You are here

Technical Reports & Grey Literature

Core Resources

AccessUN (Readex United Nations Index) 1945+

Comprehensive commercial index to United Nations parliamentary & working documents, monographic publications, & serial titles.

Agricola 1970+

Bibliographic citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and its cooperators.

arXiv.org e-Print archive 1992+

Electronic preprint (e-print) service in the fields of physics, astrophysics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.

Astrophysics Data System (NASA) 1975+

Funded by NASA, ADS maintains 3 bibliographic databases - Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics and Geophysics, and ArXiv Preprints - containing more than 8.5 million records, and digital scans of archival materials.

BIOSIS Previews: Biological Abstracts 1926+

With more than 13,000,000 records from publications in over 90 countries, Biosis Previews is the most comprehensive index of journals, meetings, conferences, and symposia in the life sciences. Although this is not a full-text article database, our PULinks system conveniently links you to the full-text

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) 1991+

Aggregates research in international affairs. Publishes a wide range of scholarship, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.

Compendex (EI Compendex Plus) 1884+

Extensive bibliographic database of engineering research. Indexes journal papers and conference proceedings. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

Conference Board Business Knowledge Research 1998+

Think tank research on economic, political, demographic, and technological developments that have a major impact on business management.

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts 1971+

Comprehensive authoritative coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. Indexes journals, conference proceedings, and research and technical reports. Includes reports of the Earthquake Engineering Research Center and Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center.

EconLit 1886+

Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

EIU Country Forecast 1996+

Forecasting reports of the regions of the world.

EIU Country Profiles and Reports 1996+

Background reports covering economic, political, and social conditions of countries.

SciTech Connect 1948+

Energy related full text technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data information from the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Office of Scienctific and Technical Information  and predecessor agencies the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Includes publicly available energy and energy related literature in the disciplines of biology, chemistry, engineering, environmental sciences, fission and nuclear technologies, fossil fuels, geosciences, materials, mathematics, computing, physics and more.

Environmental Impact Statements 1985+

Unified access to ~10,000 digests of environmental impact statements since 1985, and ~1,700 full text statements since 2003. It is expected to grow. Where biodiversity is an issue, there may also be a Species Impact Statement included. Major concerns are: transportation, defense, energy, hazardous substances, land use, parts & forests, urban & social programs, and water.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management 1967+

Compilation of 12 subfiles, including Water Resources Abstracts and Pollution Abstracts, containing journal articles and technical reports. They are searchable together or separately. There are simultaneously-performed searches on very current literature, and the Internet for websites.

GeoRef (ProQuest) 1785+ N. America; 1933+ Worldwide

Index to the international geological literature. Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and a wide variety of publications indexed by special bibliographies from international, national and regional geological surveys and societies.

IDEAS

Voluntary cooperative project that invites institutions to electronically submit working papers.

IEEE Xplore

Full text of all IEEE (institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) journals and conferences back to 1988 with select content back to 1893.

INSPEC 1896+

Major bibliographic database concentrating on physics, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, computer and control systems, and manufacturing, production engineering, and information technology.

INSPIRE: HEP Search (High-Energy Physics Literature Database) 1974+

More than 500,000 high-energy physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses, comprehensively indexed by the SLAC and DESY libraries since 1974.

International Strategic Analysis Reports & Forecasts

Current international market analysis, country and regional intelligence, risk, and economic forecasting.

Marcive Web DOCS 1976+

Online catalog of U.S. government publications dating back to mid-1976. Direct links to documents on the web are provided. Many of the documents are available in the U.S. Documents Collection in Firestone

Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (ProQuest) 1974+

Monitors 654 journals and conference proceedings, books technical reports, etc. for world's literature on climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography, environmental sciences, and air pollution..

NTIS

Source for accessing unclassified reports from U.S. and international government agencies. Provides access to over two million critical citations from government departments such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Defense.

NTRL

Historical and current unclassified government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service; includes many full-text documents from Department of Energy, NASA, and the Environmental Protection Agency.

Oceanic Abstracts 1981+

Covers worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish water environment. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aqua culture, non living resources, meteorology and geology, and environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Subjects include wave energy and tidal power.

PAIS International

Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

Plasma Physics Library Catalog (Princeton PPLCAT) 1986+

Database of bibliographic citations for technical reports, journal articles and some conference proceedings, in the fields of plasma physics and controlled nuclear fusion. Wide coverage of literature reported in technical reports issued by US and international laboratories and institutions involved in thermonuclear fusion research.

PolicyFile 1990+

Draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Covers all aspects of public policy.

Proquest Congressional 1789+

Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings:  Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916 to the present, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+.

PsycINFO 1800's+

Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

Rand Corporation Publications

RAND, a nonprofit public policy research institution, was established after World War II to study national security. Today it also examines domestic policy problems, national defense, education and training, health care, criminal and civil justice, labor and population, community development, international relations, and regional studies.

SciTech Connect 1948+

Energy related full text technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data information from the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Office of Scienctific and Technical Information  and predecessor agencies the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Includes publicly available energy and energy related literature in the disciplines of biology, chemistry, engineering, environmental sciences, fission and nuclear technologies, fossil fuels, geosciences, materials, mathematics, computing, physics and more.

Social Science Research Network

Abstracts and select full text of select scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers in economics, business, and law.

State Department Background Notes

Factual publications prepared by the staff of the U.S. State Department that contain information on all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations. Each report contains information about the country's people, history, government, political conditions, economy, foreign relations, relations with the U.S., travel, and business. These reports are updated periodically.

TRAIL

Digital library of U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976. Reports are scientific, agricultural or engineering in nature. Content available through Hathi Trust requires authentication for full-text download.

TRIS Online 1970+ (with selected prior coverage)

References to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles and on-going research in the field of transportation.

UNESCO Documentary Resources

Offers comprehensive access to the bibliographic records of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization documents, publications and periodicals as well as the full-text of out-of-print materials and a broad range of selected technical reports, articles and documents covering the Agency's work. Working papers, conference papers, reports: l995 to present. Resolutions and decisions: 1946 to present. Speeches of the Director-General: 1987 to present.

Water Resources Abstracts 1967+

One of 12 subfiles in the cluster that comprises the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management database. Covers scientific and technical world literature about water. The abstracts describe journal articles, books, conference papers, and technical reports, from the physical and life sciences as well as engineering, legal and government publications. [Known as Selected Water Resources Abstracts and was published by the USGS, the United States Geological Survey, until 1994.]

Research Help