Linguistics

Core Resources

Linguistic Bibliography Online

Covers all disciplines of theoretical linguistics, both general and language specific, from all geographical areas, including less-known and extinct languages, with particular attention to the many endangered languages of the world.

Linguistics Abstracts Online 1985+

More than 15,000 abstracts from nearly 300 linguistics journals published since 1985.

Oxford Bibliographies: Linguistics

Annotated bibliographies of the most recent and authoritative linguistics scholarship.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts 1973+

Indexes journals covering all aspects of the study of languages, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics

Includes 850 entries of articles on most areas of linguistics, including historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics.

Bibliography of Linguistic Literature - Bibliographie Linguistischer Literatur 1971+

Provides citations to journal articles, articles of conference proceedings, and other collective works as well as to monographs, dissertations, and Festschriften in general linguistics and all its sub-disciplines.

Supplementary Resources

Anthropology Plus

Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK.

corpus.byu.edu

Online interface to the linguistic corpora created and maintained at Brigham Young University, including the Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA) and Global Web-Based English (GloWbE). For access, Princeton affiliates must first create a user profile.

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics

This 2nd edition is much revised and updated. Covers most of the new areas of the fast developing field of linguistics in addition to the traditional ones. Recent developments in the study of individual languages are covered as is the development of new technologies in the increasingly interdisciplinary fields of language and linguistics research.

Enhanced Electronic Grammars Online

Enables queries of grammatical features across a variety of languages.

Ethnologue: Languages of the World

Reference database profiling all of the world’s known living languages. Also see Ethnologue Global Dataset (19th ed.).

Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online

Lexicon of the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European, including Latin, Greek, Slavic, Proto-Celtic, Old Frisian, Armenian, Hittite, Luvian, the Iranian verb and Proto-Nostratic. (Proto-Germanic and Persian are forthcoming)

Linguistic Data Consortium

Major repository and distribution point for language resources, including linguistic corpora. To become a user of the LDC, please fill out the registration form (in the "Organization" box, type PRI to see the Princeton University option in the pull-down). Once you've registered, Princeton's Organization Administrator will upgrade your status to "user" so that you can request the downloading of corpora as well as gain access to the resources of "LDC Online."

MIT's CogNet Library

Full Text access to MIT books, journals, reference works and conference materials in cognitive and brain science.

MLA International Bibliography

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

Oxford English Dictionary: OED Online

Considered the most authoritative and comprehensive English language dictionary in the world. Includes information on the English language, its history, and the social, cultural, and political influences that have shaped the language through the centuries.  Includes Historical Thesaurus.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.

Treasury of Linguistic Maps

Selection of linguistic maps published by De Gruyter.

Web of Science (ISI)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

WordNet

Princeton hosted database of English nouns, verbs, adjectives and adverbs grouped into sets of cognitive synonyms (synsets), each expressing a distinct concept.

Subject Librarian(s)

David Jenkins

Librarian, Classics, Hellenic Studies, and Linguistics
609-258-5811
Floor 1 6G.2
Firestone Library