Geosciences

Core Resources

GeoRef (ProQuest) 1785+ N. America; 1933+ Worldwide

Index to the international geological literature. Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and a wide variety of publications indexed by special bibliographies from international, national and regional geological surveys and societies.

USGS Publications Warehouse 1880+

Provides access to publications written by United States Geological Survey scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.

Reference Module in Earth Systems and Environmental Sciences

Contains articles which cover all aspects of this interdisciplinary area of study, including atmospheric sciences, bioscience, energy and natural resources, geosciences, global change, hydrology and oceanography.

GEOnetBASE

Collection of electronic handbooks and monographs on emerging developments in the geosciences.

ENVIROnetBASE

Collection of electronic handbooks and monographs covering pollution reduction, emissions, and environmental contamination.

CHEMLIBnetBASE

Collection of electronic handbooks and monographs on applied chemistry; covering nanoscience and natural product chemistry to separation methods and surfactant science.

Web of Science (ISI) Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), Arts and Humanities (1975+), Conference Proceedings (1990+)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

Scopus 1996+

International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+

AAPG Datapages 1917+

Full text access to American Association of Petroleum Geologists publications, including AAPG Bulletin, AAPG Special Volumes, Bulletin of Canadian Petroleum Geology, Journal of Petroleum Geology, Journal of Sedimentary Research. Coverage varies from 1917 to present. Also includes publications by several regional groups.

Geologic Guidebooks of North America

References to geologic field trip guidebooks compiled by the American Geosciences Institute from 1940.  Field trip write-ups include road logs with descriptions of the geological features along an itinerary, and thus resources for local geology. Includes geographic and stratigraphic indexes.

GEOMAP

Catalog of Princeton University's Map Collection located in the Geosciences Library. The collection consists of contemporary maps, although some geologic and topographic maps dating from the mid-nineteenth century are also part of the collection.

Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (ProQuest) 1974+

Monitors 654 journals and conference proceedings, books technical reports, etc. for world's literature on climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography, environmental sciences, and air pollution..

Mineralogical Abstracts (MINABS) 1982-2008

Published by the Mineralogical Society of Great Britain & Ireland covers mineralogy, crystallography, geochemistry, petrology, environmental mineralogy and related topics. Content also in Georef.

National Geologic Map Database

Geoscience resource for maps and related data about geology, hazards, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry, geochronology, paleontology, and marine geology.

Oceanic Abstracts 1981+

Covers worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish water environment. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aqua culture, non living resources, meteorology and geology, and environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Subjects include wave energy and tidal power.

Water Resources Abstracts 1967+

One of 12 subfiles in the cluster that comprises the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management database. Covers scientific and technical world literature about water. The abstracts describe journal articles, books, conference papers, and technical reports, from the physical and life sciences as well as engineering, legal and government publications. [Known as Selected Water Resources Abstracts and was published by the USGS, the United States Geological Survey, until 1994.]

Supplementary Resources

ADS (NASA)

Astrophysics Data System (NASA)

Funded by NASA, ADS maintains 3 bibliographic databases - Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics and Geophysics, and ArXiv Preprints - containing more than 8.5 million records, and digital scans of archival materials.

Antarctic Bibliography

Covers all disciplines related to the Antarctic region research and exploration, including biological and geological sciences, medical sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism.

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts Full Text

General science and technology articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere; non-English language articles are included if English abstracts are provided.

Bibliography and Index of Micropaleontology

Cumulative index of worldwide current publications in all fields of micropaleontology (the study of microscopic fossils).

Bibliography on cold regions science and technology

Provides coverage of Antarctic research and exploration and cold regions engineering and physical science information .

BioRad KnowItAll spectra database

BIOSIS Previews: Biological Abstracts

With more than 13,000,000 records from publications in over 90 countries, Biosis Previews is the most comprehensive index of journals, meetings, conferences, and symposia in the life sciences. Although this is not a full-text article database, our PULinks system conveniently links you to the full-text

Cambridge Structural Database

Repository for small molecule crystal structures compiled by Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre. Consists of the space group symmetry of the crystalline phase, its cell parameters, the relative atomic coordinates of all the atoms in the cell in 3D

Chemical Abstracts

Compendex (EI Compendex Plus)

Extensive bibliographic database of engineering research. Indexes journal papers and conference proceedings. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts

Comprehensive authoritative coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. Indexes journals, conference proceedings, and research and technical reports. Includes reports of the Earthquake Engineering Research Center and Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center.

Encyclopedia of Global Resources

Signed articles on resource exploitation, environmentalism, ecology, geology, biology, and the economic application of the Earth's resources.

Environment Complete

Covers policy issues in a broad range of environmental topics. US and international journals indexed. Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine and freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Formerly known as Environmental Knowledgebase OnLine. 

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management

Compilation of 12 subfiles, including Water Resources Abstracts and Pollution Abstracts, containing journal articles and technical reports. They are searchable together or separately. There are simultaneously-performed searches on very current literature, and the Internet for websites.

GEOSCAN

Bibliographic database for scientific publications of the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada.

Gmelin CrossFire (incorporated into Reaxys)

Detailed index of inorganic and organometallic chemistry. Fully searchable by structures, substructures, and reactions.

ICSD Web

Comprehensive database of inorganic crystal structures. Contains records for elements, and binary, ternary, quaternary and quintenary compounds. Over 70% have been assigned a structure type, and the remainder are prototypes. Detailed searching forms for chemistry, symmetry, structure type, etc. are available, as well as analysis of large, complex data sets.

INSPEC

Major bibliographic database concentrating on physics, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, computer and control systems, and manufacturing, production engineering, and information technology.

International Polar Year publications database

Attempts to identify and describe all publications that result from, or are about, the International Polar Year (IPY) 2007-2008 and the 3 previous IPYs.

Knovel Engineering and Scientific Online References

Collection of the latest leading technical and engineering reference books.

Landolt-Bornstein, New Series, Group V: Geophysics

Group V includes global climate, geophysics of the solid earth, the moon and the planets, meteorology, oceanography, physical properties of rocks

National Technical Information Service (NTIS)

Source for accessing unclassified reports from U.S. and international government agencies. Provides access to over two million critical citations from government departments such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Defense.

National Technical Reports Library

Historical and current unclassified government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service; includes many full-text documents from Department of Energy, NASA, and the Environmental Protection Agency.

Oil & Gas etrack

Detailed statistical reports in the oil and gas industries. Includes exploration & production, refining, LNG, pipelines, storage, tankers, deals and forecasts, as well as the latest research reports, news and opinions.

OSTI: Office of Science and Technology Information

U.S. Government portal to Science & Technology data and information, including full text reports and bibliographic data. The federated search covers deep web materials and can include ScienceAccelerator.gov, WorldWideScience.org, and OSTI.gov/open for data.

ProQuest Illustrata: Natural Sciences

Interdisciplinary database covering a wide variety of journals from subject area such as biology, medical sciences, earth sciences, environmental studies, pharmacy, public health and education. The database includes searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature.

Reference Module in Chemistry, Molecular Sciences and Chemical Engineering

The articles contained in this database cover a wide range of fields, including physical chemistry, theoretical and computational chemistry, supramolecular chemistry and heterocycles, chemical biology, food chemistry, medicinal and pharmaceutical chemistry, biotechnology, polymers, separation science and engineering, electrochemical technology, spectrometry, spectroscopy and microscopy.

SciTech Connect

Energy related full text technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data information from the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Office of Scienctific and Technical Information  and predecessor agencies the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Includes publicly available energy and energy related literature in the disciplines of biology, chemistry, engineering, environmental sciences, fission and nuclear technologies, fossil fuels, geosciences, materials, mathematics, computing, physics and more.

SPE (Society of Petroleum Engineers) eLibrary

OnePetro

Collection of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. Access requires authentication (restricted to Princeton University users).

World LNG Map

Interactive tool from Petroleum Economist Map Services. Contains maps, world statistics and data (production, consumption, trade movement, import and export capacities by country and operator) and shipping information for LNG (liquefied natural gas).

Zoological Record (Biosis)

Most comprehensive index to zoological literature. Records cover every aspect of zoology, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, genetics, etc. Over 4,500 international serials plus approximately 1,500 non-serial publications are currently monitored, including professional journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, reviews, and conference proceedings.

Subject Librarian(s)

Deis, Louise

 (609) 258-3235
Lewis Library Room 211

Research Help