|
Newspapers are extremely useful for historical research, as well as for following current events. Princeton University Library holds extensive collections of newspapers in print, microfilm and digital form. This guide aims to give the reader some orientation to Princeton's holdings of U.S. newspapers, and to disentangle the variety of formats in which they may be found.
The history of the newspaper begins with privately circulated manuscript news sheets in the 16th century, and the newspaper as we understand it today dates from the 18th century. Because newspapers were generally printed on inexpensive paper that quickly deteriorates, libraries have been microfilming old
newspapers for preservation since the 1950s. More recently, some libraries and commercial services have begun digitizing old newspapers. And many current newspapers have both print and digital editions. This history accounts for the diversity of formats in which newspapers will be found in Princeton's collections.
Table of contents
Princeton subscribes to the print editions of several U.S. newspapers. In general, current issues are
shelved in the Periodicals Reading Room. After a few months, most periodicals are microfilmed
for preservation and may be consulted in the Microforms room. A complete list of our microfilm holdings is at
United States Historical & Current Newspapers (by place).
| |
Content |
Coverage |
Notes |
| Lexis-Nexis |
Full text from many U.S. newspapers. |
Generally begins in or after 1990. Select "sources" for title-by-title coverage. |
No advertisements, photos or graphics. |
| Newsbank |
Full text from many U.S. newspapers. |
Generally begins mid-1990s, but some from mid-1980s. Select "see a list" for title-by-title coverage. |
No advertisements.
Can search by state or region. |
| Factiva |
Full text of many U.S. newspapers. |
Generally begins mid-1990s, but some from mid-1980s. Select the "i" icon next to each title for information about coverage. |
Includes wire services. |
| State Capital Universe |
Full text of the newspaper of record for each state in the U. S. |
Generally starting in the mid 1990s. Select "help and then "coverage and update schedule" for title-by-title coverage. |
Select "issues" and then "newspapers of record." |
| Alt-Press Watch |
Full text alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. |
Begins with 1991. Select "Help" and then "All titles for AltPressIndex" for title-by-title coverage. |
Includes both U.S. & foreign titles; no way to limit to U.S. only.. |
| GenderWatch |
Full text of publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad
spectrum of subject areas. |
Begins with 1970, but only for some titles. Select "browse publications" for title-by-title coverage. |
Can limit to Publication Type=Newspaper. |
| Ethnic News Watch |
Full text of newspapers, magazines and journals of the U.S. ethnic, minority and native press. |
Begins with 1990, plus selected content from 1960-1989. Select "browse publications" for title-by-title coverage. |
Can search by ethnic group. |
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers Online
This online service provides searchable full text of several important U.S.
newspapers. There is no direct URL to the entire database, but you can access it through individual titles. See below and the list at Articles & Databases: Proquest Historical Newspapers. The papers can be searched individually or in combination, using the "select multiple databases" option.
- Atlanta Constitution (1868-1939; we have microfilm for 1940-1966)
- Atlanta Daily World (1932-2003)
- Chicago Defender (1905-1975)
- Chicago Tribune (1847-1985 -- note that this commercial version is more comprehensive than the version provided by the Skokie Public Library at http://www.skokie.lib.il.us/s_info/in_guides/Chicago_Tribune_Archive/)
- Christian Science Monitor (1908-1991)
- Los Angeles Times (1881-1984)
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1946-2005)
- New York Times (1851-2001)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) (plus 1993 onwards in Ethnic Newswatch)
- New York Tribune (1841-1922)
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
- San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922)
- Wall Street Journal (1889-1987)
- Washington Post (1877-1988)
- Alternative press collection [microform]. Ann Arbor, MI: University Microforms International, 1989- [MICROFILM S01161]
Important collection of U.S. alternative newspapers and periodicals, 1986-present. See also the previous title, Underground newspaper collection, which covers 1963-1985, at MICROFILM S00846. There is a printed guide at FilmB Z6951.A473
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This digital edition of several U.S. papers covers only 1897-1910, and includes papers from California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, and Virginia. It is the first release of the National Digital Newspaper Program sponsored by the Library of Congress.
(For a good brief essay on the U.S. Newspaper Program, see Gary Charbonneau's article in Guide to sources in American journalism history, Lucy Shelton Caswell. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.)
- SmallTownPapers
An idiosyncratic selection of newspapers from small towns in the U.S., from 1865 forwards, but currently very incomplete. We have access through footnote.com
- Paper of Record
Nineteenth- and twentieth-century papers from Canada, the U.S. and Mexico (plus a few papers from elsewhere). Princeton does not subscribe to this fee-based archive, but individual researchers may purchase access for themselves.
- NewspaperARCHIVE.com
Nineteenth- and twentieth-century English-language papers from the U.S., Canada, U.K., South Africa, Jamaica, and Ireland. Princeton does not subscribe to this fee-based archive, but individual researchers may purchase access for themselves. There are some free archives on specific topics, such as the Winter Olympics, Titanic, and Abraham Lincoln.
- Dziennik Zwiazkowy was a Polish-language newspaper published in Chicago; this digital edition covers 1908-1917.
Selected major U.S. papers:
| Title |
Print |
Digital |
Microform |
| Atlanta Constitution |
Not currently received. |
Lexis-Nexis, Newsbank, Factiva; ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1868-1929) |
MICROFILM S01820 (1941-1966) |
| Atlanta Daily World |
Current issues in NR |
|
MICROFILM S00239 (1960-2002) |
| Boston Globe |
Current issues in NR |
Factiva, Lexis-Nexis, Newsbank |
MICROFILM S00543 (1973-2005) |
| Chicago Defender |
Current issues in NR |
Ethnic Newswatch; Black Studies Center (1935-1975) |
MICROFILM S00047 (1909-2004) |
| Chicago Tribune |
Current issues in NR |
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1849-1985) |
MICROFILM S00066 (1930-2005) |
| Christian Science Monitor |
Current issues in NR |
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1908-1991) |
MICROFILM S00086 (1908-2004) |
| Dallas Morning News |
Current issues in NR;
LATEST TWO MONTHS ONLY |
Lexis-Nexis, Newsbank, Factiva |
No |
| Denver Post |
Not currently received |
Lexis-Nexis, Newsbank, Factiva |
No |
| Houston Chronicle |
Not currently received |
Newsbank, Factiva, Lexis-Nexis |
No |
| Los Angeles Times |
Current issues in NR |
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1881-1984) |
MICROFILM S00518 |
| Los Angeles Sentinel |
Current issues in NR |
Factiva |
MICROFILM S01165 (1969-2002) |
| Miami Herald |
Current issues in NR |
Lexis-Nexis, Newsbank, Factiva |
MICROFILM S01115 (1992-2003) |
| Michigan Chronicle |
Current issues in NR |
Ethnic Newswatch |
MICROFILM S01276 |
| New Pittsburgh Courier |
Current issues in NR |
Ethnic Newswatch (1959-present), Factiva |
MICROFILM S00129 (1955-2002) |
| New York [Evening] Post |
Not currently received |
Newsbank, Factiva , Lexis-Nexis |
MICROFILM S00505 (1920-1939) |
| New York Herald Tribune |
Defunct |
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1841-1922) |
MICROFILM S00389 and S00390 (1837-1966) |
| New York Times |
Current issues in NR |
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1851-2001) |
MICROFILM S00129 (1857-2005) |
| Philadelphia Inquirer |
Current issues in NR |
Lexis-Nexis, Newsbank, Factiva |
MICROFILM S00817 (1969-present) |
| Philadelphia Tribune |
Current issues in NR |
Ethnic Newswatch |
MICROFILM S00818 (1932-2002) |
| San Francisco Chronicle |
Not currently received |
Proquest Historical Newspapers (1865-1922); Newsbank, Factiva, Lexis-Nexis |
No |
| Seattle Times |
Not currently received |
Factiva, Lexis-Nexis, Newsbank |
No |
| Star-Ledger (Newark) |
Current issues in NR |
Newsbank, Factiva |
MICROFILM S00825 (1976-2005) |
| Trenton Times |
Current issues in NR |
See Access to Trenton Newspapers |
MICROFILM S00172 (1975-2005) |
| USA Today |
Current issues in NR;
CURRENT 2 MONTHS ONLY RETAINED |
Lexis-Nexis, Newsbank, Factiva |
No |
| Village Voice |
Current issues in NR |
Lexis-Nexis |
MICROFILM S00847 (1955-2004) |
| Wall Street Journal |
Current issues in SSRC |
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1889-1987); Factiva |
MICROFILM S00654 (1889-2005) |
| Washington Post |
Current issues in NR |
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1877-1988); Lexis-Nexis, Factiva, Newsbank |
MICROFILM S00848 (1912-2005) |
The best recent summaries of the history of newspapers in America in the 19th century are:
- The popular press, 1833-1865. William E. Huntzicker. The history of American journalism, no. 3
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1999. Firestone Library (F) PN4855 .H57 1994 no.3
- The Gilded Age press, 1865-1900. Ted Curtis Smythe. The history of American journalism, no. 4
Westport, Conn.: Praeger, 2003. Firestone Library (F) PN4855 .H57 1994 no.4
Major collections of 19th century newspapers in digital or microform editions:
The best recent summaries of the history of newspapers in America in the 18th century are:
- The early American press, 1690-1783 Wm. David Sloan and Julie Hedgepeth Williams. The history of American journalism, no. 1.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994. Firestone Library (F) PN4855 .H57 1994 no. 1
- The press of the young Republic, 1783-1833.Carol Sue Humphrey. The history of American journalism, no. 2. Westport, Conn.:
Greenwood Press, 1996. Firestone Library (F) Call Number: PN4855 .H57 1994 no.2
Major collections of 18th century newspapers in digital or microform editions:
- America's Historical Newspapers [digital; we also have the microfilm collection on which the digital project is based (Microfilm S00973)]
Based on Clarence Brigham's History and bibliography of American newspapers, 1690-1820,
this microfilm collection includes close to 1000 papers published in America from the 18th century
through the mid-19th century. See
Title List by State and
detailed descriptions of selected titles.
Digitization is ongoing, so we may have papers on microfilm that are not yet available in the digital edition. Search the Main Catalog for Keyword = "Early American Newspapers" for a complete list.
- Pennsylvania
Gazette (1728-1800)
Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800, The Pennsylvania Gazette is often described as "the
New York Times of the 18th century," and is the paper that was published by Benjamin Franklin.
For advice on locating Trenton papers, see
Access to Trenton Newspapers. Note that
Times of Trenton
is online starting with 1993. And see also
U.S.
Historical & Current Newspapers: New Jersey for our microfilm holdings of NJ papers. You may also wish to consult:
Directory of New Jersey newspapers, 1765-1970. Ed. William C. Wright, Paul A. Stellhorn.
Trenton : New Jersey Historical Commission, 1977.
Social Science Reference Center (SSRC) Z6952.N54 D57
The Local Express, a Princeton newspaper published in the 1930's, has been digitized by Princeton University Library. See Local Express at http://diglib.princeton.edu.
Radio, television, and Internet news supplement (or replace) print news media starting
in the mid-20th century. Particularly for research on events in the late 20th and early 21st century, you may
wish to consult:
- FACTS.com (1940+)
Provides digest of major news stories around the world.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive
- Einstein, Daniel. Special edition: a guide to network television documentary
series and special news reports, 1955-1979. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 1987.
Social Science Reference Center (SSRC) PN1992.8.D6 E56 1987
- Einstein, Daniel. Special edition: a guide to network television documentary
series and special news reports, 1980-1989. Lanham, Md.,: Scarecrow Press, c1997.
Firestone Library (F) PN1992.8.D6 E56 1997
- AP Photo Archive
- News magazines (e.g. Time, Newsweek -- an searchable archive of Time articles (923 onwards) is available from at http://www.time.com/time/magazine)
- Media transcripts, e.g. radio and television news
Lexis-Nexis covers network news, including cable news, plus National Public Radio, with coverage
generally starting around 1990. Select "News Transcripts." (Note: for wire services, see
Factiva above.)
- ABYZ News Links
Links to online newspapers and other news sources worldwide. It is primarily composed of newspapers
but also includes many broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.
All our print and microfilm newspaper holdings, and many of our digital newspaper holdings, are
included in the Main Catalog. For microfilm, see the list at
U.S.
Historical & Current Newspapers [http://firestone.princeton.edu/microforms/npuslist/npus.html].
To identify U.S. papers from a particular time and place, consult:
- Chronicling America: Newspaper Directory
Searchable list of U.S. newspapers maintained by the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program. Readers should keep in mind that this directory lists only print and microform editions, plus the few digital editions created by the NDNP. Many of the papers listed in this directory are also available through subscription services such as America's Historical Newspapers.
- Brigham, Clarence Saunders. History and bibliography of American newspapers, 1690-1820.
Worcester, Mass.: American Antiquarian Society, 1947-1961.
General and Humanities Ref. (DR): Ready Reference Z6951 .B86
- Gregory, Wilfrid. American newspapers, 1821-1936: a union list of files available in the
United States and Canada.
New York: Kraus Reprint Copr., 1967.
General and Humanities Ref. (DR): Ready Reference Oversize Z6951 .A498 1967q
- Lathem, Edward Connery. Chronological tables of American newspapers, 1690-1820; being a tabular
guide to holdings of newspapers published in America through the year 1820. [Worcester, Mass.]
American Antiquarian Society [c1972]
General and Humanities Reference (DR) Z6951 .L3
Very useful summary of the papers listed in Brigham; arranged year-by-year for each state.
- A check list of American eighteenth century newspapers in the Library of Congress. Originally compiled by John Van Ness Ingram. Washington: U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1936. General and Humanities Reference (DR) Z6951 .U47
- Newspapers in microform. [Compiled and edited by the Catalog Publication Division, Library
of Congress]. Washington: The Library, 1973-1983.
General and Humanities Reference (DR) Z6945 .N754
Lists the newspapers held in microform by the Library of Congress [and other institutions -- code list where?]
at the time of publication.
- American Indian and Alaska native newspapers and periodicals. Daniel F. Littlefield,
Jr. and James W. Parins. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, c1983-
Firestone Library (F) PN4883 .L57 1983
- Bibliographic checklist of African American newspapers. Barbara K. Henritze. Baltimore, MD:
Genealogical Pub. Co., c1995
General and Humanities Ref. (DR): Ready Reference. Z6944.N39 H46 1995
- Encyclopedic directory of ethnic newspapers and periodicals in the United States.
Lubomyr R. Wynar and Anna T. Wynar. Littleton, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1976.
General and Humanities Reference (DR) Z6953.5.A1 W94 1976
[Note: only lists items in print as of 1976.]
If Princeton does not hold the newspaper you need, you may be able to obtain microfilm of the paper through Interlibrary Loan. In particular, many newspapers are available on microfilm from the Center
for Research Libraries, an organization of which Princeton is a member. CRL collects not only mainstream U.S. papers, but also U.S. ethnic papers (searchable by ethnic group in their online catalog) and foreign newspapers.
There is a printed catalog of CRL's holdings as of 1978:
The Center for Research Libraries catalogue--newspapers. Chicago: The Center, 1978. General and Humanities Reference (DR) Z6945 .xC533 1978
The Library of Congress, state archives and libraries, local historical societies, and some large public libraries have substantial collections of local U.S. newspapers, in print and in microfilm, often including titles available nowhere
else. The New York Public Library also has a substantial collection of newspapers. Much of this material is not available through Interlibrary Loan, so you must travel to the archive or library to see the paper you need. To find out where you might find a specific newspaper, check Worldcat or one of the guides listed above.
A useful (but dated) guide to several important newspaper collections is:
Untapped sources: America's newspaper archives and histories. Prepared for the American Society of Newspaper Editors' Newspaper History Task Force by the Gannett Foundation Media Center at Columbia University in the City of New York; written by Jon Vanden Heuvel; edited by Craig LaMay and Martha FitzSimon. [New York: Columbia University; 1991.]
General and Humanities Reference (DR) Z6951 .V26
For current newspapers, see Ethnic Newswatch
For African American newspapers, see the African American Studies LibGuide at http://libguides.princeton.edu/content.php?pid=13681
For Hispanic American newspapers, see Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1920
Concrete information about a newspaper's ownership, circulation, and readership can be elusive. First, search for a book or article on the paper in which you are interested. Otherwise, consult a general directory of newspapers and periodicals for the period of interest:
- Annual directories of U.S. newspapers
- Rowell's American Newspaper Directory (title changes to American Newspaper Directory in 1886)
Annex A, Forrestal 0404.79 -- this directory was published annually from 1869-1908, but we have only 1872, 1879-1880, and 1897
In 1909, Rowell's directory was absorbed by the competing Ayer's American Newspaper Annual (1880-1909), which then became
- Ayer Directory of newspapers and periodicals
N.W. Ayer & Son's directory of newspapers and periodicals (1869-1919)
Digital edition provided by the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program.
N.W. Ayer & Son's directory of newspapers and periodicals (1930-1969)
Annex A, Forrestal 0404.137
Library has: 1936-1968 [lacks: 1944,1966]
The title changed to Ayer directory, newspapers, magazines, and trade publications for 1970-1971 (RECAP: Z6951.A97) and then to RECAP: Use recap button to request
Call Number: Z6951 .A97
for 1972-1982 (RECAP: Z6951.A97) and then to
The IMS Ayer directory of publications for 1983-1985 (RECAP: Z6951.A97) and then to the IMS directory of publications for 1986. (After this, it was absorbed by the Gale directory of publications, below.)
- Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
RECAP: Z6951 .A97 (1987-1999)
Firestone Z6951 .A97 (2000-2003)
which has now been superceded by the online Gale's ready reference shelf
- Working Press of the Nation
Annex A, Forrestal Z6951 .xW62 (1945-2003)
- Bowker's News Media Directory
Continues Working Press of the Nation, 2004 onwards.
Latest volume in both Pliny Fisk (SXF) in SSRC and Ready Reference in the Trustee Reading Room.
- Willing's press guide
Covers international press, including U.S.
RECAP: Z6956.E5 W5 (1914-2005); current volume in Ready Reference in the Trustee Reading Room.
- Search the Main Catalog for Subject "american newspapers directories" for other possibilities
- To locate books on the history of a particular newspaper, do a keyword search in the Main Catalog for the name of the paper, e.g. "new york herald tribune"
- The world's great dailies : profiles of fifty newspapers. John C. Merrill and Harold A. Fisher. New York: Hastings House, c1980.
General and Humanities Reference (DR) PN4731 .M446
Very useful essays on 50 major papers, U.S. and foreign.
Biographical directories of journalists and publishers
- American National Biography
Articles on many newspaper editors and journalists.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
Online version of (among many others) the five volumes in this series on American newspaper journalists & publishers (1690-1990).
Search Authors by Type for genre = "journalism"
- Biographical dictionary of American journalism. Edited by Joseph P. McKerns.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.
Firestone Library (F) PN4871 .B56 1989
- Encyclopedia of twentieth-century journalists. William H. Taft. New York: Garland,
1986.
Firestone Library (F) PN4871 .T34 1986
- Journalists of the United States: biographical sketches of print and broadcast news shapers from the late 17th
century to the present. Robert B. Downs and Jane B. Downs. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1991.
Firestone Library (F) PN4871 .D68 1991
Before the advent of full text digital newspapers, in most cases the only way to find newspaper
coverage of a particular topic was to skim the paper for a range of dates. However, indexes have been
compiled for some major papers, including the New York Times. For newspapers that have not been digitized, an index can be an invaluable help in locating coverage of interest.
- Historical Index to the New York Times (1851-1922)
Also available in print in Microforms Services at FilmB AI21.N44
Plus useful additional indexes to obituaries and personal names, also in Microforms Services. The index
to the New York Times is so famous that there is a guide to it:
Guide to the incomparable New York times index.
Grant W. Morse. New York : Fleet Academic Editions, c1980.
Firestone Microforms Services (FilmB) AI21.N453 M67
- Bell & Howell newspaper indexes
Indexes published in microform or print for several important U.S. papers, including:
- Boston Globe
Firestone Microforms Services (FilmB) AI21.B68 B6
Location Has: 1983-2003 (plus half of 1982)
- Chicago Tribune
Firestone Microforms Services (FilmB)
AI21.C45 C47
Location Has: 1979-1981, 1983-2003
- Christian Science Monitor
Firestone Microforms Services (FilmB)
AI21.C462 B44
Location Has: 1979-1982, 1984-1986.
- Los Angeles Times
General and Humanities Reference (DR) AI21.L65 N49 1969-1985
Firestone Microforms Services (FilmB)
AI21.L65 N49
Location Has: 1979-2001, 1986-2003
- New Orleans Times-Picayune (1976-1980)
Firestone Library (F) AI21.T66 B44 Location Has: 1976-1986 - St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Firestone AI21.S79 B44 Location Has: 1987-2003 - Washington Post
Firestone Library (F)
AI21.W33 W3
Location Has: 1989-1981
- Newspaper indexes: a location and subject guide for researchers. Anita Cheek Milner.
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1977-1982.
General and Humanities Ref. (DR): Ready Reference Z6951 .M635
- Most papers kept a working index and clipping file called a "morgue." The morgue
for a paper that has ceased publication can sometimes be found at an archive or local history society --
for example, the Urban Archive at Temple University has the morgue for the Philadelphia Bulletin. The morgues for several important New York papers are now at the Center for American History at the University of Texas (Austin), at New York Newsmedia Morgues. This page also provides useful guidance about using newspaper morgues for research.
- Newspapers, a reference guide. Richard A. Schwarzlose. New York: Greenwood Press, c1987.
Firestone Library (F) Z6951 .S35 1987
More that a bibliography, Schwarzlose's guide contains historiographic essays on newspapers, journalists, the role of the newspaper in society, freedom of the press, and the technology used to produce newspapers.
- Guide to sources in American journalism history. Edited and compiled by Lucy Shelton Caswell. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.
Firestone Library (F) Z6951 .G83 1989
Includes a state-by-state guide to archival collections for individual journalists and newspapers.
- Newspapers at the Library of Congress
Various LC guides to their newspaper collections and to research using newspapers.
|