International, Foreign, and Comparative Law

Core Resources

Foreign Law Guide

Bibliography of sources of foreign law organized by country. Each entry contains a brief description of the country's legal system with citations to primary sources of law both in print and electronic versions when available. At the end of each entry is a list of subject headings with citations to the relevant laws or statutes.

United Nations Treaty Databases 1946+

Index and full text database for some 50,000 bilateral and multilateral treaties and subsequent treaty actions in their authentic language(s), along with a translation into English and French.

Hein Online Law Journal Library

Full text access to over 700 law reviews, most back to the first volume. Most recent issues are often not included.

Legal Source 1908+

Index of articles from approximately 1,200 law journals and selected books with some full-text

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals 1985+

Index of articles from selected foreign law periodicals and US law reviews focused on international law

U.S. Treaties Library (Hein Online)

Full-text searchable versions of almost all official and unofficial publications of U.S. treaties and treaty indexes, including U.S.T., T.I.A.S., KAV, Treaties in Force, Bevans Miller, Malloy and International Legal Materials.

Supplementary Resources

AccessUN (Readex United Nations Index)

Comprehensive commercial index to United Nations parliamentary & working documents, monographic publications, & serial titles.

CALI Library of Computer-Based Lessons

Provides over 100 interactive lessons written by law faculty and law librarians. The lessons cover a great variety of legal topics in both substantive law and legal research, including Constitutional Law, Federal Courts, Treaty Research, and many more. Please note that although this database is specifically intended for use by law students, it will still be helpful to members of the Princeton University community seeking legal information.

Constitutions of the World from the late 18th Century to the Middle of the 19th Century Online

Presents a scholarly edition of all constitutions, amendments, and declarations of rights between 1776 and 1849 worldwide (1860 for the United States). Includes drafts, failed constitutions, and constitutions for sub-national bodies.

Database of U.S. Security Treaties and Agreements

RAND has developed a dataset that codes all of the United States' current and historical security-related bilateral and multilateral treaties and agreements. It codes for when the treaty entered into force or is terminated, world region, primary and secondary subjects (6 possibilities), treaty characteristics, COW code, and more. Data is in Excel and covers 1955-2012.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Partially searchable digital images of books, primarily British, printed in the eighteenth century. Based on the Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue.  Also see the alternative interface Artemis Primary Sources that allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. 

EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Service)

Full-text economic, financial, news, and legal information covering Central & Eastern Europe, Central Asia & the Caucasus, and Southeast Europe.

Encyclopedia of Law and Religion

Covers the relation between law and religion, the relations between religion and state institutions, freedom of religion, legal aspects of religious traditions, the interaction between law and religion, and other issues at the junction of law, religion, and state.

English Reports, Full Reprint 1220-1865 (Hein Online)

Search or browse all 176 volumes of the English Reports, Full Reprint along with its \Index of Cases\ and \Index Chart.\ This collection encompasses the decisions of the English Courts prior to the commencement of the Law Reports in 1865.

European Center for Minority Issues (Hein Online)

Search or browse reports, working papers and journals of the European Center for Minority Issues.

IA Reporter: Investment Arbitration Reporter

Electronic news service tracking cross-border arbitrations between foreign investors and their host governments. Covers lawsuits and policy developments related to nationalizations, privatizations, and other regulatory disputes.

Indlaw.com

India's largest legal, tax and regulatory resource base.

InterAm Database

Collection of laws, regulations, case law, and secondary source materials for countries in the Americas, primarily in Spanish or Portuguese but with increasing numbers of materials translated into English. Updated daily and arranged in over 25 topical areas related to trade and investment.

International Law in Domestic Courts

Regularly updated repository of domestic cases addressing international law from over 65 jurisdictions. Contains full texts of judgments in their original language and translations of key passages of non-English judgments into English.

Israel Law Reports (Hein Online)

English translations of selected decisions of the Supreme Court of Israel. Formerly titled Selected Judgments of the Supreme Court of Israel.

Justis UK Legislation

Provides searchable full-text access to UK Statutes back to 1235, Statutory Instruments back to 1671, Local Acts back to 1797, and a collection of Private Acts back to 1539. Some material is provided in PDF format.

Law Info China/ China Law Info

Also known as Beida fabao, or pkulaw.cn.  Chinese laws, regulations and cases in Chinese (Chinalawinfo) and English/Chinese (Lawinfochina). One concurrent user only.

Legal Treatises 1800-1926 (Making of Modern Law Digital Archive)

Digital library of works from the 19th and early 20th centuries on British Commonwealth and American law. Includes treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches.

LegislatiOnline

Provides access to international norms & standards relating to specific human dimension issues as well as to domestic legislation and other documents of relevance to these issues.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers. 

Lexis-Nexis Commercial

Comprehensive database of legal materials, both primary and secondary sources, from the United States and selected foreign countries and international organizations.

Making of Modern Law (Trials 1600-1926)

Searchable digital archive of trial transcripts, and popular and scholarly accounts of both famous and non-famous historic trials.

Making of Modern Law Digital Archive (Legal Treatises 1800-1926)

Digital library of works from the 19th and early 20th centuries on British Commonwealth and American law. Includes treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches.

Nineteenth Century Masterfile

Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.

NORMLEX

Brings together information on International Labour Standards (such as ratification information, reporting requirements, comments of the ILO's supervisory bodies, etc.) as well as national labor and social security laws.

Oxford Constitutions of the World

English translations of the constitutions of most countries of the world, territories, and dependencies.  The constitutions are accompanied by individual commentaries and supplementary materials, including foundation documents, historical constitutions, and amendment Acts/laws, and a collection of scholarly monographs.   Includes the states and territories of the United States.

Parry and Grant Encylopaedic Dictionary of International Law

Provides over 2,500 entries covering all aspects of international law. Entries include references for further research including cases, treaties, journal articles, and websites.

Proceedings of the Old Bailey London

Fully searchable online edition of the periodical Proceedings of the Old Bailey, containing accounts of over 100,000 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.

SA ePublications - South African Journals published online

Provides access to selected full text South African journals in the social sciences, humanities and law.

SCC Online Indian Law

Extensive searchable database of Indian case law and statute law.  Contains some secondary source material and some pre-statehood material as well.  NOTE:  Must register for an account before first use.

Takdin Israel Law Database

Contains full-text access to over 600,000 Israeli cases and laws, and articles from Israel's leading business finance newspaper -Globes (all in Hebrew). Also provides English access to a limited selection of case law, mostly from Israel's Supreme Court.

U.K. Parliamentary Papers

Includes the  House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688 and the House of Lords Papers from 1715-1910. Includes searchable full text and subject indexing. The Parliamentary Papers are an essential primary source for Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy.

Westlaw (commercial version)

Comprehensive database of legal materials, both primary and secondary sources, from the United States and selected foreign countries and international organizations. Password required.  Please try searching WestlawNext Campus Research which contains similar coverage and features.  Contact dholland@princeton.edu for Westlaw commercial log-on if still necessary.

World Constitutions Illustrated

Provides current constitutions for every country, constitutional histories for many countries, and a variety of full-text sources covering constitutions worldwide.

World Treaty Library

Collection of over 160,000 treaties, covering 1648 to the present.  Also includes important secondary and scholarly material related to treaty research.

Subject Librarian(s)

David Hollander

Law & Legal Studies Librarian/U.S. Documents Librarian
609-258-5316
Floor A 14J.2
Firestone Library