Rare Books

Core Resources

Early European Books

Traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the 17th century, offering full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.

ECCO

Partially searchable digital images of books, primarily British, printed in the eighteenth century. Based on the Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue.  Also see the alternative interface Artemis Primary Sources that allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. 

EEBO

 Contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700.  Based upon the Pollard and Redgrave Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and the Wing Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700).

New Catalog

Search tool covering the collections of Princeton University Library. 

Princeton University Digital Library

The Princeton University Digital Library (PUDL) is a collection of high-resolution digital images of selected materials from Princeton University Library. The materials have been chosen to serve the research and teaching needs of the Princeton University community and to showcase the distinctive collections of the Princeton University Library.

SCIPIO: Art and Rare Books Sales Catalogs

Describes art auction and rare book catalogs for sales from the late sixteenth century to scheduled auctions, not yet held. Records include the dates and places of sales, the auction houses, sellers, institutional holdings, and titles of works.

Rarebooks.info

Bibliography of works on rare books available for consultation. Comprises over 600,000 pages of key out-of-print bibliographies that can be browsed online.

Subject Librarian(s)

Stephen Ferguson

Acting Associate University Librarian for Rare Books and Special Collections
609-258-3165
Floor C 13J
Firestone Library