English & American Literature

Core Resources

MLA International Bibliography 1926+

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) 1920+

Citations to books, articles, and book reviews. English is to be understood in the broadest international sense. ABELL is an excellent complement to the MLA International Bibliography.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (Literature Resource Center)

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

Literary Reference Center Antiquity+

Broad spectrum of reference information. Full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. Contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.

Literature Resource Center

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

Oxford English Dictionary: OED Online

Considered the most authoritative and comprehensive English language dictionary in the world. Includes information on the English language, its history, and the social, cultural, and political influences that have shaped the language through the centuries.  Includes Historical Thesaurus.

Supplementary Resources

Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship and the Stage

Collection of plays presented in England between 1737-1824, along with censor’s remarks, correspondence between key theatrical figures, biographical information, portraits, advertisements, historical information and the companion texts, The London Stage 1660-1800, A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers & Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660-1800.  Includes visual materials such as portraits of actors, scenery designs, and playbills; diaries; financial records; and a database of all known performances with casts, from 1600-1800.

Subject Librarian(s)

John Logan

Literature Bibliographer
609-258-3296
Floor C8L
Firestone Library