Film Studies

Core Resources

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus 1972+

Indexes articles and provides selective full text from over 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. Also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals (1979-1998), Treasures from the Film Archives (identifying silent film holdings in archives worldwide), the International Federation of Film Archives Affiliates' Publications, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.

Film Literature Index 1976-2001

Citations to articles about film and television in over 300 periodicals.

International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text 1864+

Comprehensive coverage of the performing arts, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, comedy, opera, and more. IIPA indexes more than 210 periodicals. Full text is available from 1998 to the present; citations to articles are indexed back to 1864.

Film Index International

Information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - indexes films from over 170 countries.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

An expanding resource offering full-text runs scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color of core U.S. and U.K. trade papers and magazines covering film, popular music, broadcasting (television and radio), and theater, together with film fan magazines and music press titles, through 2000. Key titles will include Billboard (1894-2000), Broadcasting (1931-2000), Melody Maker (1926-2000), New Musical Express (1946-2000), The Stage (1880-2000), and Variety (1905-2000), among many others. Provides a broad spectrum of valuable research material for multidisciplinary study of the film and media industries.

American Film Scripts Online

Contains the full-text of over 1,000 film scripts, and over 430 original images of previously unpublished screenplays. Search options include subjects, character name, writer, film title, actors, and directors.

American Film Institute Catalog 1893-1972.

Authoritative resource of American film information.

Supplementary Resources

ProQuest Research Library

Abstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers for information on a broad range of subjects.

Wilson OmniFile

Multi-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing. Consists of databases for scholarly sources in agriculture, applied science and technology, art, biology, business, education, general science, humanities, law, library and information science, social sciences, as well as popular appeal titles.

Subject Librarian(s)

Logan, John

 (609) 258-3296
Firestone B-13-P

Research Help