Politics

Core Resources

Politics Data Sources

Gateway to the data collections at Princeton University, including crime, elections, public opinion, population, social, and economic data.

International Political Science Abstracts 1951+

Abstracts in English or French to articles selected from over 1,000 international journals. Topics covered include political science method and theory, political thinkers and ideas, governmental and administrative institutions, political process, international relations, and national and area studies

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 1975+

Provides citations and abstracts of the international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. It also covers such areas as international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public policy. Provides references to reliable websites.

Annual Review of Political Science 1998+

Comprehensive review of the literature in political science. Can help students identify major tends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of politics.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS 1951+

Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

PAIS International

Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

Supplementary Resources

AccessUN (Readex United Nations Index)

Comprehensive commercial index to United Nations parliamentary & working documents, monographic publications, & serial titles.

Almanac of Federal PACs

Guide to political action committees.

America: History and Life

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

American FactFinder

Provides access to U.S. decennial census data, the American Community Survey (ACS), population estimates and more.

American Foreign Relations Since 1600

Definitive annotated bibliography on U.S. foreign relations.

Armed Conflict Database

Figures and summary narratives on both international and internal armed conflicts in the world, whether dormant or active, since about 1960. Focus is on wars, terrorism, refugees and returnees, Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs), fatalities, specific weapons used and their flows, and economic costs. Covers non state parties.

Chatham House Online Archive

Digital archive of a premier think-tank on international affairs and global policy covering a wide range of topics and all major world regions. Content includes briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers, and monographs, as well as audio recordings (with searchable transcripts) of key figures in international affairs. Also includes access to the full text of Chatham House’s two flagship publications: International Affairs and The World Today.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Aggregates research in international affairs. Publishes a wide range of scholarship, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.

Communication Abstracts

Abstracting and indexing of communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books. Includes literature in other disciplines relevant to communication researchers including film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Combines CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. Offers full-text coverage for more than 200 titles plus citation coverage for many more.

CQ Congress Collection

Find Congressional roll call votes by topic, session, or CQ key vote; view and compare members of Congress by biographical and demographic characteristics; compare members’ voting records; view interest group scores of members; and see Supreme Court case summaries relating to the structure and powers of Congress. Data can be exported to Excel.

CQ Electronic Library

Collection of online encyclopedias and guides, periodicals, directories, and databases covering American politics and Congress. Notable entries include CQ Researcher, CQ Weekly, CQ Almanac, Guide to Congress, Vital Statistics on American Politics, Congressional Staff Directory, and databases of Congressional votes and US elections.

CQ LawTrack

Shows how legislation, both past and pending, affect existing U.S. laws. Links the text of a bill to the section of the code or public law it did/would modify, making it easier to track changes in the law. You can browse by U.S. Code section, by Public Law number, or Act name to view a list of modifying legislation with links to the exact changes made/proposed.

CQ Political MoneyLine

Provides data and reports for analyzing the flow of money through the U.S. political system. Provides campaign donation data dating to the 1979-80 election cycle and lobbying data from 1999. Track contributions from individual donors, associations, corporations, lobbyists, PACs, 527s and other sources, as well as candidate disbursement details.

CQ State Stats

Collection of more than 2,000 current and historical data series allowing comparison and ranking of US states on a variety of topics. View data as graphs, charts, or tables, all of which can be easily exported; export an entire series by saving an item to the Data Cart. Most series cover mid-1990s to present.

CQ Voting and Elections Collection

Integrates authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a powerful research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships. Access and download results for presidential elections (back to 1789), congressional elections (House back to 1822 and Senate back to 1908), and gubernatorial elections (back to 1824).

CQ.com

Combines extensive reporting on Congress with legislative tracking and detailed coverage of Congressional Committees, all open markups, and hearings. Also provides access to a wide variety of congressional and related documents, including Congressional Research Service reports (back to 1978), bill text, witness statements, member profiles, Congressional press releases, GAO reports, and more. Most coverage goes back to 1994.

Criminal Justice Abstracts

Comprehensive coverage of the major journals, books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies in criminology and related disciplines. Topics include crime trends, prevention projects, corrections, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Provides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, and political indicators. Includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade (1980+), Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics. Data is also accessible through Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference

Declassified Documents Reference Service

Indexing and full text access to a rich collection of declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others covering events following Word War II. Some specialized collection are contained in Archives Unbound.

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)

Department of Defense's central resource for citations and/or full text of journal articles, technical reports, and other DoD- and government-funded publications about military and naval science, operational warfare, joint planning, and many other defense-related topics. Collections include Scientific & Technical Reports of DoD-funded R&D (mid-1900s+), Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP, 1988+), and Staff College Automated Military Periodicals Index (SCAMPI, 1985+).

Digital National Security Archive

Access to a wealth of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Divided into various core collections; each contains a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters, and other secret material.

Documents on British Policy Overseas

Digital edition of material from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, documenting British foreign policy from the mid-19th century to the 1970's. Based on the printed editions.

EconLit

Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

EIU Country Profiles and Reports

Background reports covering economic, political, and social conditions of countries.

Europa World Plus

Online version of the Europa World Year Book and the 9-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. Current surveys of countries and territories, covering such topics as government, political organizations, diplomatic representation, religion, media, finance, trade, industry, transport, and tourism. Also provides basic country data and a comparative statistics feature. Essays analyze key issues for each region, and there is directory information for international and regional organizations, as well as research institutes. Links to archives of previous years' content, back to 2006.

FACTS.com

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

Translation service of the U.S. Government, usually attributed to the Central Intelligence Agency. It covered political, military, economic, environmental and sociological news and commentary, as well as scientific and technical information.

Foreign Law Guide

Bibliography of sources of foreign law organized by country. Each entry contains a brief description of the country's legal system with citations to primary sources of law both in print and electronic versions when available. At the end of each entry is a list of subject headings with citations to the relevant laws or statutes.

Gallup Analytics

Analyze, visualize, and export data from Gallup's U.S. Daily tracking and World Poll surveys. U.S. tracks economic, wellbeing, and political data collected daily since 2008. It can be analyzed daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annually as well as by state and Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA). World Poll data covers more than 80 metrics from 160+ countries collected since 2005. Does not include access to microdata.

Global Development Finance

World Bank tracking of the annual movement of international capital flows to developing countries.

Historic Documents Online Edition

Online compilation of excerpts from key historic documents. Documents selected range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. Excerpts are preceded by a thorough introductions that seek to put the documents into historical context. Search by keyword, or browse by date and topic. Provides references to the full documents for further research.

Historical Abstracts

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition

Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

Homeland Security Digital Library

Over 98,500 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.

Human Rights Documents Online

Includes human rights documents collected by the Human Rights Internet (HRI) in Ottawa, Canada since 1980.    The documents have been published  by hundreds of non-governmental human rights organizations (NGOs) throughout the world.  HDRO will be updated regularly.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Combination of International Index, Social Sciences & Humanities Index, Humanities Index, and Social Science Index

ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature

Citations of known published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive.

Index to Current Urban Documents

Access to full text PDF reports and documents generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in approximately 500 selected cities in the United States and Canada. Earlier documents are available on microfiche.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences

Aims to capture the \state of the art\ of the social and behavioral sciences, expanding its focus to include related biological fields, such as evolutionary science, genetics, cognitive neuroscience, psychiatry, and health. Topics include anthropology, archaeology, demography, economics, education, geography, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, and sociology.

International Historical Statistics

Collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. Includes data collected between 1750-2010.  Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.  Also know as the B.R. Mitchell books.

International Strategic Analysis Reports & Forecasts

Current international market analysis, country and regional intelligence, risk, and economic forecasting.

ipoll databank (Roper)

Comprehensive, up-to-date source for national public opinion. The database is a full-text retrieval system updated daily and organized at the question-level, providing tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935.

Jane's Online

International security information concerning such topics as terrorism, weapons of mass destruction, reports on military readiness and capabilities of individual countries, the global defense industry, etc.

Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS)

English-language archive of U.S. government translations of foreign scientific, technical, and social science monographs, reports, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts. Companion to Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports. Content is being added in waves.

JOLIS

LAPOP - Latin American Public Opinion Project

Databases of public opinion information about political viewpoints across Latin America. Includes America's Barometer.

LegislatiOnline

Provides access to international norms & standards relating to specific human dimension issues as well as to domestic legislation and other documents of relevance to these issues.

Lexis-Nexis State Capital

Comprehensive database for state-level government research. Provides access to bills, laws, constitutions, proposed and enacted regulations, and legislature membership.

Marcive Web DOCS

Online catalog of U.S. government publications dating back to mid-1976. Direct links to documents on the web are provided. Many of the documents are available in the U.S. Documents Collection in Firestone

Meet the Press

The full surviving broadcast run of "Meet the Press" to date—available in one cross-searchable interface.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service

Federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. The database contains summaries of more than 180,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports; books; research reports; journal articles; and unpublished research. Links to several full text documents (1995 forward) are also available

National Journal

NationalJournal.com

Provides comprehensive politics and policy information including the National Journal, Almanac of American Politics, Markup Reports, Congress Daily and Poll Track.

OECD iLibrary

Statistics as well as full-text books, periodicals, and working papers published by the OECD and the International Energy Agency.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: International Relations

Annotated bibliographies to some of the most important and most recent scholarship on various aspects of international relations.

Oxford Constitutions of the World

English translations of the constitutions of most countries of the world, territories, and dependencies.  The constitutions are accompanied by individual commentaries and supplementary materials, including foundation documents, historical constitutions, and amendment Acts/laws, and a collection of scholarly monographs.   Includes the states and territories of the United States.

Oxford Scholarship Online: Political Science

Searchable full text of many Oxford University Press politics titles.

PolicyFile

Draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Covers all aspects of public policy.

Polling the Nations

Compilation of public opinion surveys conducted in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each record includes the question asked and the responses given, the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and the groups or areas included in the interview.

Proquest Congressional

Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings:  Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916 to the present, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+.

ProQuest Legislative Insight

Extensive compilation of legislative histories of U.S. public laws enacted from 1929-present used to discover the legislative intent behind a specific law. Histories include the full text of the public law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, prints, presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and other miscellaneous congressional publications. All documents are full-text, searchable PDFs.

ProQuest Statistical Insight

Indexes statistical publications issued by (1) the U.S. government (ASI; 2004+ full text); (2) international & intergovernmental sources (IIS; 2007+ select full text); and state governments and private sources (SRI). Most sources are available in microfiche. 

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Provides full-text articles with current bibliographies on virtually every aspect of philosophy. Updated quarterly

Scopus

International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+

Social Explorer

Allows user to visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports.

Social Sciences Full Text

General index to the literature of the social sciences including economics, politics, law, education, labor, and sociology.

State Department Background Notes

Factual publications prepared by the staff of the U.S. State Department that contain information on all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations. Each report contains information about the country's people, history, government, political conditions, economy, foreign relations, relations with the U.S., travel, and business. These reports are updated periodically.

StratFor

Short for Strategic Forecasting this service provides up-to-date geopolitical analysis and forecasts focused on international political, economic and security issues.

Treaties and International Agreements Online

Database published by Oceana includes the full-text (and where available, PDF versions) of U.S. treaties since 1778. It is searchable full-text, by subject, by country and other options, and also includes an extensive collection of tax treaties, including non-U.S. tax treaties.

 

U.S. Congressional Documents (Hein Online)

Digital access to Congressional Record (Bound and Daily), Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, Congressional Globe, American State Papers, Journals of the Continental Congress, and Territorial Papers of the United States. "Daily-to-Bound Locator" provides citation to Bound version from the Daily Congressional Record. Also includes smaller works including Journal of William Maclay, Diplomatic Correspondence of the American Revolution, James Madison's Notes of Debates in the Federal Convention of 1787, Administrative Conferences of the United States, Legislation of Congress for the Government of the Organized Territories of the United States, B.F. Steven's Facsimiles of Manuscripts in European Archives Relating to America, 1773-1783.

U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009

Contains full-text documents from U.S. intelligence agencies covering the Middle East and North Africa from the end of WWII to 2009.   Includes CIA reports and briefings.
Note: Select ‘this collection only’ to limit search to this resource.

U.S. International Trade Library

Provides documents and publications related to the exchange of goods and services between the United States and other nations, as well as the history of Section 337 of the Tariff Act of 1930. Includes legislative histories, official texts of trade agreements, reports from the US International Trade Commission, and Section 337 investigations.

Voxgov

Provides access to real-time documents, publications, press releases, and social media posts from all branches, offices, agencies, and elected officials of the U.S. Federal Government. Extensive search and filtering options; most content is from 2000-present.

Web of Science (ISI)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

World Development Indicators

Includes annual economic, social, educational, environmental and health data from many of the World Bank's major statistical publications.

World Factbook

Annual publication of the Central Intelligence Agency provides profiles of countries throughout the world. Each profile begins with a brief historical background and includes information about geography, population, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.

World News Connection

Foreign News Alert Service from the U.S. Government. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, focusing especially on local media sources. Covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.

World News Connection (Eastview)

Foreign News Alert Service from the U.S. Government. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, focusing especially on local media sources. Covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.

1995+. (For earlier years see Foreign Broadcast Information Service.)

Subject Librarian(s)

Darrington, Jeremy

 (609) 258-3209
Firestone A-10-JB

Research Help