General Engineering

Core Resources

Compendex (EI Compendex Plus) 1884+

Extensive bibliographic database of engineering research. Indexes journal papers and conference proceedings. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

INSPEC 1896+

Major bibliographic database concentrating on physics, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, computer and control systems, and manufacturing, production engineering, and information technology.

Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate 1913+

General science and technology articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere; non-English language articles are included if English abstracts are provided.

EngNetBase

ENGnetBase contains the full text of engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.

Engineering Collection (ProQuest)

Includes the following databases: Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering, Biotechnology and BioEngineering Abstracts, Biotechnology Research Abstracts, Civil Engineering Abstracts, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts.

Knovel Engineering and Scientific Online References

Collection of the latest leading technical and engineering reference books.

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library 1931+

Includes standards and technical information which covers a broad range of engineering disciplines: aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

Engineering Case Studies Online

Video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes.

Supplementary Resources

ACM Digital Library

Collection of citations & full text from ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) journals, newsletters & conference proceedings. A major resource in the field of computing research and education.

Agricola

Bibliographic citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and its cooperators.

AIP Conference Proceedings

Collection of conference proceedings presented at physics related meetings around the world. The database search includes full text for conferences from 1970 to present.

arXiv.org e-Print archive

Electronic preprint (e-print) service in the fields of physics, astrophysics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Indexes journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.

BIOSIS Previews: Biological Abstracts

With more than 13,000,000 records from publications in over 90 countries, Biosis Previews is the most comprehensive index of journals, meetings, conferences, and symposia in the life sciences. Although this is not a full-text article database, our PULinks system conveniently links you to the full-text

CHEMnetBASE

Consists of several chemical data handbooks from Chapman & Hall/CRC.

Computing Reviews

Resource for reviews of the best in computing literature, indexing several hundred journals.

Environment Complete

Covers policy issues in a broad range of environmental topics. US and international journals indexed. Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine and freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management

Compilation of comprehensive 12 subfiles, including Water Resources Abstracts and Pollution Abstracts, containing journal articles and technical reports. They are searchable together or separately. There are simultaneously-performed searches on very current literature, and the Internet for websites.

Frost & Sullivan TEAM Research

Global market research coverage of the following sectors: Aerospace & Defense, Automation & Electronics, Chemicals, Environment, Energy, Healthcare, Information & Communication, Materials, Technologies, Transportation.

Global Insight

Best source for United States national, state, and metropolitan data. International data includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, and Balance of Payments as well as OECD's Main Economic Indicators and National Accounts. Data for interest rates, government bond yields, commodity prices, exchange rates, select futures and options. Limited data coming directly from other countries are also included. Includes subnational forecasts for the United States.

Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (CRC)

Wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds.

INIS Collection Search

World's leading information system on peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology, operated by IAEA, contains 2.8 million records. Also covers grey literature.

Jane's World Defence Industry

One-stop source on corporate activity in the defense industry. Provides company-by-company information on ownership, key personnel, workforce, recent financial performance, plants and subsidiaries, products and new technologies, and a summary of recent major contracts for the world's high-profile defense companies.

KnowItAll U spectra database

Offers access to the KnowItAll U reference collection of over 1.3 million spectra including structures and chemical property information; includes IR, UV/Vis, NMR, Raman and mass spectra.  ATTENTION KnowItALL Desktop Software Users:  Please update your license at https://kiarasql.informatics.bio-rad.com/KIARA/Forms/KnowItAllU/extend.jsp?code=HM6faMJ0OgJf6Xaf6qcq00aMf60cHOXPHcHfcq6XQJqOHqJXc6OOQcMPOMJEOHqaQEJJqac9cE9EacX0OaJ9aqf6PaOaX6QPJE6Jgf0qEQHJfEcHJP60E0PafMfO9fEaaHJPOMPgqaPHac6MM9qJEMJEaQPqgHgMEHXEMXJXOPJHcaX9M9PMfMOf9f996EH9JEc99OJa9McfXffEXHO9OQMq6EPM0aPXHJaH9fPcfPQQqEEgP9J9qHEgc6P6aQfq

Marcive Web DOCS

Online catalog of U.S. government publications dating back to mid-1976. Direct links to documents on the web are provided. Many of the documents are available in the U.S. Documents Collection in Firestone

MATERIALSnetBASE

Collection of handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and treatises covering the theory, data, and processes shaping diverse materials applications.

MathSciNet

Bibliographic database with reviews of journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research

Medline (PubMed)

Service of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles.

Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (ProQuest)

Monitors 654 journals and conference proceedings, books technical reports, etc. for world's literature on climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography, environmental sciences, and air pollution..

MLA International Bibliography

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

NTIS

Source for accessing unclassified reports from U.S. and international government agencies. Provides access to over two million critical citations from government departments such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Defense.

Nuclear Science Abstracts

Historic bibliographic database covering literature in nuclear science and technology. Abstracts and full text are provided where available.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.

Race Relations Abstracts

Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Safari Tech Books Online

Collection of information technology and programming books, mostly published by O'Reilly which allows searching for code examples and specific technical information

Scopus

International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970.

SPE (Society of Petroleum Engineers) eLibrary

Collection of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. Access requires authentication (restricted to Princeton University users).

Transportation Research Information Services

References to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles and on-going research in the field of transportation.

Water Resources Abstracts

One of 12 subfiles in the cluster that comprises the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management database. Covers scientific and technical world literature about water. The abstracts describe journal articles, books, conference papers, and technical reports, from the physical and life sciences as well as engineering, legal and government publications. [Known as Selected Water Resources Abstracts and was published by the USGS, the United States Geological Survey, until 1994].

Web of Science (ISI)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

Subject Librarian(s)

Willow Dressel

Librarian Engineering Library
609-258-6567
107
Engineering Library