Judaic Studies

Core Resources

Index of Articles on Jewish Studies 1985+

Indexes articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of the land of Israel. Covers articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials 1949+

Citations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals.

Encyclopedia Judaica

Articles on all aspects of the Jewish life, including religion, history, politics, culture, the Holocaust, Jewish arts and literature, Jews in America, and more. Composed of complete text of the 16-volume 1972 print edition, eight year books, and two decennial volumes.

Index to Jewish Periodicals 1988+

Index to more than 150 English language Jewish studies journals published in the United States, Canada, England, Israel, and elsewhere.

Bar Ilan's Judaic library

Full text of the Bible and its major commentaries, the Babylonian Talmud with Rashi's commentary and Tosafot, the Jerusalem Talmud, the Mishneh Torah of Maimonides, Shulchan Aruch with commentaries, Midrashim, hundreds of books of Responsa, and the Talmudic Encyclopedia.

Index to Hebrew Periodicals

Indexes articles in Hebrew language periodicals and a few monographs, as well as articles in other languages dealing with all aspects of Israeli life and culture. Files which make up the database include Eretz Israel Database, Tel-Hai Index to Hebrew Newspapers, and the Bar-Ilan Indexing Project.

Kiryat Sefer. Jewish National and University Library, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem. 2003+

Lists materials published in Israel and deposited in the Jewish National and University Library, and publications in Judaica, acquired by the library from around the world. For print volumes prior to 2003 see: Near East Periodicals (SYS). Firestone C-11-F Call Number: 04574.523

Sol and Evelyn Henkind Talmud text databank

Includes a databank of Talmud manuscripts, fragments, and early printed editions, an index of references to scholarly and rabbinic literature dealing with specific passages in the entire Talmud and a classified list of Geniza fragments in the Jewish Theological Seminary Library

Ma'agarim: The Database of the Historical Dictionary Project

A dictionary and concordance which includes the entire Hebrew lexicon throughout its history; presenting Hebrew words in their morphological, semantical, and contextual development from first appearance in written texts to the present.  Sources include the Dead Sea Scrolls, Inscriptions, Talmud and Midrash, Geonic Literature, Prayer and Piyyut, Karaite Literature, Sciences, Deeds, Colophons, Amulets, etc.   Updated on a regular basis.

Supplementary Resources

America: History and Life

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online

Overview of the political history of the Middle East in the 20th Century, based on primary source documents from the British national archives. Documents the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Art Index

Indexes and abstracts articles and reproductions of works of art from periodicals published throughout the world on all areas in the arts.

Bibliography of the Hebrew Book

Comprehensive bibliography of all books printed in the Hebrew Language between 1473 and 1960. Includes over 120,000 titles and 13,500 authors.

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text)

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

Early Hebrew Newspapers Project. Jewish National and University Library, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

Major titles of the early Hebrew press (19th and early 20th century).The project currently contains: Halevanon (1863-1886), Hamagid (1856-1903), Havazelet (1863-1911),Hazefirah (1862-1931). Produced by Hebrew University, Jewish National and University Library.

EBSCO Academic Search

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals

Entsiklopedyah Talmudit (Bar Ilan's Judaic library)

Responsa Project

Contains the world's largest electronic collection of Jewish texts in Hebrew ever recorded, which embody thousands of years of Jewish learning. Includes numerous works from the Responsa Literature - rabbinic case-law rulings which represent the historical-sociological milieu of real-life situations. Includes the Bible, the Talmud and their principal commentaries; works about Jewish law and customs; major the codes of Jewish law, such as Maimonides' Mishneh Torah and the Shulchan Aruch with its principal commentaries; midrashim, Zohar, etc.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Factiva

Full-text of many major national and regional newspapers, including the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, and the Nikkei Weekly. Some titles are abstracted only. Includes selected full-text and abstracts of many industry and general interest publications. For non-English, choose appropriate language.

Felix Posen Bibliographic Project on Antisemitism

Works published throughout the world about antisemitism -- books, dissertations, master's theses, and articles from periodicals and collections.

Historical Abstracts

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Jewish Encyclopedia

Complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between1901-1906

JSTOR

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers. For comparisons between Lexis-Nexis Academic and Factiva see http://firestone.princeton.edu/econlib/universe.html.

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies

Index to journal and newspaper articles, books, and web sites on the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage is from 1900 to the present and includes the following fields: politics, law, international relations, economics, literature, religion, arts, anthropology, history and archaeology. The database includes the catalogue of the School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS), a major collection in London

MLA International Bibliography

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

Online Treasury of Talmudic Manuscripts. Jewish National and University Library, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

Includes images of major Talmudic manuscripts from libraries around the world. The manuscripts are entirely in Hebrew and Aramaic.

PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service

Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

Princeton Geniza Project

Transcriptions of documents found in the Geniza Chamber of the Ben Ezra Synagogue in Cairo. The archive is primarily based on the Taylor-Schechter Collection held at Cambridge University Library, but also includes documents from other collections.

Project Muse

Full-text articles from more than 100 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences

ProQuest Research Library

Abstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers for information on a broad range of subjects.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Covers all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. If related to music, works in other fields, such as literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics are included.

Wilson OmniFile

Multi-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing. Consists of databases for scholarly sources in agriculture, applied science and technology, art, biology, business, education, general science, humanities, law, library and information science, social sciences, as well as popular appeal titles.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Provides citations and abstracts of the international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. It also covers such areas as international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public policy. Provides references to reliable websites.

Subject Librarian(s)

Weinberger, James

 (609) 258-3279
Firestone B-15-P

Research Help