You are here

Slavic/E.European/Eurasian Studies

Core Resources

East View Universal Databases 1980+

Provides access to journal articles, news articles, government reports, and other material from the post-Soviet period. Provides access in Russian or English. Searches submitted in English will yield results in English. Searches in Russian may be conducted using a drop-down keyboard or using Library of Congress Transliteration. Individual titles currently held in electronic format only may be browsed and searched.

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)

Covers North American scholarship on East-Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. Provides access to journal articles, chapter titles, miscellaneous papers, etc. published in the U.S.

Universal Database of Statistics 1900+

Statistical publications from Russia and the Commonwealth of Independent States.

Central and Eastern European Online Library

Provides access to full text PDF articles from over 200 humanities and social science journals, electronic books and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics.

Engineering Collection (ProQuest)

Includes the following databases: Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering, Biotechnology and BioEngineering Abstracts, Biotechnology Research Abstracts, Civil Engineering Abstracts, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts.

Supplementary Resources

EBSCO Academic Search

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals

EconLit

Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

eHRAF Collection of Ethnography

Full-text ethnography materials of the world's cultures. At present, eHRAF indexes only 60 cultures, so for comprehensive treatment of world cultures use the HRAF microfiche collection in Microform Services (Microfiche 285). The collection of ethnography was produced on microfiche from 1950 to 1993. Two guides to the microfiche, Outline of World Cultures and Outline of Cultural Materials are available in Microforms Services (FilmB) GN345.3 .M87 1983.

Environment Complete

Covers policy issues in a broad range of environmental topics. US and international journals indexed. Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine and freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Formerly known as Environmental Knowledgebase OnLine. 

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

Translation service of the U.S. Government, usually attributed to the Central Intelligence Agency. It covered political, military, economic, environmental and sociological news and commentary, as well as scientific and technical information.

Historical Abstracts

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Izvestiia Digital Archive

Kremlin's newspaper of record. Full-image with text. The convenience of browsing full pages is similar to working with print originals, allowing users to browse, search and focus on graphic images and text.

Jewish Theater Under Stalinism

The collection of archival documents from the Russian State Archive of Literature and Art (RGALI) contains unique material on Jewish avant-garde art, Stalin's repressions, and the history of Soviet culture and theater. This material, which is in Yiddish, Hebrew, Russian, English, French, and other European languages, allows us not only to further our knowledge of Yiddish theater and Jewish culture in the Soviet Union, but also to deepen and revise our understanding of the Kremlin's policy toward Jewish society and culture, and of the realia of the everyday life of Jews in the 1920s-40s. The collection of archival documents from the Russian State Archive of Literature and Art (RGALI) contains unique material on Jewish avant-garde art, Stalin's repressions, and the history of Soviet culture and theater. This material, which is in Yiddish, Hebrew, Russian, English, French, and other European languages, allows us not only to further our knowledge of Yiddish theater and Jewish culture in the Soviet Union, but also to deepen and revise our understanding of the Kremlin's policy toward Jewish society and culture, and of the realia of the everyday life of Jews in the 1920s-40s.

JSTOR

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers. For comparisons between Lexis-Nexis Academic and Factiva see http://firestone.princeton.edu/econlib/universe.html.

MLA International Bibliography

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service

Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

Pravda Digital Archive

Official newspaper of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

ProQuest Research Library

Abstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers for information on a broad range of subjects.

Screen and Stage: The Russian Cinematographic and Theater Press

Provides access to a unique collection of late 19th and early 20th century Russian theater and film periodicals, which also includes material on other forms of entertainment and mass culture in pre-revolutionary Russia. The files are available in PDF as well as Déjà vu format.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Coverage of sociology journals, books, and conference proceedings, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Soviet Cinema Online: Periodicals and Newspapers, 1918-1942

Includes Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s, reflecting the most interesting and fertile period in the history of Russian film. These publications are largely absent from book collections in the West, and are now presented for the first time as a large, complete set. They shed light on the production side of Soviet cinematography, as well as on the theoretical and practical concepts developed by the period's leading directors and critics.

Universal Database of Russian Islamic Studies

Comprised of a collection of journals and newspapers on Islam, published in Russia, in the Russian language. Produced in Moscow, Nizhnii Novgorod and Makhachkala, these publications cover issues of Islamic studies in Russia, activities of Islamic organizations in Russia and abroad, political and economic developments in the Muslim regions of Russia.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Provides citations and abstracts of the international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. It also covers such areas as international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public policy. Provides references to reliable websites.

Subject Librarian(s)

Keenan, Thomas

 (609) 258-3592
Firestone B-9-P

Research Help