World History

Core Resources

Historical Abstracts with Full Text 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Supplementary Resources

Africa Bibliography

Guide to works in African studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute.

AM explorer

Search engine to Adam Matthew archival materals.

Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980

Apartheid South Africa makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980. The collection includes letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activist biographies and first-hand accounts that give unprecedented access to South Africa’s apartheid regime.

Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online

Overview of the political history of the Middle East in the 20th Century, based on primary source documents from the British national archives. Documents the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)

Records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages. Includes chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc.

British Online Archives

Provides online access to several collections on the history of the Atlantic world, from British archives.

China, America and the Pacific

Material from many libraries and archives that explores the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.

China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980

English-language textual and visual sources relating to China and the West, with key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service, letters, diaries, color paintings, maps, drawings, photographs, and fully searchable missionary periodicals such as the Chinese Recorder, from mainly British libraries.

Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations

Records from the U.S. State Department's Office of Chinese Affairs.

Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966

Reproduces records relating to Africa from the British Foreign and Colonial Offices in the UK National Archives.

Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969

Reproduces records relating to South and Central America, plus Haiti, the Dominican Republic and Cuba, from the British Foreign Office in the UK National Archives.

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969

Reproduces records relating to the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan from the British Foreign and Colonial Offices in the UK National Archives.

Constitutions of the World from the late 18th Century to the Middle of the 19th Century Online

Presents a scholarly edition of all constitutions, amendments, and declarations of rights between 1776 and 1849 worldwide (1860 for the United States). Includes drafts, failed constitutions, and constitutions for sub-national bodies.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Partially searchable digital images of books, primarily British, printed in the eighteenth century. Based on the Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue.  Also see the alternative interface Artemis Primary Sources that allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. 

Eighteenth Century Journals

Digital edition of journals and newspapers published between 1685-1815 in England, Scotland, Ireland, Jamaica, and British India.

Encyclopedia of Islam

Comprehensive information on the world of Islam in disciplines ranging from religion and history to politics and culture with a geographic and chronological scope encompassing the early Arab-Islamic Empire, Iran, Central Asia, the Indian subcontinent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all modern Islamic states.

First World War

Primary sources on the First World War, including published and unpublished personal accounts, visual materials and ephemera, and official documents on the war and the home front.

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan

Material from the British government on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. Includes DO 133, DO 134, FO 371 and FCO 37 files from The National Archives, Kew.

Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981

Documents from Great Britain's Foreign & Commonwealth Office, Prime Minister's Office, and Defence Intelligence files relating to Israel, Palestine, Turkey, Egypt, Syria, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, and other Middle East nations. Includes correspondence, minutes, reports and newspaper cuttings from the period prior to the 1973 Arab-Israeli ("Yom Kippur") War and its effect on global industry, political relations and social stability.  Also provides in-depth coverage of separate conflicts in Cyprus, internal and external political relationships, and details about military exports.

Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online

Major source for the study of women's history in the world, especially feminism and the movement for women's rights. The collection includes the full text of books, pamphlets and periodicals spanning four centuries and 15 languages.

Index Islamicus

Indexes literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.

India, Raj and Empire

Digitized manuscripts from the National Library of Scotland, from the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 to the 1947 Independence of India and Pakistan.

Iraq 1914-1974: The Middle East Online

Overview of the political history of the Middle East in the 20th Century, based on primary source documents from the British national archives. Documents the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of Iraq from 1914 to 1974.

Keesing's Record of World Events Online

Monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs.

Left Index

Guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.

Making of the Modern World Digital Archive

Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books on that document economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

Meiji Japan: The Edward Sylvester Morse Collection from the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum

English-language multidisciplinary archives containing diaries, sketches, travel journals, scrapbooks, publications and correspondence of the polymath and collector Morse, known for his work in natural history (zoology, evolution, astronomy, methodology), ethnography (material culture, music, games, printing, Ainu, religion) and art history (including archaeology, architecture) bridging Japan and America from the 1880s to the 1920s.

Migration to New Worlds

Showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Includes Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolors, and oral histories supplemented by carefully selected secondary research aids.

Oral History Online

Provides indexing, plus some full text, for English-language oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. Primarily covers 20th-century America, but there is some content for other times and places.

Oxford African American Studies Center

Access to the finest reference resources in African American studies. At its core, AASC includes the new Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895; the forthcoming companion set, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; the second edition of Black Women in America; and the much-anticipated African American National Biography. Also includes the highly acclaimed Africana, a 5 volume history of the African and African American experience. In addition to these major reference works, AASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference series, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature.

Perdita Manuscripts

Digital facsimiles of manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the 16th and 17th centuries that did not exist in book form.

ProQuest History

Combines various historical databases from ProQuest.

Rand Daily Mail

Major paper from South Africa.

Readex AllSearch

Search engine to Readex products.

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice

Brings together original manuscript and rare printed material from dozens of libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. It includes significant coverage of slavery today, US court records from the local, regional and State Supreme Court level, documents on the Islamic slave trade, as well as sources on urban slavery, interracial education, the Day Law in Kentucky, desegregation and social justice.  Also includes material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.

Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History

Brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century.

U.K. Parliamentary Papers

Includes the  House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688 and the House of Lords Papers from 1715-1910. Includes searchable full text and subject indexing. The Parliamentary Papers are an essential primary source for Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy.

Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900

Subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 50,000 publications, 48,000 personal names, 4,572 issuing bodies and 756 subjects.

Women and Social Movements in the United States

Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.

World Biographical Information System

Gives name, occupation, birth, and death dates for millions of individuals who are treated in thousands of reference works, and provides digital facsimiles of biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 21st century.

World History in Video

Digital collection of BBC, PBS and independent documentaries covering world history. Includes transcripts.

World Newsreels Online

Streaming video of international newsreels produced between 1929 and 1966. All are accompanied by transcripts, with those in foreign languages translated into English.

World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean

Digital edition of over 30 historical collections of primary source documents related to Latin America and the Caribbean. Materials include books, manuscripts, U.S. government records, pamphlets, and ephemera.

World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions

World's fairs showcased the newest ideas and inventions on a global stage, and are valuable for interdisciplinary research.  Includes documents from over 200 fairs covering 1851-2015, including governmental records of early financial appeals, international diplomatic documents, minutes and correspondence of fair committees, plans and design concepts, contemporary ephemera (tickets, pamphlets, posters), personal accounts, and official guidebooks. Includes in-depth case studies.

Subject Librarian(s)

Alain St. Pierre

Librarian for History, History of Science and African Studies
609-258-2964
Floor 1 6F.4
Firestone Library