You are here

Health

Core Resources

MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) 1928+

National Library of Medicine's database of biomedical journal literature providing access to information on the following: population and reproductive biology, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, the preclinical sciences, and allied health. Coverage is worldwide with an emphasis on English-language peer reviewed journals.

PubMed

Database of biomedical journal literature providing access to information on population and reproductive biology, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, the preclinical sciences, and allied health. Worldwide coverage with an emphasis on English-language peer reviewed journals. Includes in-process records not yet added to Medline (Silverplatter), some out-of-scope citations, and some that precede the date a journal was selected for Medline indexing.

Service of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles.

Global Health Database 1912+

International public health database providing abstracts to literature about healthcare, biomedical life sciences, sexual and reproductive health, communicable and non-communicable diseases, environmental health, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene . Covers English and foreign language journals, books, reports, patents, dissertations and conference proceedings.

LILACS 1982+

Literature related to the health sciences published in Latin America.

Cochrane Library

Collection of evidence-based medicine databases covering the effects of interventions in health care. Published quarterly. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews; Cochrane Methodology Register; Health Technology Assessment Database; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine 1976+

Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of science and technology and allied fields. Coverage includes all languages in which these materials are published.

UpToDate

Comprehensive evidence-based medical information written and peer-reviewed by and for practicing clinicians. All summaries are continually updated, organized by topic, and contain full bibliographies with links to Medline abstracts.

Supplementary Resources

Africa-Wide Information

Access to journal articles, news articles, reports, and more on Africa and South Africa. (formerly African HealthLine, African Studies, South African Studies)

Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drugs Bibliographic Databases and Data Archives

International compilation of databases and other online resources. Created to assist in the researching and dissemination of substance abuse, alcoholism, treatment, recovery, and other addictions information.

BIOSIS Previews: Biological Abstracts

With more than 13,000,000 records from publications in over 90 countries, Biosis Previews is the most comprehensive index of journals, meetings, conferences, and symposia in the life sciences. Although this is not a full-text article database, our PULinks system conveniently links you to the full-text

Global HIV Archive

Provides access to evidence-based programs that have demonstrated significant, positive effects on HIV-related behaviors and/or HIV infection rates.

HIV RAP Research and Practice products (Sociometrics)

Science-based HIV prevention and educational resources.

Index Nominum

International drug directory providing synonyms, formulas, and therapeutic classes for drugs and derivatives for 133 countries.

JSTOR

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

Popline

Index to worldwide information about migration, contraceptive methods, demography, family planning, maternal and child health, human fertility, population law and policy, sexually transmitted diseases, vital statistics, etc. Covers journal articles, books, government publications, and technical reports.

ProQuest Illustrata: Natural Sciences

Interdisciplinary database covering a wide variety of journals from subject area such as biology, medical sciences, earth sciences, environmental studies, pharmacy, public health and education. The database includes searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature.

Psychiatry Online

PsychiatryOnline contains references including full-text of the DSM-IV-TR, DSM-IV-TR Casebook and its Treatment Companion, and the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders. It also gives access to journals including The American Journal of Psychiatry and Psychiatric Services and several textbooks including The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry. Psychiatry Online also has self-assessment tools for study, board certification and recertification review, and lifelong learning. It also contains clinical and research news from Psychiatric News.

PsycINFO

Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

World Development Indicators

Includes annual economic, social, educational, environmental and health data from many of the World Bank's major statistical publications.

Subject Librarian(s)

Donatiello, Joann

 (609) 258-1377
Stokes Library

Research Help