You are here

Religion

Core Resources

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials 1949+

Citations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals.

Index Islamicus 1906+

Indexes literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.

Index of Articles on Jewish Studies 1985+

Indexes articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of the land of Israel. Covers articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages.

Religious & Theological Abstracts 1958+

Provides abstracts of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology.

Encyclopedia of Religion

Provides articles with bibliographies on every aspect of religion. The second edition of the classic Encyclopedia of Religion.

Oxford Reference Online: Religion

Searchable access to the following reference titles from Oxford University Press: A Dictionary of the Bible, The Oxford Companion to the Bible, The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible, A Dictionary of Buddhism, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion, The Oxford Companion to Philosophy, The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy, The Oxford Dictionary of Popes, The Oxford Dictionary of Saints, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions.

Blackwell Reference Online: Religion

Provides searchable full text of 30 Blackwell Companions to topics in religion.

Oxford Biblical Studies Online

Several Oxford Bibles along with Biblical reference works, commentary, and annotations from various Oxford study Bibles.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Collection of English-language reference resources on the Islamic world, including the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, and two translations of the Qur'an. Also includes a timeline of Islamic events and a date converter for the Christian and Islamic calendars.

Oxford Scholarship Online: Religion

Searchable full text of many Oxford University Press religion titles.

Religion Compass

Peer-reviewed survey articles on religion.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Detailed guides to a wide variety of disciplines.

Supplementary Resources

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)

Records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages. Includes chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc.

Cambridge Collections Online

Searchable full text access to the complete Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, and classics.

Catholic Periodical & Literature Index

Citations and abstracts to books, articles, and other material about Roman Catholicism published by Catholics or in Catholic publications.

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an

Comprehensive encyclopedia of terms, concepts, persons, history, and exegesis of the Qur'an, with bibliographies and numerous cross-references

Encyclopedia Judaica

Articles on all aspects of the Jewish life, including religion, history, politics, culture, the Holocaust, Jewish arts and literature, Jews in America, and more. Composed of complete text of the 16-volume 1972 print edition, eight year books, and two decennial volumes.

Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online

Covers of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest form to the present day, including Hebrew linguistics, general linguistics, Biblical studies, Hebrew and Jewish literature, and related fields.  Full-text searching using the Hebrew character set is available.   

Encyclopedia of Islam

Comprehensive information on the world of Islam in disciplines ranging from religion and history to politics and culture with a geographic and chronological scope encompassing the early Arab-Islamic Empire, Iran, Central Asia, the Indian subcontinent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all modern Islamic states.

Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures

Provides extensive information on women in the historical and contemporary Islamic world.

Index of Christian Art

Archive of medieval art, recording works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400.

Index Religiosus: International Bibliography of Theology, Church History and Religious Studies

An electronic index combining the print Revue d’histoire ecclésiastique and the Elenchus Bibliographicus from the journal Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses. Provides citations to hundreds of journals in “Theology and Canon Law, History of Theology, History of Religions, Old and New Testaments, Fundamental and Dogmatic Theology, Sacramentology and Liturgy, Moral and Pastoral Theology, Canon Law,” and all aspects of Church History.

Jewish Encyclopedia

Complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between1901-1906

L'Annee Philologique

Main index to the scholarship of classical studies published in all languages in both books and journals.

Library of Latin Texts - Series A

Texts of Latin literature spanning the Classical, Patristic, Medieval, and Neo-Latin periods.

National Archive of Dissertations

Access to bibliographic information and often full-text content of dissertations from Greek universities and Greek students studying abroad.

New Catholic Encyclopedia

Provides extensive coverage of all aspects of Catholicism.

Past Masters

Searchable full-text works in several languages from major philosophers and theologians.

TBRC Digital Library: Core Text Collections

Provides digitized copies of a range of Tibetan texts from the Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center.

Wilson OmniFile

Multi-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing. Consists of databases for scholarly sources in agriculture, applied science and technology, art, biology, business, education, general science, humanities, law, library and information science, social sciences, as well as popular appeal titles.

World Christian Database

Contains statistical information on world religions, Christian denominations, and people groups.

World Religion Database

Contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world.

Subject Librarian(s)

Bivens-Tatum, Wayne

 (609) 258-6367
Firestone Library A-11-JA

Research Help