Public Policy

Core Resources

PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service 1915+

Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 1975+

Provides citations and abstracts of the international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. It also covers such areas as international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public policy. Provides references to reliable websites.

PolicyFile 1990+

Draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Covers all aspects of public policy.

CQ Press Library

Collection of online encyclopedias and guides, periodicals, directories, and databases covering American politics and Congress. Notable entries include CQ Researcher, CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly), CQ Almanac, Guide to Congress, Vital Statistics on American Politics, and databases of Congressional votes and US elections.

Proquest Congressional 1789+

Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings:  Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916+, Bills & Laws 1789+, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+.  Also includes Executive Branch Documents 1789-1939 and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789+.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers. 

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) 1991+

Aggregates research in international affairs. Publishes a wide range of scholarship, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.

U.S. Congressional Research Digital Collection 1916+

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports.

EIU Country Profiles and Reports 1996+

Background reports covering economic, political, and social conditions of countries.  For 1952-1995, use the EIU Country Reports Archive.

Supplementary Resources

60 Minutes: 1997-2014

Videos from the CBS television program "60 Minutes".

Armed Conflict Database

Figures and summary narratives on both international and internal armed conflicts in the world, whether dormant or active, since about 1960. Focus is on wars, terrorism, refugees and returnees, Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs), fatalities, specific weapons used and their flows, and economic costs. Covers non state parties.

BMI Research

Provides market research reports on 24 industries and 200 global markets, emphasizing emerging markets. Includes extensive economic and political risk ratings and analysis, and macroeconomic analysis and forecasts.

Chatham House Online Archive

Digital archive of a premier think-tank on international affairs and global policy covering a wide range of topics and all major world regions. Content includes briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers, and monographs, as well as audio recordings (with searchable transcripts) of key figures in international affairs. Also includes access to the full text of Chatham House’s two flagship publications: International Affairs and The World Today.

CQ Congress Collection

Find Congressional roll call votes by topic, session, or CQ key vote; view and compare members of Congress by biographical and demographic characteristics; compare members’ voting records; view interest group scores of members; and see Supreme Court case summaries relating to the structure and powers of Congress. Data can be exported to Excel.

CQ Voting and Elections Collection

Integrates authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a powerful research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships. Access and download results for presidential elections (back to 1789), congressional elections (House back to 1822 and Senate back to 1908), and gubernatorial elections (back to 1824).

CQ.com

Combines extensive reporting on Congress with legislative tracking and detailed coverage of Congressional Committees, all open markups, and hearings. Also provides access to a wide variety of congressional and related documents, including Congressional Research Service reports (back to 1978), bill text, witness statements, member profiles, Congressional press releases, GAO reports, and more. Most coverage goes back to 1994.

EconLit

Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Archive

For 1996+, see EIU Country Profiles and Reports.

Environment Complete

Covers policy issues in a broad range of environmental topics. US and international journals indexed. Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine and freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Formerly known as Environmental Knowledgebase OnLine. 

Europa World of Learning

Includes information on institutions of higher education and learning around the world. Covers universities, colleges, schools of art and music, libraries, learned societies, research institutes, museums and art galleries.

fdiMarkets.com Library -- Crossborder Investment Monitor

Cross border foreign direct investment data by project and company.

Gallup Analytics

Analyze, visualize, and export data from Gallup's U.S. Daily tracking and World Poll surveys. U.S. tracks economic, wellbeing, and political data collected daily since 2008. It can be analyzed daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annually as well as by state and Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA). World Poll data covers more than 80 metrics from 160+ countries collected since 2005. Does not include access to microdata.

Homeland Security Digital Library

Over 98,500 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.

Human Rights Documents Online

Includes human rights documents collected by the Human Rights Internet (HRI) in Ottawa, Canada since 1980.    The documents have been published  by hundreds of non-governmental human rights organizations (NGOs) throughout the world.  HDRO will be updated regularly.

Human Rights Studies Online

Database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials.

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

World's largest archive of digital social science data.

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center

Offers comprehensive coverage of security & counter-terrorism issues.  Content includes full text articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and background information summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.

Jane's Online

International security information concerning such topics as terrorism, weapons of mass destruction, reports on military readiness and capabilities of individual countries, the global defense industry, etc. Includes Terrorism and Insurgency Centre; Defence News; Security News; and World Defence Industry.

Lexis-Nexis State Capital

Comprehensive database for state-level government research. Provides access to bills, laws, constitutions, proposed and enacted regulations, and legislature membership.

Medline (PubMed)

Service of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles.

Meet the Press

The full surviving broadcast run of "Meet the Press" to date—available in one cross-searchable interface.

NationalJournal.com

Provides comprehensive politics and policy information including the National Journal, Almanac of American Politics, Markup Reports, Congress Daily and Poll Track.

News, Policy and Politics Magazine Archive

Consists of the backfile of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. Covers history, political science, law and economics

POLITICO Pro

POLITICO Pro provides real-time policy reporting in 16 policy areas: Agriculture, Budget & Appropriations, Campaigns, Cybersecurity, Defense, Education, eHealth, Energy, Financial Services, Health Care, Labor & Employment, Tax, Technology, Trade, Transportation, and Transition 2017.

Polling the Nations

Compilation of public opinion surveys conducted in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each record includes the question asked and the responses given, the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and the groups or areas included in the interview.

Proquest Congressional U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection

Collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress. Includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress.

Refworld

Full-text searchable documents covering national legislation on issues pertaining to asylum and statelessness, international and national jurisprudence, maps of countries of origin and of transit. Also contains UNHCR's library catalogue, which contains references to books, refugee magazines, articles and conference reports.

Sage Research Methods

A cross-disciplinary research methods tool.  It provides full access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference materials, and videos about research design, specific methods, conducting research, and writing about research results.  Along with many other titles, it includes the full-text of SAGE’s Little Green Books and Little Blue Books.

Sage Stats

Collection of more than 2,000 current and historical data series allowing comparison and ranking of US states on a variety of topics. View data as graphs, charts, or tables, all of which can be easily exported; export an entire series by saving an item to the Data Cart. Most series cover mid-1990s to present.

Social Science Research Network

Abstracts and select full text of select scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers in economics, business, and law.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Coverage of sociology journals, books, and conference proceedings, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

StratFor

Short for Strategic Forecasting this service provides up-to-date geopolitical analysis and forecasts focused on international political, economic and security issues.

TRAC: Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium

Profiles of nearly 4000 terrorist groups, including the group's tactics, targets, ideology, associated groups, leaders, theater of operation, links to other resources, and links to TRAC analyses of incidents and events. Also serves as a clearinghouse of news and analysis (both text and video) on terrorist groups with continuous monitoring of unfolding events. Content can be browsed by ideology, tactics, target, group, or region.

UN iLibrary

Brings together United Nations publications on a broad range of social and economic topics, usually covering a number of countries and with significant statistical content.  Publications from about the last decade are included.  Although the intention is to provide full text in pdf format for all titles, this is an ongoing project and full text is not yet included for some titles listed.

Urban Land Institute Development Case Studies

Case studies on real estate development.

Voxgov

Provides access to real-time documents, publications, press releases, and social media posts from all branches, offices, agencies, and elected officials of the U.S. Federal Government. Extensive search and filtering options; most content is from 2000-present.

Web of Science (ISI)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

WestlawNext Campus Research

Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations. Documents can also be accessed through broad subject categories such as Civil Rights, International Law and Environmental Law.