Special Collections

Core Resources

Princeton University Library Finding Aids

Provides access to finding aids or descriptive inventories for archival records and manuscript collections held within the University Library. Approximately 1,300 finding aids from the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections are now available online and include the Manuscripts Division, Public Policy Papers, and University Archives.

Catalog of Princeton University Senior Theses 1926+

List of theses written by seniors at Princeton University. Not all departments are represented. Use the Full display for complete location information.

Undergraduate Alumni Index, 1748-1920

Index for all undergraduate alumni from the Princeton classes of 1748 to 1920. There is some non-graduate information for individuals through the Class of 1947. Provides the name, class year, and graduation status of alumni, and note if photos or images of the individual exist. It also lists the number of the box in which biographical information can be found within the Undergraduate Alumni Files held at the Mudd Manuscript Library.

Undergraduate Alumni Index, 1921-2005

Index for undergraduate alumni from the classes of 1921 to 2005. Provides the name, class year, type of file available, and relevant box number for records found
in the Mudd Manuscript Library. Undergraduate records from this period are kept in 2 series: the Bureau of Alumni Records Public Information Files and the Dean of the College Undergraduate Academic Files.

Princeton Numismatic Collection database

Catalog of the coins, medals and tokens, paper money, casts, exonumia in Princeton's Numismatic Collection.

Princeton University Historical Audio-Visual Collection 1912-2000

Contains over 1,500 audio-visual items found within the University Archives.

Princeton University Historical Photograph Collection 1840s-1996

Contains descriptive information on over 20,000 photographs found within the University Archives Historical Photograph Collection.

Princeton Memorabilia Collection 1782-2000

Contains descriptive information on over 1,200 items found within the University Archives Memorabilia Collection.

Visuals Database for Graphic Arts

Includes prints, drawings, photographs, paintings, sculpture, and other non-book objects in the Princeton University Library collections.

Architectural Presentation Boards

Contains descriptive information on over 500 architectural presentation boards. Keyword searching retrieves a listing of boards that meet your criteria. Information returned will include a description of the board and the view depicted, and when available, the architect, architectural firm, and other contractor details. The boards typically include floor plans, artistic renderings, and campus footprints.

Faculty and Professional Staff Index, 1764-2006

Index for Faculty & Professional Research, Technical & Library Personnel files, 1764-2004. Contains the name, death date, departure date, and department for Princeton
University personnel. (Files for some trustees, administrators, and others may also be found.) Access to personnel files is governed by university policy.

Honorary Degree Index, 1748-2001

Lists honorary degree recipients for the years 1748-2001, the date the degree was awarded, the date of the individual's death (if known), the degree received, and the existence of an informational folder in the Honorary Degree Records the Mudd Manuscript Library.

Nassau Literary Magazine Index, 1842-1942

Nassau Literary Magazine was published on a bi-monthly, quarterly, and semi-annual basis. Contents include short stories, poems, political opinions, and various whimsical writings. Mudd Manuscript Library holds issues from 1842 to the present. This index was created during the magazine's centennial and indexes
through 1942 only. Entries are arranged as follows: name, author's class year, title, publication date, volume number, page number.

Princeton Alumni Weekly Memorial Index, 1894-2011

Covers all alumni for whom obituaries appeared in thePrinceton Alumni Weekly and its predecessor, the Alumni Princetonian, between April 1894 and July 2011. Includes some faculty and honorary class members.

Trustee Index, 1746-2001

Indexes the names of those who have served on the Princeton University Board of Trustees from 1746-2001. Contains dates and type of service, and Princeton class affiliation, if applicable, for each University trustee. Those trustees labeled as current were serving as of 2001.

Trustees Minutes, 1746-1894

Lists the general heading, specific subject heading, and the volume and page number for topics which may be found within the first 4 volumes of the minutes of the Board of Trustees (1746-1894). This information was collected from 2 volumes of indices created contemporaneously with the meeting minutes. Therefore, 18th and
19th-century spelling, terms, and usage have not been altered.

World War II Memorial Book

Provides the name, date and place of death, class year, and rank and branch of service for each Princeton student or alumnus who died in service to his country during the Second World War.

Research Help