Mathematics

Core Resources

MathSciNet 1941+

Bibliographic database with reviews of journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research

Zentralblatt MATH (ZBMath) 1868+

Previously known as Zentralblatt fur Mathematik and Ihre Grenzgebiete (1931-present). Comprehensive abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics.   Covers all available published and refereed articles, books, conferences as well as other publication formats documents from more than 3,500 journals and 1,100 serials and covers the period from 1868 to present by the recent integration of the Jahrbuch uber die Fortschritte der Mathematik  (1868-1942) database.

Current Index to Statistics 1975+

Bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from 162 core journals (as of 2003) that are fully indexed, non-core journals from which articles are selected that have statistical content, proceedings and edited books, and other sources.

arXiv.org e-Print archive 1992+

Electronic preprint (e-print) service in the fields of physics, astrophysics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.

Web of Science (ISI) Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+).

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.

Supplementary Resources

Distributed Digital Library of Mathematical Monographs Collection

Contains the full text of over 500 mathematics books with expired copyrights. The full text of the Cornell collection as well as the full text from the University of Michigan and Gottingen collections may be searched using 2 search interfaces: Cornell's Distributed Digital Library of Mathematical Monographs Collection and the Multi-Repository Mathematics Collections from the University of Michigan.

Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences, 2nd ed.

Online edition that corresponds to 16 volumes of the print reference. Valuable tool for research and work in areas of probability theory, biostatistics, quality control, and economics. Emphasis on applications of statistical methods in sociology, engineering, computer science, biomedicine, psychology and survey methodology.

JSTOR

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

Lecture Notes in Mathematics

Reports on new developments in all areas of mathematics and their applications. The type of material considered for publication includes: 1. Research monographs 2. Lectures on a new field or presentations of a new angle in a classical field 3. Summer schools and intensive courses on topics of current research. Online full text is available for volumes published since 2000, starting with LNM 1750.

Subject Librarian(s)

Holmquist, Jane

 (609) 258-3150
Lewis Library Room 210

Research Help