Streaming Audio and Video

Core Resources

American Music

Streaming audio collection of songs and vocal / instrumental music from the United States representing a diverse range of Americans, both past and present. Addresses a variety of topics and cultures, and covers a wide range of styles and genres, particularly from popular, folk, and ethnic music, including African and Native American, bluegrass, blues, country, gospel, and rock music, jazz, and songs of war, protest, politics, and social movements.

Classical Music in Video

An expanding streaming video collection of classical music by orchestras, choirs, chamber ensembles, and solo musicians, in concert performances plus master classes and interviews with master teachers from around the world.

Classical Music Library

Provides a large and continually growing database of streamed classical music recordings originally issued on a wide variety of labels. Chronological coverage spans all periods from Gregorian chant to works by contemporary composers, with repertoire ranging from vocal and choral music, to solo instrumental, chamber, and orchestral compositions and opera.

Contemporary World Music

Streaming audio resource providing a blend of contemporary and traditional world music from every continent, including fusion, world beat, reggae, African and Bollywood film music, Arab swing and jazz, Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, gamelan, and more. 

Digital Concert Hall (Berlin Philharmonic)

The online, virtual concert venue of the Berlin Philharmonic (Berliner Philharmoniker), which offers live-streamed concert broadcasts from the Philharmonie in Berlin, a voluminous archive of past concerts ranging from 1966 to just a couple of weeks ago, and music-related documentaries and interviews.PLEASE NOTE: After clicking on the Access Resource button below, you will land on the front page of the Digital Concert Hall, which requires an additional log-in for already authenticated Princeton users to enter the Concert Hall. On your first visit, you must set up a personal account log-in with your e-mail address and a non-UNet password for this session and all future access. If you encounter an overlay on the home page reading “Princeton University: Just for you: Free access to the Berliner Philharmoniker's Digital Concert Hall,” click on the “Get free and easy access - just sign up” button. If this is your first visit to the Concert Hall, fill in the boxes and click on “Sign up.” If you have already registered, click on “Go to Login” and enter the e-mail address and password that you have already created--OR, close the overlay and click the gold LOGIN button at the upper right. Log out of the resource under “settings.” Note that at the present time, Princeton’s subscription allows five simultaneous users to access the concerts or other materials at one time. It is possible that you may be turned away from logging in if the maximum number of concurrent users is viewing.

Digital Theatre Plus

Recently launched, expanding streaming video resource divided into 5 categories: recent British theatrical productions (Shakespeare, classics, new writing, musicals, dance, and opera); making theater (creative, productive, and technical teams; the acting company; theater management; and filmed interviews with practitioners); study guides; teaching support; and collections (performances from the Gran Teatre de Liceu; Royal Opera House, Shakespeare's Globe, Broadway Digital Archive, and National Jewish Theater). 

DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)

Not-for-profit resource providing CD-quality streaming audio, complete original liner notes, and essays from independent recording labels and sound archives that include New World Records, CRI (Composers Recordings, Inc.), and other small producers and collections. The primary focus is on contemporary music compositions, but the catalog includes a diverse cross-section of music from the United States from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, and beyond.

Jazz Music Library

Large collection of streamed jazz recordings, covering major and secondary artists, ensembles, labels, and genres, ranging from historical recordings to musicians performing and recording today. Part of Alexander Street's Music Online. Updated regularly.

Medici.tv

Offers streaming classical music videos that include over 1,600 films as well as many events broadcast live, with replays available for several weeks after the live events. Content  includes music festivals (such as the Verbier, Salzburg, and Lucerne), concerts from baroque through contemporary music (Berlin,  New York Philharmonic orchestras, the Concertgebouw, Carnegie Hall recitals, etc.), operas (including Paris and La Scala), ballets, workshops and master classes with renowned artists (from Juilliard, Heidelberg and elsewhere), competitions (the Tchaikovsky from Moscow), documentaries, artist portraits, and archived performances.

Met Opera on Demand

Provides video and/or audio streaming access to over 500 productions from New York’s Metropolitan Opera, including recent high-definition videos from the Met’s Live in HD series, telecasts from the 1970s-2000s, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1936. New additions occur monthly.

Music & Performing Arts (Alexander Street)

Portal page from Alexander Street for all their streaming audio and video, full-text, and image resources in music and the performing arts to which Princeton subscribes. Includes    American, classical, popular, and world music, jazz, dance, theater, and film.

Music Industry Data

Licensed datasets from Billboard, the Official Charts Company (UK), GfK Entertainment (Germany), and many other international reporting agencies that chart & rank the sales of top recorded popular music albums & singles from the 1950s to current. Also provides streaming audio links to copyright-cleared sound samples for most cited tracks & albums, and links to articles in  popular music journals & on websites. Tools allow users to graph, analyze, compare, and contrast musical trends & interactions, and to extract & compare charting data for sound recording sales.

Naxos Music Library

Offers the world's largest online classical music library, with streaming access to more than 120,000 CDs of both the standard and rare repertoire in all genres. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogs plus the complete catalogs or selected titles from over 650 other recording labels, with more labels joining monthly. Also includes some jazz, world, and pop/rock music.

Naxos Music Library Jazz

Aimed at jazz music enthusiasts, provides an expanding, mixed selection of streamed recordings by over 32,000 artists from jazz legends to contemporary jazz on over 200 labels, including Blue Note Records, Warner, EMI, and Fantasy.

OntheBoards.tv

Offers streaming HD-quality full-length films of contemporary performance by some of today’s most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music, and “other forms that defy categorization.”

Opera in Video

Presents key performances from the operatic canon featuring world-class singers, conductors, and opera houses, captured on streaming video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

Smithsonian Global Sound is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. It includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.

Supplementary Resources

American Memory (Library of Congress)

Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

Dance in Video

Includes video dance productions and documentaries by performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and more.

Subject Librarian(s)

Darwin Scott

Mendel Music Librarian
609-258-4251
Mendel Music Library