You are here

United States Documents

Core Resources

Proquest Congressional 1789+

Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings:  Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916 to the present, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+.

Marcive Web DOCS 1976+

Online catalog of U.S. government publications dating back to mid-1976. Direct links to documents on the web are provided. Many of the documents are available in the U.S. Documents Collection in Firestone

Fdsys

Service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of information products produced by the Federal government, including Congressional bills, U.S. Code, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Record, GAO reports, Supreme Court decisions, and much more. Information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted.

Congress.gov. United States Legislative Information.

Free service of the Library of Congress. Provides the full text of House and Senate bills, bill summary and status reports, public laws, roll call votes, the Congressional Record, and Congressional committee reports. Also includes links to historic documents from the Continental Congress and information about the legislative process.  Former Thomas, Legislative Information on the Internet.

Hein Online Library

Contains several libraries containing government information including Congressional Documents, Attorney General Decisions, Presidential Documents, and others.

National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications. Historic Shelflist.

The GPO Historic Shelflist is the U.S. Government Printing Office's (GPO) historic card catalog covering U.S. Government documents from the 1800s to October 1992.

Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications 1895-1976

Comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government.

Supplementary Resources

Archives Unbound

Digital collections of historical material on many topics. Includes manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents. Material comes from the U.S. National Archives, the U.K. National Archives, and many other libraries and archives.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Provides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, and political indicators. Includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade (1980+), Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics. Data is also accessible through Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference

Declassified Documents Reference Service

Indexing and full text access to a rich collection of declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others covering events following Word War II. Some specialized collection are contained in Archives Unbound.

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)

Department of Defense's central resource for citations and/or full text of journal articles, technical reports, and other DoD- and government-funded publications about military and naval science, operational warfare, joint planning, and many other defense-related topics. Collections include Scientific & Technical Reports of DoD-funded R&D (mid-1900s+), Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP, 1988+), and Staff College Automated Military Periodicals Index (SCAMPI, 1985+).

Digital National Security Archive

Access to a wealth of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Divided into various core collections; each contains a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters, and other secret material.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

Translation service of the U.S. Government, usually attributed to the Central Intelligence Agency. It covered political, military, economic, environmental and sociological news and commentary, as well as scientific and technical information.

Gallery Watch (Congressional Research Service Reports)

Combines extensive reporting on Congress with legislative tracking and detailed coverage of Congressional Committees, all open markups, and hearings. Also provides access to a wide variety of congressional and related documents, including Congressional Research Service reports (back to 1978), bill text, witness statements, member profiles, Congressional press releases, GAO reports, and more. Most coverage goes back to 1994.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition

Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

Homeland Security Digital Library

Over 98,500 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.

Lexis-Nexis State Capital

Comprehensive database for state-level government research. Provides access to bills, laws, constitutions, proposed and enacted regulations, and legislature membership.

LLMC Digital

Electronic database of historical legal materials is a work in progress. Over the next 5-7 years, this database will contain over 200,000 volumes of U.S. government documents, case reporters, statutes of the U.S. and selected foreign nations, the Congressional Record, the Congressional Globe and many other law materials. A rich source for legal history researchers.

New Jersey Documents Resources

Library Guide to New Jersey Documents.

NTIS

Source for accessing unclassified reports from U.S. and international government agencies. Provides access to over two million critical citations from government departments such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Defense.

Proquest Congressional U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection

Collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress. Includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress.

Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL)

Digital library of U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976. Reports are scientific, agricultural or engineering in nature. Content available through Hathi Trust requires authentication for full-text download.

U.S. Congressional Research Digital Collection

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports.

USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse

Index and selected full text to USAID funded technical and program documentation.

World News Connection

Foreign News Alert Service from the U.S. Government. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, focusing especially on local media sources. Covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.

World News Connection (Eastview)

Foreign News Alert Service from the U.S. Government. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, focusing especially on local media sources. Covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.

1995+. (For earlier years see Foreign Broadcast Information Service.)

Subject Librarian(s)

Hollander, David

 (609) 258-5316
Firestone A-15-J-2

Research Help