Women & Gender Studies

Core Resources

Gender Studies Database 1972+

Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

Contemporary Women's Issues (RDS) 1992+

Articles from journals, newsletters, proceedings, pamphlets, book and media reviews and more about global women's issues.

GenderWatch 1970+

Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Online 1995+

International abstracting service on women's studies. The major focus is on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender roles, social policy, biography,literary criticism and historical studies.

LGBT Life with Full Text Early 1950s+

Broad coverage of the world's LGBTQ literature, for both academic & lifestyle publications. Covers the full run of 190 of the most important & historically significant journals, magazines, and regional newspapers, both mainstream and grey, and more than 330 books & reference works. Topics include sociology, culture, civil liberties, individual lives, family, community, employment, history, politics, psychology, and religion.

Supplementary Resources

Africa-Wide Information

Access to journal articles, news articles, reports, and more on Africa and South Africa. (formerly African HealthLine, African Studies, South African Studies)

Alt-Press Watch

Full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from alternative and independent presses.

America: History and Life

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

American History & Culture Online

Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas from 1492 to the mid-1800s. Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.

American Periodicals

Full-text and page images of several hundred American periodicals of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)

Citations to books, articles, and book reviews. English is to be understood in the broadest international sense. ABELL is an excellent complement to the MLA International Bibliography.

Archive Finder

Contains the entire holdings in the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC). Current directory of 5,500 repositories and 141,178 collections of primary source materials across the United States.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

Citations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals.

Austen: Letters

Searchable electronic edition of Jane Austen's Letters.

Berg Fashion Library

Interdisciplinary resource containing most notably the full content--with continuous updates--of the ten-volume Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion (Oxford Univ. Press, 2010). Also includes many Berg e-books on fashion and other full-text reference titles, images from the Victoria and Albert Museum and the Metropolitan Museum's Costume Institute (the latter forthcoming), and links to a host of fashion-related content such as timelines, a directory of relevant dress collections, and journal articles.

Black Women Writers

Works of fiction, nonfiction and poetry by women from North America, Africa and the Caribbean.

Blackwell Reference Online: Religion

Provides searchable full text of 30 Blackwell Companions to topics in religion.

Book Review Digest Plus

English language reviews of fiction, nonfiction, social science and general science books. The reviews are selected from journals in the humanities, sciences, social sciences and library review media.

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries

Includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in diaries and letters.

Charlotte Bronte: Letters

Searchable electronic edition of The Letters of Charlotte Bronte: with a selection of letters by family and friends.

Defining Gender, 1450-1910

Wide range of original sources including ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature.

EBSCO Academic Search

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals

Education Full Text

Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Cover-to cover indexing, abstracts, and full text from hundreds of journals covering such topics as: comparative education, competency-based education, higher education, literacy standards, prayer in public schools, student counseling, teaching methods and evaluation, and dozens more.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Partially searchable digital images of books, primarily British, printed in the eighteenth century. Based on the Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue.  Also see the alternative interface Artemis Primary Sources that allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. 

Essay and General Literature Index

Access to essays and articles published in collections, with emphasis on works in the humanities and social sciences.

Evans Digital Edition

Digital library of works published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920

Comprises rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, tracts, and broadsides concerning such areas as American home life, 1800-1920, the history of women, and the history of childhood.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Journal articles and essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online

Major source for the study of women's history in the world, especially feminism and the movement for women's rights. The collection includes the full text of books, pamphlets and periodicals spanning four centuries and 15 languages.

Guide to Reference

Annotations of over 16,000 reference works in all fields, from biographical compendia and language dictionaries to specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, and bibliographies. Can be browsed by discipline & type of tool, or else searched by keywords and other criteria. Online-only successor to the American Library Association's Guide to Reference Books, which appeared in 11 previous editions starting in 1902. New and revised entries are being added regularly, and links are provided to electronic resources.

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)

Annotated bibliography and index to books, articles and a variety of other materials. Updated monthly.

Historical Abstracts

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition

Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

Humanities Full Text

Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.

Index Islamicus

Indexes literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.

Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period

Poetry by Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842.

JSTOR

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

Latin American Women Writers

Contains full text of fiction, poetry, essays, and plays by women writers from Latin America, starting in the colonial period and moving through to the present.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers. For comparisons between Lexis-Nexis Academic and Factiva see http://firestone.princeton.edu/econlib/universe.html.

LGBT Studies in Video

A cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This collection features documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.

 

 

LGBT Thought and Culture

Includes books, periodicals and archival materials which document LGBT political, and social, and cultural  movements from the early twentieth century until the present as well memoirs, biographies, fiction and other creative works which reveal the personal experience of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals. 

LILACS

Literature related to the health sciences published in Latin America.

Literature Resource Center

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

Making of Modern Law Digital Archive (Legal Treatises 1800-1926)

Making of the Modern World Digital Archive

Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books on that document economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries

Collection of previously unpublished letters and diaries by women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries documenting the details of their lives and illuminating the roles women played within their families, their communities, and the social and political movements of their times. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.

Marcive Web DOCS

Online catalog of U.S. government publications dating back to mid-1976. Direct links to documents on the web are provided. Many of the documents are available in the U.S. Documents Collection in Firestone

Mary Shelley: Journals

Searchable electronic edition of The Journals of Mary Shelley, 1814-1844.

Mary Shelley: Novels and Selected Works

Searchable electronic edition of The Novels and Selected Works of Mary Shelley.

MLA International Bibliography

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications

Comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government.

Nineteenth Century Masterfile

Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.

Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspaper Digital Archive

Digital archive of U.S. newspapers from the 19th century.

Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (ncse)

Free, online edition of nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers: Monthly Repository (1806-1837); Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833); Northern Star (1838-1852); Leader (1850-1860); English Woman's Journal (1858-1864); Tomahawk (1867-1870); and Publishers' Circular (1880-1890).

North American Women's Drama

Full text database of over 1000 plays from the 19th and 20th centuries to the present.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Full text database of women's personal writings.

Oxford Scholarship Online: Political Science

Searchable full text of many Oxford University Press politics titles.

PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service

Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

Population Index

Annotated bibliography of global demographic and population literature. Covers books, journal articles, working papers, doctoral dissertations and machine-readable data files. 1935-1999 available in JSTOR.

Proquest Congressional U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection

Collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress. Includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

ProQuest Research Library

Abstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers for information on a broad range of subjects.

PsycARTICLES

Online database containing searchable full-text articles from 48 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.

PsycINFO

Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

Renaissance Women Online

Subset of 100 texts from the Women Writers Online collection.

Reveal Digital Independent Voices

Collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press from the 1960s, including feminists, anti-war groups, African-Americans, Native-Americans and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community.

Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974

Contains letters, diaries, oral histories, posters, pamphlets, and rare audio and video materials documenting the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America.

Social Sciences Full Text

General index to the literature of the social sciences including economics, politics, law, education, labor, and sociology.

Social Work Abstracts

Provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Coverage of sociology journals, books, and conference proceedings, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Sport Discus

International sport and fitness literature covering periodical articles, books, conference proceedings, and research papers.

Twentieth Century Advice Literature

Digital collection of advice manuals, etiquette books, how-to-guides, professional manuals, textbooks, and government and association publications that provide insight into social and economic issues including race, sex, gender, and family life in 20th century America.

Victorian Popular Culture

Contains a wide range of source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930. Coverage includes spiritualism, sensation and magic; circuses, sideshows and freaks; and music halls; theater and popular entertainment.

ViVa Bibliography of Women's History

Provides access to articles about women's and gender history from more than hundred European, American and Indian historical and women's studies journals.

Web of Science (ISI)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

Wollstonecraft: Works

Searchable electronic edition of The Works of Mary Wollstonecraft.

Women and Social Movements in the United States

Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.

Women Working (1800-1930)

Access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

Women Working (1800-1930)

Access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

Women Writers Online

Full text collection of early modern women's writing.

Women’s Wear Daily Archive

Comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last 12 months, reproduced in high-resolution images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included.

Subject Librarian(s)

Rosenstock, Sandra

 (609) 258-6054
Firestone A-14-J2

Research Help