Environment

Core Resources

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management 1967+

Compilation of comprehensive 12 subfiles, including Water Resources Abstracts and Pollution Abstracts, containing journal articles and technical reports. They are searchable together or separately. There are simultaneously-performed searches on very current literature, and the Internet for websites.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database 1975+

Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides coverage of energy-related issues. It covers journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include monographs, government studies and newsletters.

Environment Complete 1888+

Covers policy issues in a broad range of environmental topics. US and international journals indexed. Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine and freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Formerly known as Environmental Knowledgebase OnLine. 

Environmental Impact Statements 1985+

Provides detailed abstracts and indexing of the hundreds of environmental impact statements issued each year by the federal government.  Where biodiversity is an issue, there may also be a Species Impact Statement included. Major concerns are: transportation, defense, energy, hazardous substances, land use, parts & forests, urban & social programs, and water.

Reference Module in Earth Systems and Environmental Sciences

Contains articles which cover all aspects of this interdisciplinary area of study, including atmospheric sciences, bioscience, energy and natural resources, geosciences, global change, hydrology and oceanography.

Web of Science (ISI) Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), Arts and Humanities (1975+), Conference Proceedings (1990+)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

Scopus 1996+

International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970.

ENVIROnetBASE

Collection of electronic handbooks and monographs covering pollution reduction, emissions, and environmental contamination.

Power etrack

Database related to the power industry (electricity, alternative, nuclear, and smart grids), the latest news and deals, company profiles, opinions, and research reports. Statistical reports on alternative power sources including wind, hydro, solar, geothermal, bio, ocean, transportation biofuels, fuel cells along with energy storage, efficiency, and infrastructure; and carbon. Nuclear industry research includes power generation, active and upcoming projects, fuel cycle plants, test reactors and country policies. Includes data on market value, volume, average price and market share, strategies and technologies implemented in historic, active and upcoming projects across the global smart grid industry.

Oil & Gas etrack

Detailed statistical reports in the oil and gas industries. Includes exploration & production, refining, LNG, pipelines, storage, tankers, deals and forecasts, as well as the latest research reports, news and opinions.

GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources)

Focuses on sustainability & the environment. Categories include healthcare, food, climate change, population & economic development. Content covers English-language newspapers, magazines & refereed journals; videos, podcasts, Web forums and images; case studies, statistics and maps. Portals provide access by topic, organization and country.

GreenFile

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Environmental Studies in Video

Includes films covering all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science. Addresses specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.

National Technical Information Service (NTIS) 1964+

Source for accessing unclassified reports from U.S. and international government agencies. Provides access to over two million critical citations from government departments such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Defense.

Oxford Bibliographies: Environmental Science

Annotated bibliographies of the most recent and authoritative environmental studies scholarship.

Supplementary Resources

AAPG Datapages

Full text access to American Association of Petroleum Geologists publications, including AAPG Bulletin, AAPG Special Volumes, Bulletin of Canadian Petroleum Geology, Journal of Petroleum Geology, Journal of Sedimentary Research. Coverage varies from 1917 to present. Also includes publications by several regional groups.

Antarctic Bibliography

Covers all disciplines related to the Antarctic region research and exploration, including biological and geological sciences, medical sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism.

Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate

General science and technology articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere; non-English language articles are included if English abstracts are provided.

Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS)

Records describing publications and research projects covering all aspects of northern Canada, including earth sciences, life sciences, engineering and technology, renewable and non-renewable resources, politics and government.

BIOSIS Previews: Biological Abstracts

With more than 13,000,000 records from publications in over 90 countries, Biosis Previews is the most comprehensive index of journals, meetings, conferences, and symposia in the life sciences. Although this is not a full-text article database, our PULinks system conveniently links you to the full-text

Compendex (EI Compendex Plus)

Extensive bibliographic database of engineering research. Indexes journal papers and conference proceedings. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

Conference Papers Index

Indexes papers and poster sessions from major scientific conferences and meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.

Encyclopedia of Earth

Electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.

GeoRef (ProQuest)

Index to the international geological literature. Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and a wide variety of publications indexed by special bibliographies from international, national and regional geological surveys and societies.

Global Insight

Best source for United States national, state, and metropolitan data. International data includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, and Balance of Payments as well as OECD's Main Economic Indicators and National Accounts. Data for interest rates, government bond yields, commodity prices, exchange rates, select futures and options. Limited data coming directly from other countries are also included. Includes subnational forecasts for the United States.

Marcive Web DOCS

Online catalog of U.S. government publications dating back to mid-1976. Direct links to documents on the web are provided. Many of the documents are available in the U.S. Documents Collection in Firestone

Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (ProQuest)

Monitors 654 journals and conference proceedings, books technical reports, etc. for world's literature on climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography, environmental sciences, and air pollution..

Oceanic Abstracts

Covers worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish water environment. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aqua culture, non living resources, meteorology and geology, and environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Subjects include wave energy and tidal power.

SciTech Connect

Energy related full text technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data information from the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Office of Scienctific and Technical Information  and predecessor agencies the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Includes publicly available energy and energy related literature in the disciplines of biology, chemistry, engineering, environmental sciences, fission and nuclear technologies, fossil fuels, geosciences, materials, mathematics, computing, physics and more.

SHELDUS (Spatial Hazard Events and Losses Database for the United States)

County-level hazard loss data set for the U.S. for 18 different natural hazard events types such thunderstorms, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, and tornadoes. For each event the database includes the beginning date, location (county and state), property losses, crop losses, injuries, and fatalities that affected each county. Does not include Puerto Rico, Guam, or other U.S. territories.

TOXLINE

Bibliographic records from a number of sources dealing with toxicology. Most of the records are from MEDLINE, but a number are from BIOSIS Previews and International Pharmaceutical Abstracts.

Subject Librarian(s)

wdressel's picture

Willow Dressel

Librarian Engineering Library
609-258-6567
107
Engineering Library