You are here

Hellenic Studies

Core Resources

EconLit 1886+

Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

Historical Abstracts 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

International Political Science Abstracts 1951+

Abstracts in English or French to articles selected from over 1,000 international journals. Topics covered include political science method and theory, political thinkers and ideas, governmental and administrative institutions, political process, international relations, and national and area studies

MLA International Bibliography 1926+

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

Sociological Abstracts 1952+

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers over 1,800 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.

Supplementary Resources

AMBROSIA

Union catalog of the Blegen and Gennadius Libraries of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens and the Libraries of the British School at Athens.

ANEMI: Digital Library of Modern Greek Studies

Significant collection of digitized books related to early modern Greece.

Benaki Museum Library

On-line catalog to the holdings of the Benaki Museum Library in Athens

EIE/EKT: Databases

Variety of digital resources developed by the National Documentation Center (EKT) of the National Research Institute (EIE).

Encyclopedia of Islam

Comprehensive information on the world of Islam in disciplines ranging from religion and history to politics and culture with a geographic and chronological scope encompassing the early Arab-Islamic Empire, Iran, Central Asia, the Indian subcontinent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all modern Islamic states.

Enimerosis

Links to current Greek news sources.

ERT: Audiovisual Archive

Over 200 hours of video and 1000 photographs from the archives of Hellenic Broadcasting Corporation (ERT).

Greek Bibliography of the 19th century

Extensive bibliography of 19th century Greek imprints hosted by the Benaki Museum and indicating the holdings of Greek and international libraries.

Greek Parliament, Library of the

Collection includes a large collection of digitized newspapers covering the years 1812-1930; accessed by microfilm number.

Greek Statistical Authority

Free access to many census and statistical publications, including user-initiated database queries, (after a simple registration).

Journal of Modern Greek Studies

The only scholarly periodical to focus exclusively on modern Greece. The Journal publishes critical analyses of Greek social, cultural, and political affairs, covering the period from the late Byzantine Empire to the present.

Modern Greek Studies Association

Non-profit organization dedicated to the promotion of modern Greek studies in the United States and Canada.

Modern Language Translations of Byzantine Sources

Database of modern language translations of Byzantine primary sources, which can be searched by keyword or browsed using pull-down menus.

National Archive of Dissertations

Access to bibliographic information and often full-text content of dissertations from Greek universities and Greek students studying abroad.

National Library of Greece

Digitized versions of 7 Greek newspapers covering the years 1883-1983.

openarchives.gr

Single search interface to over 40 Greek digital collections.

Special Libraries in Greece

On-line catalog to a variety of specialized libraries in Greece.

ZEPHYR

Union catalog of Greek university libraries.

Subject Librarian(s)

Jenkins, David

 (609) 258-5811
Firestone B-17-P-1

Research Help