LGBT Studies

Core Resources

Archives of Sexuality & Gender

Brings together primary source content on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/Aids crisis, and more.

GenderWatch 1970+

Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

LGBT Life with Full Text Early 1950s+

Broad coverage of the world's LGBTQ literature, for both academic & lifestyle publications. Covers the full run of 190 of the most important & historically significant journals, magazines, and regional newspapers, both mainstream and grey, and more than 330 books & reference works. Topics include sociology, culture, civil liberties, individual lives, family, community, employment, history, politics, psychology, and religion.

LGBT Studies in Video 1966+

A cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This collection features documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.

LGBT Thought and Culture

Includes books, periodicals and archival materials which document LGBT political, and social, and cultural  movements from the early twentieth century until the present as well memoirs, biographies, fiction and other creative works which reveal the personal experience of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals. 

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Online 1995+

International abstracting service on women's studies. The major focus is on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender roles, social policy, biography,literary criticism and historical studies.

Supplementary Resources

Alt-Press Watch

Full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from alternative and independent presses.

Alternative and Underground Press: Popular Culture in Britain and America

Digital collection of Alternative and Underground Press publications focused on Vietnam, women's rights, sexual liberation and civil rights in Britain and America.

Contemporary Women's Issues (RDS)

Articles from journals, newsletters, proceedings, pamphlets, book and media reviews and more about global women's issues.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Journal articles and essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Global Health Database

International public health database providing abstracts to literature about healthcare, biomedical life sciences, sexual and reproductive health, communicable and non-communicable diseases, environmental health, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene . Covers English and foreign language journals, books, reports, patents, dissertations and conference proceedings.

Social Issues Primary Source Collections

Primary source documents focusing on leading social issues for the environment; gender issues and sexuality; human and civil rights; and medicine, health, and bioethics.

Social Protest Collection: Popular Culture in Britain and America

Digital reproductions of mateirals held in the Social Protest Collection  of the Bancroft Library at the Unviersity of California consisting of pamphlets, leaflets, flyers, posters, and other ephemera focusing on the Vietnam War and Civil Rights. Also includes material on Black Power, the women’s movement, lesbian and gay rights, Third World issues, political documentation from the Left and Right, campus labour disputes and the movement against nuclear power and weaponry.

ViVa Bibliography of Women's History

Provides access to articles about women's and gender history from more than hundred European, American and Indian historical and women's studies journals.

Subject Librarian(s)

Sara Howard

Librarian for Reference & Research Services and Gender & Sexuality Studies
609-258-4043
Floor 2 6C.2
Firestone Library