You are here

Philosophy

Core Resources

Philosopher's Index 1940+

Citations to articles and books in all areas of philosophy. Most comprehensive philosophy database.

PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online

Extensive index of philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers in all areas of philosophy, with a significant number of open access articles.

Philosophy Research Index

Indexes philosophy books and journals in multiple languages from 1400-present.

Philosophy Compass 2006+

Peer-reviewed survey articles on contemporary work in philosophy.

Philosophy Documentation Center Collection (POIESIS) 1998+

Provides searchable full-text articles from over 50 philosophy journals.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd ed.

Provides extensive articles with bibliographies on all areas of philosophy.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Provides full-text articles with current bibliographies on virtually every aspect of philosophy. Updated quarterly

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Provides full-text articles with current bibliographies on many topics of philosophy.

Blackwell Reference Online: Philosophy

Provides searchable full text of over 75 reference works in philosophy, including the complete Blackwell Companions and Guides to philosophy.

Cambridge Collections Online

Searchable full text access to the complete Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, and classics.

Oxford Reference Online: Philosophy

Searchable access to the Oxford Companion to Philosophy and The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Detailed guides to a wide variety of disciplines.

Oxford Scholarship Online: Philosophy

Searchable full text of many Oxford University Press philosophy titles.

Past Masters

Searchable full-text works in several languages from major philosophers and theologians.

Supplementary Resources

L'Annee Philologique

Main index to the scholarship of classical studies published in all languages in both books and journals.

Library of Latin Texts - Series A

Texts of Latin literature spanning the Classical, Patristic, Medieval, and Neo-Latin periods.

National Archive of Dissertations

Access to bibliographic information and often full-text content of dissertations from Greek universities and Greek students studying abroad.

Oxford Classical Dictionary

One-volume encyclopedia to all aspects of classical antiquity. 4th ed. 2012.

Perseus Digital Library

Texts of the major Greek and Latin authors linked to dictionaries, English translations and commentaries.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)

Texts of Greek literature from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Constantinople (1453 CE).

Subject Librarian(s)

Bivens-Tatum, Wayne

 (609) 258-6367
Firestone Library A-11-JA

Research Help