General/Multidisciplinary

Core Resources

ProQuest Central

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals

EBSCO Academic Search 1975+

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals

Wilson OmniFile 1982+

Multi-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing. Consists of databases for scholarly sources in agriculture, applied science and technology, art, biology, business, education, general science, humanities, law, library and information science, social sciences, as well as popular appeal titles.

Readers' Guide 1890+; Select Full Text 1992+

Indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals.

Periodicals Index Online

Multidisciplinary index to the arts, humanities, and the social sciences. Over 6,000 journals are included, with around one million records from new journals added yearly. Complete runs of these titles are indexed, from first issue to 1995 or ceased date.

IBZ - International Bibliography of Periodical Literature 1983+

Major index to scholarly articles appearing in over 10,000 European journals, covering all fields. Searches can be done using either English or German subject terms. Articles themselves are in a wide array of European languages. Many entries have abstracts.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers. 

Factiva

Full-text of many major national and regional newspapers, including the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, and the Nikkei Weekly. Some titles are abstracted only. Includes selected full-text and abstracts of many industry and general interest publications. For non-English, choose appropriate language.

Supplementary Resources

Alt-Press Watch

Full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from alternative and independent presses.

Alternative Press Index

Indexes radical and left journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries, The

Includes more than 1,000 diaries, letters, and memoirs from both Northern and Southern politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies.

American Periodicals

Full-text and page images of several hundred American periodicals of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

Communication Source

Combines Communication Abstracts and Communication & Mass Media Complete.  Abstracting, indexing, and select full text  of communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books. Includes literature in other disciplines relevant to communication researchers including film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.

 

 

Essay and General Literature Index

Access to essays and articles published in collections, with emphasis on works in the humanities and social sciences.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Francis (International coverage of the Humanities and Social Sciences.)

Citations and abstracts to articles in multiple languages in the humanities and social sciences. Online version of Bulletin Signaletique, published by the Centre Nationale de la Recherche Scientifique (C.N.R.S.).

Government Periodicals Index

Indexes periodicals published by the United States government on a wide array of disciplines.

Index Translationum

Information on books translated and published in about a hundred of UNESCO's member states covering all disciplines.

JerseyClicks

New Jersey statewide portal covering a wide variety of databases including health, history, business, education, science, current events, literature and modern fiction. 

JSTOR

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.  Also includes full text of many Princeton University Press books as well as books in Classics from many university presses.

Left Index

Guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.

Library Literature and Information Science Full Text

References to articles in library journals.

Official Museum Directory

The online version of the annual print title begun in 1961 as Museums Directory of the United States and Canada. Provides current information about art and specialized museums, historic sites, and scientific institutions in the 50 states, including personnel. The database allows searching by institution type and collection category, and the website lists museum-related product suppliers.

Periodicals Archive Online

Index to millions of articles published in 4,547 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the collections, British Periodicals and Periodicals Archive Online I-V, which provide searchable full-text and page images of hundreds of periodicals, primarily from the 19th century.

Vogue Archive

Includes in full color every issue of American Vogue--including covers, images, advertisements and fold-outs--up to the present (with a time delay of a few months). For the latest issues online and in print, see the Library journal page. Offers unique search limits to reveal types of content, text or image-based, including lists of fashion items and company/brands associated with specific images.

Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900

Subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 50,000 publications, 48,000 personal names, 4,572 issuing bodies and 756 subjects.

World Press Trends Database

Primary source of data on the newspaper industry world-wide. For each of more than 70 countries and territories, a broad range of annual data includes elements such as the number of titles and circulation, advertising costs and income, sales revenue, number of journalists and employees, salary costs, and costs for newsprint.

Subject Librarian(s)

Sara Howard

Women & Gender Studies Librarian
609-258-4043
Floor 2 6C.2
Firestone Library