LNG Map

Interactive tool from Petroleum Economist Map Services. Contains maps, world statistics and data (production, consumption, trade movement, import and export capacities by country and operator) and shipping information for LNG (liquefied natural gas).

Coalpower Database

Contains data on coal-fired power stations throughout the world, including coal quality (heating value, sulphur and ash content), boiler type, and manufacturer. Also includes data on installations for flue gas desulphurisation (FGD) for SO2 control, primary measures and flue gas treatment for NOx emissions reduction. Export or download of data from the coalpower database is not permitted. Data can only be viewed in its pre-assigned form.

OnePetro early 1950s+

Collection of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. Access requires authentication (restricted to Princeton University users).

Alternative Energy eTrack

Statistical reports on alternative power sources including wind, hydro, solar, geothermal, bio, ocean, transportation biofuels, fuel cells along with energy storage, efficiency, and infrastructure; and carbon. Also includes electricity power prices.

Oil & Gas etrack

Detailed statistical reports in the oil and gas industries. Includes exploration & production, refining, LNG, pipelines, storage, tankers, deals and forecasts, as well as the latest research reports, news and opinions.

Power etrack

Databases related to the power industry (electricity and alternative energy), the latest news and deals, company profiles and opinions and research reports. Includes power plants, transmission and distribution, deals and project finance. Includes HUB and ISO pricing.

Nuclear eTrack

Industry research on fields such as nuclear power generation, active and upcoming projects, fuel cycle plants, test reactors and country policies.

Smart Grid eTrack

Includes data on market value, volume, average price and market share, while projects analysis covers the strategies and technologies implemented in historic, active and upcoming projects across the global smart grid industry.

EIU Energy

5-year forecasts and news analysis for the international energy industry.

INIS Collection Search 1970+

World's leading information system on peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology, operated by IAEA, contains 2.8 million records. Also covers grey literature.

Nucleonica

Comprehensive information portal aimed at scientists, engineers and technical personnel working in the fields of nuclear power, health physics, radiation protection, nuclear and radiochemistry, decommissioning, nuclear medicine, etc. Provides user friendly access to the latest reference data from internationally evaluated nuclear data and incorporates a wide range of web-based nuclear science applications for decay calculations, dosimetry & shielding, etc. It can also be used by professionals for everyday calculations, obtaining quick results in various fields of applications and testing, validating and verifying complex computer models. A variety of social networking tools are included for scientific collaboration. 

 

Supplementary Resources

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts Full Text

General science and technology articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere; non-English language articles are included if English abstracts are provided.

Compendex (EI Compendex Plus)

Extensive bibliographic database of engineering research. Indexes journal papers and conference proceedings. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

Environment Abstracts

One of the 12 subfiles of Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, and separately searchable. Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides coverage of energy-related issues. It covers journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include monographs, government studies and newsletters.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management

Compilation of 12 subfiles, including Water Resources Abstracts and Pollution Abstracts, containing journal articles and technical reports. They are searchable together or separately. There are simultaneously-performed searches on very current literature, and the Internet for websites.

Environmental Studies in Video

Includes films covering all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science. Addresses specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.

Frost & Sullivan TEAM Research

Global market research coverage of the following sectors: Aerospace & Defense, Automation & Electronics, Chemicals, Environment, Energy, Healthcare, Information & Communication, Materials, Technologies, Transportation.

GeoRef (ProQuest)

Index to the international geological literature. Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and a wide variety of publications indexed by special bibliographies from international, national and regional geological surveys and societies.

Global Insight

Best source for United States national, state, and metropolitan data. International data includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, and Balance of Payments as well as OECD's Main Economic Indicators and National Accounts. Data for interest rates, government bond yields, commodity prices, exchange rates, select futures and options. Limited data coming directly from other countries are also included. Also includes market research on health care & pharmaceuticals as well as telecommunications. Includes subnational forecasts for the United States.

GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources)

Focuses on sustainability & the environment. Categories include healthcare, food, climate change, population & economic development. Content covers English-language newspapers, magazines & refereed journals; videos, podcasts, Web forums and images; case studies, statistics and maps. Portals provide access by topic, organization and country.

INSPEC

Major bibliographic database concentrating on physics, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, computer and control systems, and manufacturing, production engineering, and information technology.

Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (ProQuest)

Monitors 654 journals and conference proceedings, books technical reports, etc. for world's literature on climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography, environmental sciences, and air pollution..

NTIS

Source for accessing unclassified reports from U.S. and international government agencies. Provides access to over two million critical citations from government departments such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Defense.

NTRL

Historical and current unclassified government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service; includes many full-text documents from Department of Energy, NASA, and the Environmental Protection Agency.

Oceanic Abstracts

Covers worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish water environment. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aqua culture, non living resources, meteorology and geology, and environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Subjects include wave energy and tidal power.

OSTI: Office of Science and Technology Information

U.S. Government portal to Science & Technology data and information, including full text reports and bibliographic data. The federated search covers deep web materials and can include ScienceAccelerator.gov, WorldWideScience.org, and OSTI.gov/open for data.

PPLCAT

Database of bibliographic citations for technical reports, journal articles and some conference proceedings, in the fields of plasma physics and controlled nuclear fusion. Wide coverage of literature reported in technical reports issued by US and international laboratories and institutions involved in thermonuclear fusion research.

Reference Module in Earth Systems and Environmental Sciences

Contains articles which cover all aspects of this interdisciplinary area of study, including atmospheric sciences, bioscience, energy and natural resources, geosciences, global change, hydrology and oceanography.

Subject Librarian(s)

Baruzzi, Andrea

 (609) 258-5484
Lewis Library

Research Help