Population Research

Core Resources

Popline 1970+

Index to worldwide information about migration, contraceptive methods, demography, family planning, maternal and child health, human fertility, population law and policy, sexually transmitted diseases, vital statistics, etc. Covers journal articles, books, government publications, and technical reports.

PopIndex

Annotated bibliography of global demographic and population literature. Covers books, journal articles, working papers, doctoral dissertations and machine-readable data files. 1935-1999 available in JSTOR.

Census of Population and Housing 1790+

Digital version of the United States Census of Population and Housing.

World Population Prospects 1950-2100.

Demographic indicators including measures of fertility, life expectancy, migration, and measures of the impact of HIV/AIDS.

International Historical Statistics

Collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. Includes data collected between 1750-2010.  Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.  Also know as the B.R. Mitchell books.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Colonial Period to 2000

Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

Social Explorer 1790+

Allows user to visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports.

Sociological Abstracts 1952+

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.

SocINDEX with Full Text 1895+

Coverage of sociology journals, books, and conference proceedings, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Encyclopedia of Population 2003

300+ signed articles on demographic and related topics

Supplementary Resources

American FactFinder

Provides access to U.S. decennial census data, the American Community Survey (ACS), population estimates and more.

Cochrane Library

Collection of evidence-based medicine databases covering the effects of interventions in health care. Published quarterly. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews; Cochrane Methodology Register; Health Technology Assessment Database; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.

Encyclopedia of American Immigration

Covers social, legal, political, economic, and demographic factors of American immigration from early settlements to the present. Includes major immigrant groups.

Global Health Database

International public health database providing abstracts to literature about healthcare, biomedical life sciences, sexual and reproductive health, communicable and non-communicable diseases, environmental health, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene . Covers English and foreign language journals, books, reports, patents, dissertations and conference proceedings.

International Population Census Microfilm

Lists holdings by country and year, but not the specific tables available. Under Collection Title select International Population Census Publications. Enter country in the Full Text box.

  • Post-1967 Guide includes detailed listing of the available tables for each census. Search by clicking on the binoculars and entering the country name or other search term.
  • 1945-1967 Guide includes detailed listing of the available tables for each census. Search by clicking on the binoculars and entering the country name or other search term.
  • For pre-1945, use the International Population Census Bibliography, University of Texas at Austin: Bureau of Business Research 1965-1968. Call number: SPIA Reference Z7164 .D3 T45, v.1-6;suppl.

MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)

National Library of Medicine's database of biomedical journal literature providing access to information on the following: population and reproductive biology, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, the preclinical sciences, and allied health. Coverage is worldwide with an emphasis on English-language peer reviewed journals.

Passport GMID (Euromonitor)

Provides international demographic, macro-economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries. Covers economic indicators, population trends, consumer and lifestyle information, country infrastructure, environment and more.

ProQuest Statistical Insight

Indexes statistical publications issued by (1) the U.S. government (ASI; 2004+ full text); (2) international & intergovernmental sources (IIS; 2007+ select full text); and state governments and private sources (SRI). Most sources are available in microfiche. 

PubMed

Database of biomedical journal literature providing access to information on population and reproductive biology, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, the preclinical sciences, and allied health. Worldwide coverage with an emphasis on English-language peer reviewed journals. Includes in-process records not yet added to Medline (Silverplatter), some out-of-scope citations, and some that precede the date a journal was selected for Medline indexing.

Medline (PubMed)

Service of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles.

World Development Indicators

Includes annual economic, social, educational, environmental and health data from many of the World Bank's major statistical publications.

Subject Librarian(s)

Broch, Elana

 (609) 258-5517
Stokes Library

Donatiello, Joann

 (609) 258-1377
Stokes Library

Research Help