Sociology

Core Resources

Sociological Abstracts 1952+

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers over 1,800 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.

SocINDEX with Full Text 1895+

Coverage of sociology journals, books, and conference proceedings, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS 1951+

Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

Annual Review of Sociology 1975+

Comprehensive review of the literature in sociology. Identifies major tends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of sociology.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender

Brings together primary source content on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/Aids crisis, and more.

Web of Science (ISI) Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), Arts and Humanities (1975+), Conference Proceedings (1990+)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

Scopus 1996+

International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970.

Supplementary Resources

African American Communities

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995

Online collection of academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other diverse periodicals.

Alcohol Studies Database

Contains citations indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies since 1987. Primary focus is on research & professional materials dealing with beverage alcohol, its use and related consequences. While a growing amount of literature on other drug use/abuse has been added in recent years, this material represents only a small percentage of the database and is not indexed to the same depth as the alcohol literature.

America: History and Life with Full Text

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Armed Conflict Database

Figures and summary narratives on both international and internal armed conflicts in the world, whether dormant or active, since about 1960. Focus is on wars, terrorism, refugees and returnees, Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs), fatalities, specific weapons used and their flows, and economic costs. Covers non state parties.

Asia-Studies Full-text Online

Database for the study of modern Asia-Pacific. As the exclusive licensee for the region's most prestigious research institutions, Asia-Studies.com brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 55 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

Citations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals.

Chicano Database

Comprehensive bibliographic index of all topics related to Mexican-Americans. Since 1992, the database has expanded its scope to include the broader experience of the Latin American diaspora, including Puerto Ricans, Cubans, Dominicans, Central Americans, and immigrants from other Latin American nationalities.

CPANDA's Literature Database

Citations to selected monographs, serials, reports, papers, proceedings, articles and books relevant to arts and cultural policy studies.  For citations, 2012+ use NADAC.

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)

Department of Defense's central resource for citations and/or full text of journal articles, technical reports, and other DoD- and government-funded publications about military and naval science, operational warfare, joint planning, and many other defense-related topics. Collections include Scientific & Technical Reports of DoD-funded R&D (mid-1900s+), Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP, 1988+), and Staff College Automated Military Periodicals Index (SCAMPI, 1985+).

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text)

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.

EconLit

Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

Education Full Text

Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Cover-to cover indexing, abstracts, and full text from hundreds of journals covering such topics as: comparative education, competency-based education, higher education, literacy standards, prayer in public schools, student counseling, teaching methods and evaluation, and dozens more.

ERIC (EBSC0)

Complete bibliography of education materials featuring published and unpublished sources of thousands of educational topics, with information from the Resources in Education and Current Index to Journals in Education. A very well designed thesaurus and identifiers facilitate use of this product.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

GenderWatch

Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition

Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

HistoryMakers

Oral history interviews with more than 1,600 historically significant African Americans in fields such as the arts, business, education, entertainment, the law, the military, politics, religion, and science.

Human Rights Studies Online

Database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials.

ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature

Citations of known published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive.

International Index to Black Periodicals

Current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts for over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the United States, Africa, and the Caribbean.

International Strategic Analysis Reports & Forecasts

Current international market analysis, country and regional intelligence, risk, and economic forecasting.

JSTOR

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.  Also includes full text of many Princeton University Press books as well as books in Classics from many university presses.

LGBT Life with Full Text

Broad coverage of the world's LGBTQ literature, for both academic & lifestyle publications. Covers the full run of 190 of the most important & historically significant journals, magazines, and regional newspapers, both mainstream and grey, and more than 330 books & reference works. Topics include sociology, culture, civil liberties, individual lives, family, community, employment, history, politics, psychology, and religion.

Migration to New Worlds

Showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Includes Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolors, and oral histories supplemented by carefully selected secondary research aids.

MSCI ESG KLD Stats

Leading authority on socially conscious investment research.

Oxford Bibliographies: Sociology

Detailed guide to sociology.

PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service

Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

PsycINFO

Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

PubMed

Database of biomedical journal literature providing access to information on population and reproductive biology, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, the preclinical sciences, and allied health. Worldwide coverage with an emphasis on English-language peer reviewed journals. Includes in-process records not yet added to Medline (EbscoHost), some out-of-scope citations, and some that precede the date a journal was selected for Medline indexing.

Service of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles.

Reveal Digital Independent Voices

Collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press from the 1960s, including feminists, anti-war groups, African-Americans, Native-Americans and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community.

Statista

Statistics portal that integrates facts from a wide range of sources categorized into industries, broad topics, countries, and digital markets. 

Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History

Brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century.

USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive

More than 53,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide.  The interviews have been conducted in 63 countries and 40 languages. Each collection adds context for the others, providing multiple pathways to learn from the eyewitnesses of history across time, locations, cultures and sociopolitical circumstances. 

Vogue Archive

Includes in full color every issue of American Vogue--including covers, images, advertisements and fold-outs--up to the present (with a time delay of a few months). For the latest issues online and in print, see the Library journal page. Offers unique search limits to reveal types of content, text or image-based, including lists of fashion items and company/brands associated with specific images.

Women and Social Movements in the United States

Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.

World Christian Database

Contains statistical information on world religions, Christian denominations, and people groups.

World Press Trends Database

Primary source of data on the newspaper industry world-wide. For each of more than 70 countries and territories, a broad range of annual data includes elements such as the number of titles and circulation, advertising costs and income, sales revenue, number of journalists and employees, salary costs, and costs for newsprint.

World Religion Database

Contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world.

World Tourism Organization Database

Fully cross-searchable portal of World Tourism Organization publications in their respective languages.

Subject Librarian(s)

Susan Bennett White

United Nations Librarian/Sociology Librarian
609-258-4814
Floor A 12J.1
Firestone Library