You are here

Physics

Core Resources

INSPEC 1896+

Major bibliographic database concentrating on physics, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, computer and control systems, and manufacturing, production engineering, and information technology.

Web of Science (ISI) Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), Arts and Humanities (1975+), Conference Proceedings (1990+)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

AIP Conference Proceedings 1970+

Collection of conference proceedings presented at physics related meetings around the world. The database search includes full text for conferences from 1970 to present.

arXiv.org e-Print archive 1992+

Electronic preprint (e-print) service in the fields of physics, astrophysics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.

PROLA

Full-text journal article and bibliographic database that indexes all APS journal material published from 1893 to present.

Encyclopedia of Applied Physics

Comprehensive coverage of specific topics such as: optics, laser physics, solid state and semiconductor physics, atom and nuclear physics, and biophysics. Searchable by subject, article and keyword.

Supplementary Resources

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts Full Text

General science and technology articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere; non-English language articles are included if English abstracts are provided.

Astrophysics Data System (NASA)

Funded by NASA, ADS maintains 3 bibliographic databases - Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics and Geophysics, and ArXiv Preprints - containing more than 8.5 million records, and digital scans of archival materials.

EI Compendex Plus

Extensive bibliographic database of engineering research. Indexes journal papers and conference proceedings. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

Einstein Archives Online

Online access to Albert Einstein's manuscripts held by the Einstein Archives at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and to an extensive Archival Database, digitized manuscripts, and finding aids.

Environment Complete

Covers policy issues in a broad range of environmental topics. US and international journals indexed. Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine and freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Formerly known as Environmental Knowledgebase OnLine. 

IEEE Xplore

Full text of all IEEE (institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) journals and conferences back to 1988 with select content back to 1893.

INSPIRE: HEP Search (High-Energy Physics Literature Database)

More than 500,000 high-energy physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses, comprehensively indexed by the SLAC and DESY libraries since 1974.

KnowItAll U spectra database

Offers access to the KnowItAll U reference collection of over 1.3 million spectra including structures and chemical property information; includes IR, UV/Vis, NMR, Raman and mass spectra.  ATTENTION KnowItALL Desktop Software Users:  Please update your license at https://kiarasql.informatics.bio-rad.com/KIARA/Forms/KnowItAllU/extend.j...

Landolt Bornstein, New Series, Group I: Elementary Particles, Nuclei and Atoms

Numerical data and functional relationships in science and technology from Group I of multi-volume treatise

Landolt-Bornstein, New Series, Group II: Molecules and Radicals

Group II includes structure and molecular constants, acoustical and optical properties, magnetic properties and reaction kinetics

Landolt-Bornstein, New Series, Group III: Condensed Matter

Group III includes crystallography, structure and morphology of organics and inorganics, phase and surface data, electronic, magnetic, optical and electrical properties, atomic defects, and spectroscopic methods

Landolt-Bornstein, New Series, Group IV: Physical Chemistry

Group IV includes densities of liquid systems, diffusion in gases, liquids and electrolytes, surface tension, viscosity and dielectic constants of pure and binary liquid systems, elecrochemistry, and multiple thermodynamic properties or pure organic/inorganic compounds, mixtures, gases, alloys and microporous structures, e.g. zeolites

Landolt-Bornstein, New Series, Group V: Geophysics

Group V includes global climate, geophysics of the solid earth, the moon and the planets, meteorology, oceanography, physical properties of rocks

Landolt-Bornstein, New Series, Group VI: Astronomy and Astrophysics

Group VI includes astronomical instruments, position and time determination, astronomical constants, abundances of the elements in the universe, the solar system, the stars, special types of stars, star clusters and associations, the stellar system, and galaxies.

Landolt-Bornstein, New Series, Group VII: Biophysics

Group VII includes data and functional relationships of nucleic acids and proteins

Landolt-Bornstein, New Series, Group VIII: Advanced Materials and Techologies

Group VIII includes energy technologies, laser physics and applications, materials, physical properties of liquid crystals and radiological protection

Materials Research Society (MRS) Online Proceedings Library

The online library contains the full text of peer reviewed papers presented at MRS Spring and Fall meetings which report on fundamental and emerging research areas in materials science. Proceedings papers can be sorted by meeting or topic, and are fully searchable.

NIST atomic spectra database

Contains data for radiative transitions and energy levels in atoms and atomic ions.

NTIS

Source for accessing unclassified reports from U.S. and international government agencies. Provides access to over two million critical citations from government departments such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Defense.

PHYSICSnetBASE

Unified e-library from CRC Press offers e-books on topics ranging from astrophysics to quantum physics, materials science, to optoelectronics.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

Safari Tech Books Online

Collection of information technology and programming books, mostly published by O'Reilly which allows searching for code examples and specific technical information

Subject Librarian(s)

Holmquist, Jane

 609-258-3150
210
Lewis Library

Research Help