German Studies

Core Resources

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach-und Literaturwissenschaft 1985+

Indexes monographs, conference proceedings, journals, book reviews covering works by and about German authors as well as treatises on the German language

MLA International Bibliography 1926+

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur--KLG

Biographical and bibliographic information (primary and secondary literature) on authors whose chief oeuvre belongs to the era after 1945.

International Medieval Bibliography 1967+

Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.

Lexikon des Mittelalters

Standard encyclopedia for medieval studies. Covers all of Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.

German Literary Expressionism Online

Includes facsimiles of the publication of Expressionist authors as well as bio-bibliographical articles on the 350 Expressionist authors.

Deutsche Literatur des 18. Jahrhunderts Online

Includes first editions and first published complete editions of more than 600 German-speaking authors of the 18th century. The approximately 2,700 works reflect the broad spectrum of German literature from the early stages of the age of Enlightenment to the later part of the period.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

Bilingual dictionaries pairing English with Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish.

Deutsches Worterbuch von Jacob und Wilhelm Grimm

Electronic version of the Grimm brothers' Deutsche Worterbuch.

Kindlers Literatur Lexikon

Online version of the comprehensive German language encyclopedia of world literature. Includes bibliographical references for each author and some specific works or genres.

Supplementary Resources

Bertolt Brechts Werke

Based on the Jubilaumsausgabe/Suhrkamp edition. Edited by Werner Hecht, Wolfgang Jeske, and Jan Knopf.

DaSinD2004

Biographical and bibliographic information about female authors and journalists working in Germany since 1945. From die Stiftung Frauen-Literatur-Forschung e.V.

De Geiintegreerde Taal-Bank

Electronic versions of several Dutch dictionaries.

Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker

Enables searching of the full texts of the 133 volumes in the Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker. Texts range from works of the medieval period to those of major authors of the nineteenth century, and subjects covered include literature, history, politics, philosophy and theology. In addition, the database provides the full text of 31 single-author editions (Werkausgaben), including writers such as Wolfram von Eschenbach, Achim and Bettina von Arnim, the brothers Grimm, Gotthold Ephraim Lessing, Friedrich Holderlin, Theodor Storm, Heinrich von Kleist, and Immanuel Kant.

DigiZeitschriften

Digital archive of German scholarly journals.

G.W.F. Hegel: The Oxford Translations

Based on all Hegel translations published by Oxford University Press.

Goethes Werke im WWW

Based on die Weimarer Ausgabe.

Hegel: Werke II

Frauhe Schriften. Bern 1793-1796. Based on the Suhrkamp edition (originally the Association of Fiends edition)

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Indexes articles and other materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700. Includes articles, reviews, bibliographies, catalogs, editions, abstracts, discographies, and notes.

Kafkas Werke im WWW

Based on S. Fischer Verlag's Critical Edition.

Kant: Gesammelte Schriften

Correspondence with a number of German thinkers of the late 18th century as Lambert, Hamman, Herder, Lavater, Maimon, Sulzer, Garve, Mendelssohn, Reinhold, Schiller, and Fichte.

Luthers Werke im WWW

Based on die Weimarer Ausgabe.

Nietzsches Werke

Based on die Studienausgabe (KSA) of die Historisch-kritische Ausgabe (Colli/Montinari edition).

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

Schillers Werke im WWW

Based on die Nationalausgabe. Includes the complete works including poetry, plays, translations, minor prose works, historical and philosophical writings, letters, and the Conversations.

Sermons of Martin Luther

The Baker Books edition (originally published by Lutherans of all Lands, 1904-1906). Edited by John Nicholas Lenker. Includes Sermons on Gospel Texts for Advent, Christmas, and Epiphany.

Verzeichnis Lieferbarer Bucher

German Books In Print.

Vossische Zeitung Online

Contains approximately 10,500 issues of the oldest and most renowned Berlin daily newspaper, with a total of some 127,000 full text pages. Also includes all the foreign editions, Die Voss and Die Post aus Deutschland (Post from Germany).

Wittgenstein: Letters and Lectures

The lectures are those based on the notes of John King and Desmond Lee from Cambridge University, 1930-1932.

Wittgenstein: Nachlass

The Bergen Electronic Edition. Includes Wittgenstein'ss philosophical Nachlass of some 20,000 pages

Wittgenstein: Tagebucher und Briefe

Includes correspondence with Ludwig von Ficker, Ludwig Hansel, Rudolf Koder and Stanislaus and Adele Jolles. The diaries cover the years 1930-1932, 1936-1937.

Subject Librarian(s)

Hatfield, Rex

 (609) 258-1373
Firestone A-7-H

Research Help