[ return to index ]

Related Item

mods:relatedItem [Required if Applicable]

Local Practices and Interpretations

There are nine types of mods:relatedItem, each delineated by the following schema-controlled values for the type attribute:

They can be broken down into five categories:

  1. Hierarchical: host, constituent, series
  2. Logical: isReferencedBy (the inverse, 'references' or 'containsReferencesTo' seems to be an obvious oversight)
  3. Sequential: preceding, succeeding
  4. Format: original, otherFormat
  5. Relational: otherVersion

The MODS Schema allows for the recursive use of all top level elements under mods:relatedItem, however, only four types of related items are supported locally, and the descendant elements supported vary based on the type. Thus, implementations will be discussed separately, as if each mods:relatedItem[@type] was an entirely different element. There is separate documentation for each:

Supported Descendant Elements and Attributes


[Required if applicable] The four supported values are "host", "constituent", "series", and "isReferencedBy". If you need a related item entry to describe a 'based on' relationship, use the relatedItem element with no type attribute.

See the documents linked above for examples and addition elements supported under each type of mods:relatedItem

Content Standards

Other Sources of Documentation

MARC Mappings

Various 4xx, 5xx, 7xx, and 8xx fields.

[ return to index ]