Modern European History

Core Resources

Historical Abstracts with Full Text 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Bibliography of British and Irish History 1900+

Authoritative guide to what has been written about British and Irish history from the Roman period to the present day. The bibliography is hosted by the Institute of Historical Research.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Illustrated collection of over 57,000 authoritative biographies of people who shaped the history of Great Britain, from the 4th century BC to those who have died in the previous few years.

Supplementary Resources

19th Century British Pamphlets

Collection of British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries.

AM explorer

Search engine to Adam Matthew archival materals.

Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online

Overview of the political history of the Middle East in the 20th Century, based on primary source documents from the British national archives. Documents the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender

Brings together primary source content on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/Aids crisis, and more.

Bases de Datos Bibliográficas del CSIC

Indexing of journals and conference papers published in Spain in a wide variety of disciplines in the humanities, social, life, and physical sciences. A subset of the database, ISOC-America Latina, indexes 20 Spanish journals dedicated to Latin American topics.

Brill: Books Sales Catalogues Online

Digital edition of book sales catalogues printed in the Dutch Republic before 1801.

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries

Includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in diaries and letters.

British History Online

Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.

British Online Archives

Provides online access to several collections on the history of the Atlantic world, from British archives.

British Periodicals

Searchable full-text and page images of several hundred British periodicals, primarily from the 19th century.

Calendar of State Papers

Digital edition of the printed index and calendar of the British State Papers, 1547-1775.

Cecil Papers

Consists principally of the correspondence of William Cecil, Lord Burghley (1520-1598) and his son, Robert, the 1st Earl of Salisbury (1563-1612). Also included is a digitized version of the Calendar of the Manuscripts of the Marquess of Salisbury.

Chatham House Online Archive

Digital archive of a premier think-tank on international affairs and global policy covering a wide range of topics and all major world regions. Content includes briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers, and monographs, as well as audio recordings (with searchable transcripts) of key figures in international affairs. Also includes access to the full text of Chatham House’s two flagship publications: International Affairs and The World Today.

Churchill Archive

Online version of the archive at Churchill College, Cambridge. Comprises nearly 800,000 documents amassed by Winston S. Churchill throughout his life.

Colonial America

Digital edition of the documents in Colonial Office (CO) 5 at the UK National Archives. Consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies. Modules 1-3 covering 1606-1822 are available.

Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945

Digital collection of British Foreign Office documents from FO371, the National Archives of the UK. Describes political conditions, resistance to the German occupation, economic and social conditions and intelligence operations.

Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961

Reproduces records relating to Canada, the Caribbean and the US from the British Foreign and Colonial Offices in the UK National Archives.

Defining Gender, 1450-1910

Wide range of original sources including ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature.

Documents on British Policy Overseas

Digital edition of material from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, documenting British foreign policy from the mid-19th century to the 1970's. Based on the printed editions.

Early English Books Online

 Contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700.  Based upon the Pollard and Redgrave Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and the Wing Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700).

Early European Books

Traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the 17th century, offering full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Partially searchable digital images of books, primarily British, printed in the eighteenth century. Based on the Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue.  Also see the alternative interface Artemis Primary Sources that allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. 

Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship and the Stage

Collection of plays presented in England between 1737-1824, along with censor’s remarks, correspondence between key theatrical figures, biographical information, portraits, advertisements, historical information and the companion texts, The London Stage 1660-1800, A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers & Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660-1800.  Includes visual materials such as portraits of actors, scenery designs, and playbills; diaries; financial records; and a database of all known performances with casts, from 1600-1800.

Eighteenth Century Journals

Digital edition of journals and newspapers published between 1685-1815 in England, Scotland, Ireland, Jamaica, and British India.

Electronic Enlightenment

Cross-searchable digital critical edition of 18th century correspondence.

English Reports, Full Reprint 1220-1865 (Hein Online)

Search or browse all 176 volumes of the English Reports, Full Reprint along with its \Index of Cases\ and \Index Chart.\ This collection encompasses the decisions of the English Courts prior to the commencement of the Law Reports in 1865.

English Short Title Catalog (ESTC)

Imprints before 1800 from Britain and its dependencies.

First World War

Primary sources on the First World War, including published and unpublished personal accounts, visual materials and ephemera, and official documents on the war and the home front.

Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981

Documents from Great Britain's Foreign & Commonwealth Office, Prime Minister's Office, and Defence Intelligence files relating to Israel, Palestine, Turkey, Egypt, Syria, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, and other Middle East nations. Includes correspondence, minutes, reports and newspaper cuttings from the period prior to the 1973 Arab-Israeli ("Yom Kippur") War and its effect on global industry, political relations and social stability.  Also provides in-depth coverage of separate conflicts in Cyprus, internal and external political relationships, and details about military exports.

Francis (International coverage of the Humanities and Social Sciences.)

Citations and abstracts to articles in multiple languages in the humanities and social sciences. Online version of Bulletin Signaletique, published by the Centre Nationale de la Recherche Scientifique (C.N.R.S.).

Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online

Major source for the study of women's history in the world, especially feminism and the movement for women's rights. The collection includes the full text of books, pamphlets and periodicals spanning four centuries and 15 languages.

Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online

Major source for the study of women's history in the world, especially feminism and the movement for women's rights. The collection includes the full text of books, pamphlets and periodicals spanning four centuries and 15 languages.

Illustrated London News Archive

Full text searchable digital edition of the Illustrated London News.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS

Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

Jahresberichte fur Deutsche Geschichte

Searchable digital edition of the printed Jahresberichte, a bibliography of writings (journal articles and monographs) on German history since 500 C.E.

John Johnson Collection: An Archive of Printed Ephemera

Digital edition of the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera at the Bodleian. Includes posters, broadsides, pamphlets and printed advertisements illustrating everyday life in 18th, 19th and early 20th century Britain.

Justis UK Legislation

Provides searchable full-text access to UK Statutes back to 1235, Statutory Instruments back to 1671, Local Acts back to 1797, and a collection of Private Acts back to 1539. Some material is provided in PDF format.

Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism

Films, travel journals, periodicals, leaflets, corporate records, guidebooks, maps and images chronicling the rise of tourism in the 19th and 20th centuries.  Explores themes of leisure, race, technology, and culture.

LILACS

Literature related to the health sciences published in Latin America.

Literary Print Culture: The Stationer's Company Archive, 1554-2007

Provides the records of The Stationers’ Company Archive dating from 1554 to the 20th century. The Stationers’ Company was a key agent in the process by which the book trade was regulated and monitored and thus it is widely regarded as one of the most important sources for studying the history of the book, publishing history, the history of copyright and the workings of an early London Livery Company.

London Low Life

Full-text searchable resource, containing color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.

Macmillan Cabinet Papers

Digital edition of documents from the UK National Archives, covering the years when Macmillan was Prime Minister.

Making of Modern Law Digital Archive (Legal Treatises 1800-1926)

Digital library of works from the 19th and early 20th centuries on British Commonwealth and American law. Includes treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches.

Making of the Modern World Digital Archive

Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books on that document economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

Mass Observation Online

The Mass Observation project recorded the views and experiences of ordinary Britons from 1937 into the early 1960s. The archive is a rich source of information about Britain before, during and after World War II, and about changes in attitudes to many topics in social and economic life.

Migration to New Worlds

Showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Includes Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolors, and oral histories supplemented by carefully selected secondary research aids.

Nationalsozialismus, Holocaust, Widerstand und Exil 1933-1945

Collection of primary sources on the history of the National Socialist state, Nazi ideology, and the Third Reich, from the perspective of both supporters and opponents of the regime. Includes administrative records, personal writings, propaganda, and biographical and reference sources. Note: most sources are in German.

Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers Digital Archive

Digital archive of newspapers from the British Library. Provides a representative selection of papers from 19th century Britain and includes national, regional and local newspapers from England, Scotland, Ireland & Wales.

Nineteenth Century Masterfile

Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.

Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalog

NSTC is an index of all printed works published in Britain, its colonies and the United States of America, all printed works in English wherever published, and all translations from English.

Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive

Digital collection of British magazines published in the 19th century. Series 1 "New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humour and Leisure/Sports" and Series 2 "Empire" are currently available.

Oral History Online

Provides indexing, plus some full text, for English-language oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. Primarily covers 20th-century America, but there is some content for other times and places.

Oral History Online

Provides indexing, plus some full text, for English-language oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. Primarily covers 20th-century America, but there is some content for other times and places.

Palmer's Full Text Online & Index to the Times

Digital edition of Palmer's index to the Times of London. Also includes full text for 1800 to 1870. For complete full text (1785-1985), see Times (London) Digital Archive.

PARLIT

Indexes books and articles on parliamentary law and practice.

Periodicals Archive Online

Index to millions of articles published in 4,547 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the collections, British Periodicals and Periodicals Archive Online I-V, which provide searchable full-text and page images of hundreds of periodicals, primarily from the 19th century.

Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile, and Resettlement, 1945-1950

Digital collection of material from the Wiener Library and the UK National Archives on refugees and resettlement of displaced persons in Europe in the aftermath of World War II.

Pravda Digital Archive

Official newspaper of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation.

Proceedings of the Old Bailey London

Fully searchable online edition of the periodical Proceedings of the Old Bailey, containing accounts of over 100,000 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.

ProQuest History

Combines various historical databases from ProQuest.

Readex AllSearch

Search engine to Readex products.

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers

Digital edition of newspapers from the Burney Collection at the British Library. Most are London newspapers of the 17th and 18th centuries, but there are also pamphlets and broadsides.

Sixteenth Century Pamphlets Online/Flugschriften Online

Digital facsimiles of early modern pamphlets in European collections.

Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online

Searches thousands of private writings and personal narratives ranging from the 1550’s to the 21st century. Includes material found in the collections North American Women's Letters and Diaries; British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries; North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories; The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries; Black Thought and Culture; Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society.  

State Papers Online: Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe

Digital edition of manuscript British state documents of the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries. Combines State Papers Domestic, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Foreign with the Registers of the Privy Council. Comprises two subcollections: State Papers Online, 1509-1714 and State Papers Online, 18th Century.

Testaments to the Holocaust Digital Archive

Digital edition of material from the Wiener Library collection of eyewitness accounts, photographs, propaganda, and printed material documenting Jewish life in Germany from 1933 to after the war.

Times (London) Digital Archive 1785 - 2012

Full text searchable digital edition of the London Times.  Also see the Sunday Times Digital Archive (1822-2006).

U.K. Parliamentary Papers

Includes the  House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688 and the House of Lords Papers from 1715-1910. Includes searchable full text and subject indexing. The Parliamentary Papers are an essential primary source for Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy.

USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive

More than 53,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide.  The interviews have been conducted in 63 countries and 40 languages. Each collection adds context for the others, providing multiple pathways to learn from the eyewitnesses of history across time, locations, cultures and sociopolitical circumstances. 

Victorian Popular Culture

Contains a wide range of source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930. Coverage includes spiritualism, sensation and magic; circuses, sideshows and freaks; and music halls; theater and popular entertainment.

Virginia Company Archives

Digital edition of the papers of the Virginia Company of London (Ferrar Papers), now at Magdalene College, Cambridge.

Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900

Subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 50,000 publications, 48,000 personal names, 4,572 issuing bodies and 756 subjects.

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900

Indexes 43 Victorian periodicals by author, subject, and book review.

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820

Contains primary source documents written by women in response to imperialism, colonialism, missionary work, Native American affairs, and war.

World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions

World's fairs showcased the newest ideas and inventions on a global stage, and are valuable for interdisciplinary research.  Includes documents from over 200 fairs covering 1851-2015, including governmental records of early financial appeals, international diplomatic documents, minutes and correspondence of fair committees, plans and design concepts, contemporary ephemera (tickets, pamphlets, posters), personal accounts, and official guidebooks. Includes in-depth case studies.

Subject Librarian(s)

Alain St. Pierre

Librarian for History, History of Science and African Studies
609-258-2964
Floor 1 6F.4
Firestone Library