General History

Core Resources

Historical Abstracts with Full Text 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

America: History and Life with Full Text 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Supplementary Resources

Blackwell Reference Online

Full-text of approximately 300 humanities and social science reference books published by Blackwell.

Cambridge Histories Online

Full text reference works from Cambridge University Press in history and other fields.

H-Net Reviews

Online scholarly reviews in the social sciences and humanities.

History Compass

Peer reviewed survey articles across the historical disciplines.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS

Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

Oxford Bibliographies

Detailed guides to a wide variety of disciplines.

Oxford Reference

Full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and other reference works in the humanities and social sciences, published by Oxford University Press.

Subject Librarian(s)

Steven Knowlton

Librarian for History and African American Studies
609-258-0496
Floor 1 G.1
Firestone Library

Alain St. Pierre

Librarian for History, History of Science and African Studies
609-258-2964
Floor 1 6F.4
Firestone Library