Materials Science

Core Resources

Materials Research Society (MRS) Online Proceedings Library 1998+

The online library contains the full text of peer reviewed papers presented at MRS Spring and Fall meetings which report on fundamental and emerging research areas in materials science. Proceedings papers can be sorted by meeting or topic, and are fully searchable.

MATERIALSnetBASE

Collection of handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and treatises covering the theory, data, and processes shaping diverse materials applications.

Material ConneXion

Includes over 1,500 materials and processes. The database allows you to discover the latest and most exciting materials originating from a large spectrum of industries, typically unnoticed or difficult to reach by the design community. All the materials are juried into the database by a panel of material specialists and knowledgeable professionals. Covers current industrial manufacturing products, processes, and processed raw materials. Historical products or companies are not covered. As subscribers to Material Connexion, all Princeton affiliates have unlimited access to the Material Library in New York City.

METADEX

Includes journal articles, conference papers, trade publications, magazines, books, patents and technical reports related to processing, properties, testing, analysis and applications of metals, steels, alloys, compounds and metal matrix composites.

ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center

Provides access to more than 30,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data.

Phase Equilibria Diagrams for Ceramic Systems

High-quality phase diagram data from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and The American Ceramic Society (ACerS). Includes evaluated phase diagrams of ceramic systems specifically addressing oxides, salts, carbides, nitrides, boride, compound semiconductors and chalcogenides. New diagrams (labeled as volume 15) include oxide as well as non-oxide systems such as chalcogenides and pnictides, phosphates, salt systems, and mixed systems of these various ceramic materials classes.

ICSD Web 1913+

Comprehensive database of inorganic crystal structures. Contains records for elements, and binary, ternary, quaternary and quintenary compounds. Over 70% have been assigned a structure type, and the remainder are prototypes. Detailed searching forms for chemistry, symmetry, structure type, etc. are available, as well as analysis of large, complex data sets.

MatWeb

Searchable database of material properties including data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics, plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

Supplementary Resources

Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate

General science and technology articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere; non-English language articles are included if English abstracts are provided.

CHEMnetBASE

Consists of several chemical data handbooks from Chapman & Hall/CRC.

Compendex (EI Compendex Plus)

Extensive bibliographic database of engineering research. Indexes journal papers and conference proceedings. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

EngNetBase

ENGnetBase contains the full text of engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.

Gmelin CrossFire (incorporated into Reaxys)

Detailed index covering organic and inorganic chemistry. Includes patents. Provides access to chemical reactions and physical, chemical and bioactivity data

Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (CRC)

Wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds.

INSPEC

Major bibliographic database concentrating on physics, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, computer and control systems, and manufacturing, production engineering, and information technology.

KnowItAll U spectra database

Offers access to the KnowItAll U reference collection of over 1.3 million spectra including structures and chemical property information; includes IR, UV/Vis, NMR, Raman and mass spectra.  ATTENTION KnowItALL Desktop Software Users:  Please update your license at https://kiarasql.informatics.bio-rad.com/KIARA/Forms/KnowItAllU/extend.jsp?code=HM6faMJ0OgJf6Xaf6qcq00aMf60cHOXPHcHfcq6XQJqOHqJXc6OOQcMPOMJEOHqaQEJJqac9cE9EacX0OaJ9aqf6PaOaX6QPJE6Jgf0qEQHJfEcHJP60E0PafMfO9fEaaHJPOMPgqaPHac6MM9qJEMJEaQPqgHgMEHXEMXJXOPJHcaX9M9PMfMOf9f996EH9JEc99OJa9McfXffEXHO9OQMq6EPM0aPXHJaH9fPcfPQQqEEgP9J9qHEgc6P6aQfq

KnowItAll U spectra database

Offers access to the KnowItAll U reference collection of over 1.3 million spectra including structures and chemical property information; includes IR, UV/Vis, NMR, Raman and mass spectra.  ATTENTION KnowItALL Desktop Software Users:  Please update your license at https://kiarasql.informatics.bio-rad.com/KIARA/Forms/KnowItAllU/extend.jsp?code=HM6faMJ0OgJf6Xaf6qcq00aMf60cHOXPHcHfcq6XQJqOHqJXc6OOQcMPOMJEOHqaQEJJqac9cE9EacX0OaJ9aqf6PaOaX6QPJE6Jgf0qEQHJfEcHJP60E0PafMfO9fEaaHJPOMPgqaPHac6MM9qJEMJEaQPqgHgMEHXEMXJXOPJHcaX9M9PMfMOf9f996EH9JEc99OJa9McfXffEXHO9OQMq6EPM0aPXHJaH9fPcfPQQqEEgP9J9qHEgc6P6aQfq

NTIS

Source for accessing unclassified reports from U.S. and international government agencies. Provides access to over two million critical citations from government departments such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Defense.

Patent Sources

Patents, many in full text, from many issuing agencies are available free on the web.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.

SciTech Connect

Energy related full text technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data information from the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Office of Scienctific and Technical Information  and predecessor agencies the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Includes publicly available energy and energy related literature in the disciplines of biology, chemistry, engineering, environmental sciences, fission and nuclear technologies, fossil fuels, geosciences, materials, mathematics, computing, physics and more.

Scopus

International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970.

SPIE Digital Library

Extensive resource of information on optics and photonics, providing full-text access to technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings.

Web of Science (ISI)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

Subject Librarian(s)

Willow Dressel

Librarian Engineering Library
609-258-6567
107
Engineering Library