Gender & Sexuality Studies

Core Resources

Archives of Sexuality & Gender

Brings together primary source content on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/Aids crisis, and more.

Contemporary Women's Issues (RDS) 1992+

Articles from journals, newsletters, proceedings, pamphlets, book and media reviews and more about global women's issues.

Defining Gender, 1450-1910

Wide range of original sources including ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature.

Gender Studies Database 1972+

Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

GenderWatch 1970+

Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

LGBT Life with Full Text Early 1950s+

Broad coverage of the world's LGBTQ literature, for both academic & lifestyle publications. Covers the full run of 190 of the most important & historically significant journals, magazines, and regional newspapers, both mainstream and grey, and more than 330 books & reference works. Topics include sociology, culture, civil liberties, individual lives, family, community, employment, history, politics, psychology, and religion.

LGBT Studies in Video 1966+

A cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This collection features documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.

LGBT Thought and Culture

Includes books, periodicals and archival materials which document LGBT political, and social, and cultural  movements from the early twentieth century until the present as well memoirs, biographies, fiction and other creative works which reveal the personal experience of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals. 

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Online 1995+

International abstracting service on women's studies. The major focus is on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender roles, social policy, biography,literary criticism and historical studies.

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000

Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.

Women and Social Movements International 1840+

Writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made.

Supplementary Resources

Alt-Press Watch

Full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from alternative and independent presses.

Austen: Letters

Searchable electronic edition of Jane Austen's Letters.

Berg Fashion Library and Fashion Photography Archive

An essential resource for fashion and costume. Berg provides access to the 10-volume Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion (Oxford UP, 2010), and many other fashion ebooks, exhibition-related content, bibliographies, images, and more. The Fashion Photography Archive (1970s-2000) contains photographs, articles, biographies, and videos with major input from Valerie Steele, a notable scholar and curator.

Black Women Writers

Works of fiction, nonfiction and poetry by women from North America, Africa and the Caribbean.

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries

Includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in diaries and letters.

Charlotte Bronte: Letters

Searchable electronic edition of The Letters of Charlotte Bronte: with a selection of letters by family and friends.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Partially searchable digital images of books, primarily British, printed in the eighteenth century. Based on the Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue.  Also see the alternative interface Artemis Primary Sources that allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. 

Evans Digital Edition

Digital library of works published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920

Comprises rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, tracts, and broadsides concerning such areas as American home life, 1800-1920, the history of women, and the history of childhood.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Journal articles and essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online

Major source for the study of women's history in the world, especially feminism and the movement for women's rights. The collection includes the full text of books, pamphlets and periodicals spanning four centuries and 15 languages.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition

Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period

Poetry by Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842.

Latin American Women Writers

Contains full text of fiction, poetry, essays, and plays by women writers from Latin America, starting in the colonial period and moving through to the present.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries

Collection of previously unpublished letters and diaries by women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries documenting the details of their lives and illuminating the roles women played within their families, their communities, and the social and political movements of their times. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.

Mary Shelley: Journals

Searchable electronic edition of The Journals of Mary Shelley, 1814-1844.

Mary Shelley: Novels and Selected Works

Searchable electronic edition of The Novels and Selected Works of Mary Shelley.

North American Women's Drama

Full text database of over 1000 plays from the 19th and 20th centuries to the present.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Full text database of women's personal writings.

Population Index

Annotated bibliography of global demographic and population literature. Covers books, journal articles, working papers, doctoral dissertations and machine-readable data files. 1935-1999 available in JSTOR.

Renaissance Women Online

Subset of 100 texts from the Women Writers Online collection.

Reveal Digital Independent Voices

Collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press from the 1960s, including feminists, anti-war groups, African-Americans, Native-Americans and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community.

Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974

Contains letters, diaries, oral histories, posters, pamphlets, and rare audio and video materials documenting the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America.

Social Protest Collection: Popular Culture in Britain and America

Digital reproductions of mateirals held in the Social Protest Collection  of the Bancroft Library at the Unviersity of California consisting of pamphlets, leaflets, flyers, posters, and other ephemera focusing on the Vietnam War and Civil Rights. Also includes material on Black Power, the women’s movement, lesbian and gay rights, Third World issues, political documentation from the Left and Right, campus labour disputes and the movement against nuclear power and weaponry.

Twentieth Century Advice Literature

Digital collection of advice manuals, etiquette books, how-to-guides, professional manuals, textbooks, and government and association publications that provide insight into social and economic issues including race, sex, gender, and family life in 20th century America.

Victorian Popular Culture

Contains a wide range of source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930. Coverage includes spiritualism, sensation and magic; circuses, sideshows and freaks; and music halls; theater and popular entertainment.

ViVa Bibliography of Women's History

Provides access to articles about women's and gender history from more than hundred European, American and Indian historical and women's studies journals.

Wollstonecraft: Works

Searchable electronic edition of The Works of Mary Wollstonecraft.

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820

Contains primary source documents written by women in response to imperialism, colonialism, missionary work, Native American affairs, and war.

Women in the National Archives

Consists of a finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives of the United Kingdom and original documents covering the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928 and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962.

Women Working (1800-1930)

Access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

Women Working (1800-1930)

Access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

Women Writers Online

Full text collection of early modern women's writing.

Women's Magazine Archive

Complete archives of the foremost titles of consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture.

Women’s Wear Daily Archive

Comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last 12 months, reproduced in high-resolution images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included.

Subject Librarian(s)

Sara Howard

Librarian for Reference & Research Services and Gender & Sexuality Studies
609-258-4043
Floor 2 6C.2
Firestone Library